Survey
As we continue to work to improve our site, we would like your feedback.

Would you be willing to answer a few questions at the end of your visit to help us?


Share on Facebook Tweet Share via email Share
Manufacturer's Suggested Retail Price (MSRP)

Actual retail prices may vary by dealer. MSRP applies to the continental 48 United States and does not include such items as delivery, installation, installation accessories (i.e. range cords), or removal of old appliances. Consult your local authorized GE dealer for its prices.

ADA Compliant

The Americans with Disabilities Act establishes accessibility guidelines for many products. This product meets the requirements for ADA-compliance based on Uniform Federal Accessibility Standards.

Custom Panels Required

When shopping for products that accept custom panels, note that:

  • Stainless steel panels can be purchased from GE through the Parts and Accessories Store.
  • Panels to match your cabinetry must be purchased from your cabinetmaker.
  • Panel sizes and widths can vary; be sure to check the details of your model for the exact panel specifications.
  • For more information about custom panel options, contact the GE Answer Center by e-mail or at 1-800-626-2005.

GE® 4.0 DOE cu. ft. stainless steel capacity washer

GTWN5550DWW

$ REBATES & PROMOTIONS


APPROXIMATE DIMENSIONS (HxWxD)

42 in x 27 in x 25 1/2 in

TOTAL CAPACITY

4.0 cu ft

Previous
Next

Features

  • ENERGY STAR® qualified and CEE Tier II
    Meets or exceeds federal guidelines for energy efficiency for year-round energy and money savings
  • Infusor wash system
    Uses HE detergent, requiring less water than a traditional topload washer
  • LED electronic controls with cycle countdown display
    Show exactly how much time is left for each cycle
  • eWash Cold Wash Technology
    Energy-saving option uses a cold water wash on select cycles without sacrificing performance
  • eMonitor
    An electronic readout shows the exact efficiency of each cycle so the user can decide how they want to wash each load

More Product Details ›

Claims & Certifications

ENERGY STAR® Qualified

ENERGY STAR® Qualified
Meets the ENERGY STAR energy efficiency requirements.

Made In America

Made In America
70 to 90% U.S. Content
Product details at
GEAppliances.com/USA

Reviews

FEATURES

Washer Cycles Heavy Duty Cycle
Rinse and Spin
Drain and Spin
2nd Rinse
Auto Soak
Extended Spin
Washer Options/Settings Fabric Softener
Dispenser Bleach
Fabric Softener
Wash Mechanism Infusor
Control Type Rotary-Electronic
Custom Cycles My Settings
Wash/Rinse Temperatures 6
Wash/Spin Speed Combinations 5
Washer Control Features LED Cycle Status Lights
LED Cycle Countdown
Delay Start - Up to 12 hours
Water Levels Variable
Water Temp System Perfect Temp
Specialty Cycles Basket Clean
Towels and Sheets
Jeans
Whites Cycle Yes
Colors Cycle Yes
Handwash Cycle Yes
Optional Soil Levels Extra Heavy
Heavy
Medium
Normal
Light
Extra Light
Adaptive Capabilities PreciseFill
Delicates Cycle Yes
Number of Cycles 20
Permanent Press Cycle Yes
Style Top-Load High-Efficiency
Wash Basket Type Stainless Steel
Additional Washer Features Auto Balance Suspension System
Color Lid Instructions
Front Serviceable
Galvanized Steel Cabinet
Energy Saving Option Yes - eWash Cold Wash Technology and eMonitor
Maximum Spin Speed 700 RPM

CAPACITY

Total Capacity (cubic feet) 4.0 cu ft

APPEARANCE

Color Appearance White

Claims & Certifications

CEE Tier II
ENERGY STAR® Qualified
MADE IN AMERICA: 70 to 90% U.S. Content

ECONOMICAL / QUIET

Quiet Package Quiet-By-Design

WEIGHTS & DIMENSIONS

Approximate Shipping Weight 155 lb
Height Needed for Lid to Raise 90 Degrees 51
Net Weight 145 lb
Overall Depth 25 1/2 in
Overall Height 42 in
Overall Width 27 in

POWER / RATINGS

Motor Speeds Variable
Volts/Hertz 120V; 60Hz

WARRANTY

Labor Warranty Limited 1-year entire appliance
Parts Warranty Limited 1-year entire appliance
Warranty Notes See written warranty for full details
printer-friendly product specs
PDF
Quick Specs

Printer-friendly summary of features, dimensions, and installation tips.

PDF
Use and Care Manual

Owner's manual with operating instructions and information on how to clean and care for your product.

Energy Guide
Energy Guide

View this product's energy information, including estimated yearly energy usage and operating costs compared to similar models.

PDF
Installation Instructions

Detailed instructions on how to properly install your product.

CAD Download
CAD Download

AutoCAD files of appliances are available in DWG format. (compatible with most CAD software applications)

$

Rebates



GTWN5550DWW is rated 2.8395 out of 5 by 81.
Rated 1 out of 5 by from DON'T Buy this washer! It damages clothes. We have had this washer for probably about a year now. Starting out, we discovered that using anything but the gentlest settings meant disaster. This washer has ripped the strong, woven 3/4" wide drawstrings on pajamas right in half! Not at the point where it was sewn on. It ripped right through the drawstring itself. This has happened multiple times! It has tore apart a sweater and shirt in one load. There have been various other items destroyed. It doesn't make them come apart at the seams. It literally tears the fabric, leaving the garments in a condition that can not be repaired. This happens because it twists the clothes VERY tightly. I've never seen anything like it. they twist up so tight they tear. Also, you have to shake out our items WELL before placing in the dryer because they are twisted up so tight, and often twisted and tangled together. I'm apalled that GE would sell such a horrible product. They've lost this customers business. I'm in the process of replacing my dryer, and will be replacing this terrible washer as well. I won't be buying GE.
Date published: 2014-12-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Efficient Efficient Washer. Uses only as much water as necessary to get the job done. I expect my water bill to go down. The controls are very easy to use and simple.
Date published: 2014-12-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from works great altho it's so different than my last washer, it took me awhile to learn the ''method'' ofall the settings. I like it very much, especially th deep bin that holds much more laundry.,
Date published: 2014-11-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Noisy sounds Little noises but cleans very well looks good. Works f
Date published: 2014-10-29
Rated 2 out of 5 by from BALANCING ISSUES I BOUGHT THIS WASHER LESS THAN TWO YEARS AGO AND IT'S BEING SHOWING SIGNS OF TROUBLE FROM THE VERY BEGINNING. NO MATTER HOW MUCH YOU LOAD THIS WASHER (LOW LOAD OR HIGH LOAD) THE WASHER MAKES LOUD SOUNDS WHEN RINSING THE CLOTHES SO I HAVE TO STOP IT AND SORT OUT THE CLOTHES AGAIN. THIS PROBLEM HAPPENS VERY OFTEN. I HAVE READ THAT THE BALANCING OF THIS WASHER IS A RECURRENT PROBLEM FOR THIS MODEL.
Date published: 2014-10-14
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Horrible My machine is less than 3 months old and has already broken down. Out of the 4 NEW GE Appliances only 1 hasn't broken yet
Date published: 2014-10-10
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Poor Design After 1 1/2 years the washer threw the concrete balance block out, the poor design used bolts without nuts to hold it down. This is an over $400.00 repair if done by a serviceman. It took $2.50 worth of nuts and lock nuts to replace the junk that was factory. No more GE Washers for me
Date published: 2014-10-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Washer I have had the washer for about 1 month. Only thing I miss is a finger faucet on it. Have enjoyed it very much
Date published: 2014-09-30
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Very hard on all articles being washed The sleeves on garments are twisted, can't control the amount of water, gavity and minimum amount of water can't possible clean and rinse the clothes properly the clothing properly, manuals are very vague.
Date published: 2014-09-27
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Goods and Bads We bought the washer on June 30, Lets start with the good features I like the timer, it is a good feature and it is very easy to set up. Now the bad. This is a washer that does not wash your clothes, Do not buy it, you will regret it.!!!!!!! I have tried all the possible settings, and none has done and acceptable job, i tried light loads, medium loads, and big loads, with little, medium and the top level of he soap, yes i did buy the he type soap. My wife was the first to used it, she complain right a way, sadly we didn't wash the first load until a week and a half after we receive the washer, and honestly I though she have done something wrong, so my methodical engineering mind set to the task to prove that the machine was ok and she was just not following the right directions. Like any good husband will do when getting new appliances, or electronics. Now three months later here i'm, with apparently no recourse to get rid of this machine that the only thing that has done is bring problems to my home and dirty clothes. Regarding the testing, Ladies and gentlemen, there was not mistake, i was really wrong, she was right,... right from the get go, and now... we have to do at least three full wash cycles moving and rearranging the clothes between cycles just to get the clothes with a resemblance of cleanliness, and forget it if we try to wash my 4 years old son socks, he walks all over the house on them, and his socks are what i would call heavily soil, but this was no issue for our old washer (God bless her soul, it died after 10 years of good service), the old washer up until its early demise able to handle my son socks with ease, no issues there, his heavily soil socks were clean.. kudos to the old timer. Now, the new GE washer does not even try to clean them up, i'm beginning to think it has a phobia.... a phobia to wash, a phobia to clean. I can just but wonder, how GE a leader in many industries could let this horrific machine get in to an assembly line, and worse in the market. This machine is suppose to be a washer, but does not wash, sacrificing the core competence of a product for nice belts and suspender is not even rational. I do for sure had fired the test engineer (s) that let this machine pass. It is really a shame and it has soiled not just my son socks but the high regard i had for GE products Future Buyer Please be ware and don't make the same mistake i did.
Date published: 2014-09-26
Rated 1 out of 5 by from NOT GOOD IF USING SOFTNER & IT TEARS CLOTHES TOO I always follow tags on clothes on how to wash, and i love that this washer has different features from Hand washing to Heavy or Towels...But everytime I wash clothes at least 1 of something tears in the washer or at the least there are about 5 - 8 items that has the softner still stuck on it. Which requires me to do a quick wash which most times the softner comes out and in other's it doesn't. I actually put less then what i should for the softner and it still does it and it frustrates me because my electric and water bill goes up. I've had 2 other GE washers and none ever did this. That's why I'm very disappointed when it comes to this washer.
Date published: 2014-09-25
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Noisy & leaves fabric softener I bought a new home and this is the washer the builder supplied. It's extremely noisy during the wash cycle (I've been told this is normal) then the machine won't let you choose any other setting for spin when using fabric softener, which is the highest setting, and there's still softener in the machine bottom and on clothes/sheets. I also don't recommend this machine for short people. I'm 5'2" and it's hard to reach the bottom.
Date published: 2014-09-24
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Look out for the brick Less than 2 years old and the counter balance brick fell off essentially destroying this washer. Better buy the extended warranty. You will be fixing this thing often.
Date published: 2014-09-20
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Needs wate Washer is disappointing. Needs agitator and more water to wash clothes.
Date published: 2014-09-03
Rated 1 out of 5 by from none i bought this washer 10 months ago low water is noy good for cleanin clothes can only put a few things in and usually have to rewash clothes for what I had to pay for ir very dissatisfied
Date published: 2014-09-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Performance Coming from a front loader to a top loader I am very pleased with the performance of the machine and the various cycles available
Date published: 2014-09-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Washer My washer just died one day and I needed a washer to fit in a condo space. I walked I to store and gave my list of needs...price limit, energy efficient and hoped for he....he recommended this model. I live it. It is quiet, washes all items beautifully and saves money. I have many options which I use and my clothes are great! I love it!
Date published: 2014-08-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Really economical Based on the settings you choose it tells you how savvy you're being. Unless you just hit the econ button and it'll do the best choices for you automatically.
Date published: 2014-08-29
Rated 3 out of 5 by from very noisy It washes and spin dries well, but it's a very noisy machine. we called the repair svc and were told that this is the new norm. You cannot sleep 30 ft away from this machine when it's washing.
Date published: 2014-08-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice Features Brought it three months ago. Machine washes very quiet. It gets the clothes clean
Date published: 2014-08-24
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Don't waste your money This machine does NOT fill up and there fore does NOT clean the clothes.....All the new machines are designed for small loads NOT large ones they may have a large tub but it does not fill up with the water......something else the government got involved with designed to use less water .......you want your clothes clean take them down to the river and beat them with a rock ....you would be better off.....
Date published: 2014-08-13
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Unhappy Doesnot wash clothes clean. Can only do small loads to get clothes clean. Takes twice as long to do the wash.
Date published: 2014-08-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product This was the standard product that was furnished with the purchase of our townhouse. I have only good things to say about the features of this product. It offers numerous settings and gives you the default temperatures, spin cycles, etc. but it also allows you to set your own for example towels: default hot water, your option warm, and then you can save this setting so that when you select the "towels setting" next time it remembers. It has cleaned everything well and spun it dry adequately.
Date published: 2014-08-12
Rated 1 out of 5 by from I have to add water for large loads. It shakes! It was an option in the house we built. We could only buy GE appliances.
Date published: 2014-08-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from washer large enough for all our clothes and fits small clothes for easy washes too. programmable, economical
Date published: 2014-07-14
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Mediocre This machine is very loud and I have not been pleased with the performance. I don't believe it does a good job getting my laundry clean. Some of the features are limited. For example, fabric softener can only be used with the extended spin. This negates some energy efficiency and clothing comes out overly wrinkled. There is no option to use a slightly higher water level for bulkier items, such as comforters. Overall, I would not purchase this item again
Date published: 2014-07-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful machine and so efficient! This is a phenomenal washer! So efficient and gets the clothes so clean. The squeaky "hiccup" noises it makes are a bit annoying but after a bit you don't hear them anymore.
Date published: 2014-07-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the high efficiency feature Didn't get to select the washer as it was a new condo and machine was already installed. Very happy with though.
Date published: 2014-05-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it! Love this product for it's relibility and it's features.
Date published: 2014-05-13
Rated 3 out of 5 by from "Shake & Bake washer" Purchased in December 2103 & was not advised of the noise when machine is working & would like it turned off (altho store says it cannot). Also much more unstable than my previous GE on spin cycle - AND machine moves
Date published: 2014-05-10
  • 2015-03-03T08:56CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.1
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_81
  • loc_en_US, sid_GTWN5550DWW, PRD, sort_featured
  • clientName_GE_Appliances

Find Your Answers

Search Our Knowledge Base

More Help

Contact Us


We’d be happy to answer your questions.

By Phone

By Email

Schedule Service


Our online tools are here 24 hours a day to help you arrange the service you need.

Maintenance & Support Videos: Top-Loading Washers

Not all videos may be applicable to the selected product.

Complete the look with...

Accessories & Replacement Parts

To purchase related parts & accessories: