Survey
As we continue to work to improve our site, we would like your feedback.

Would you be willing to answer a few questions at the end of your visit to help us?


Share on Facebook Tweet Share via email Share
Manufacturer's Suggested Retail Price (MSRP)

Actual retail prices may vary by dealer. MSRP applies to the continental 48 United States and does not include such items as delivery, installation, installation accessories (i.e. range cords), or removal of old appliances. Consult your local authorized GE dealer for its prices.

ADA Compliant

The Americans with Disabilities Act establishes accessibility guidelines for many products. This product meets the requirements for ADA-compliance based on Uniform Federal Accessibility Standards.

Custom Panels Required

When shopping for products that accept custom panels, note that:

  • Stainless steel panels can be purchased from GE through the Parts and Accessories Store.
  • Panels to match your cabinetry must be purchased from your cabinetmaker.
  • Panel sizes and widths can vary; be sure to check the details of your model for the exact panel specifications.
  • For more information about custom panel options, contact the GE Answer Center by e-mail or at 1-800-626-2005.

GE® 4.0 DOE cu. ft. stainless steel capacity washer

GTWN5550DWW

$ REBATES & PROMOTIONS


APPROXIMATE DIMENSIONS (HxWxD)

42 in x 27 in x 25 1/2 in

TOTAL CAPACITY

4.0 cu ft

Previous
Next

Features

  • ENERGY STAR® qualified and CEE Tier II
    Meets or exceeds federal guidelines for energy efficiency for year-round energy and money savings
  • Infusor wash system
    Uses HE detergent, requiring less water than a traditional topload washer
  • LED electronic controls with cycle countdown display
    Show exactly how much time is left for each cycle
  • eWash cold wash technology
    Energy-saving option uses a cold water wash on select cycles without sacrificing performance
  • eMonitor
    An electronic readout shows the exact efficiency of each cycle so the user can decide how they want to wash each load

More Product Details ›

Claims & Certifications

ENERGY STAR® Qualified

ENERGY STAR® Qualified
Meets the ENERGY STAR energy efficiency requirements.

America At Work

America At Work
Product assembled in the U.S.A.

Reviews

FEATURES

Washer Cycles Heavy Duty Cycle
Rinse and Spin
Drain and Spin
2nd Rinse
Auto Soak
Extended Spin
Washer Options/Settings Fabric Softener
Dispenser Bleach
Fabric Softener
Wash Mechanism Infusor
Control Type Rotary-Electronic
Custom Cycles My Settings
Wash/Rinse Temperatures 6
Wash/Spin Speed Combinations 5
Washer Control Features LED Cycle Status Lights
LED Cycle Countdown
Delay Start - Up to 12 hours
Water Levels Variable
Water Temp System Perfect Temp
Specialty Cycles Basket Clean
Towels and Sheets
Jeans
Whites Cycle Yes
Colors Cycle Yes
Handwash Cycle Yes
Optional Soil Levels Extra Heavy
Heavy
Medium
Normal
Light
Extra Light
Adaptive Capabilities PreciseFill
Delicates Cycle Yes
Number of Cycles 20
Permanent Press Cycle Yes
Style Top-Load High-Efficiency
Wash Basket Type Stainless Steel
Additional Washer Features Auto Balance Suspension System
Color Lid Instructions
Front Serviceable
Galvanized Steel Cabinet
Energy Saving Option Yes - eWash Cold Wash Technology and eMonitor
Maximum Spin Speed 700 RPM

CAPACITY

Total Capacity (cubic feet) 4.0 cu ft

APPEARANCE

Color Appearance White

Claims & Certifications

ENERGY STAR® Qualified
CEE Tier II
America at Work: Product Assembled in the U.S.A.

ECONOMICAL / QUIET

Quiet Package Quiet-By-Design™

WEIGHTS & DIMENSIONS

Approximate Shipping Weight 155 lb
Height Needed for Lid to Raise 90 Degrees 51
Net Weight 145 lb
Overall Depth 25 1/2 in
Overall Height 42 in
Overall Width 27 in

POWER / RATINGS

Motor Speeds Variable
Volts/Hertz 120V; 60Hz

WARRANTY

Labor Warranty Limited 1-year entire appliance
Parts Warranty Limited 1-year entire appliance
Warranty Notes See written warranty for full details
printer-friendly product specs
PDF
Quick Specs

Printer-friendly summary of features, dimensions, and installation tips.

PDF
Use and Care Manual

Owner's manual with operating instructions and information on how to clean and care for your product.

Energy Guide
Energy Guide

View this product's energy information, including estimated yearly energy usage and operating costs compared to similar models.

PDF
Installation Instructions

Detailed instructions on how to properly install your product.

CAD Download
CAD Download

AutoCAD files of appliances are available in DWG format. (compatible with most CAD software applications)

$

Rebates



GTWN5550DWW is rated 3.0488 out of 5 by 41.
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not a satisfactory washer > Takes twice as long to wash a load as prior washer.....As retirees we only have light loads >Clothes do not come out dry if you depend upon recommended settings >Clothes come out all lumped together
Date published: 2013-09-21
Rated 1 out of 5 by from CAN'T FILL WITH WATER !!!!!!!! The water savers got to GE. The reason I bought this washer was for the nice SS inside. No matter what water level setting you set it at, it will not fill the drum. The water barely covers the clothes. I called GE and asked them how to fill it up. YOU CAN'T..I asked the if I could fill it with a hose from the sink. They said it would ruin the machine. The soap is still in the clothes after washing. Now I run an extra rinse, and use no soap. Half load of clothes. Heavy loads I wash then twice, at 55 min. each run. I asked the people at HD and they said all washers are the same. Next time I'll buy a commercial washer.
Date published: 2013-09-21
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Wastes water, NOT energy efficient This washer is AWFUL! I have used GE appliances for 20 years (oven, microwave, washer, dryer, fridge, dishwashers - all of them!), and this new washer is the pits. It claims to be energy efficient, but they programmed the computer to drain out all the water if the selector knob gets moved even a little bit during the cycle. Further, the wash cycle is at least 10 minutes longer than the "traditional" cycle, so it uses more electricity! GE product user-friendliness has declined tremendously in the past 5 yrs. Check out consumer reports and pick a different manufacturer.
Date published: 2013-09-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This isn't a bad washer This washer is okay. the profile washers is better
Date published: 2013-09-21
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Disappointed My old GE front loader died after 8 years and this washer was recommended as a better option than a new front loader. The features and appearance are nice, but that's it. I have owned it for five days and want to take it to the dump. My clothes still have dirt and dog hair on them after washing them. The washer became unbalanced while washing a blanket, would not correct itself and bounced itself into the corner and continued to beat itself against the wall until I stopped and rebalanced it. You can imagine the noise! It also knots my clothes in a tangled, balled up mess. I have to untangle them before I can put them in the dryer. I read the manual carefully so as to respect the load size etc.so I feel it is the machine. A GE rep is coming to look at it, thinking there might be something wrong with it. We shall see...
Date published: 2013-09-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is not you mother's washing machine It is much better!! You will need to be open minded and expect it to perform and sound differently than the washer you have previously owned. Overall it is quiet as it performs its job in my laundry closet. As you use this washer you will gain a better understanding of how it functions and it will meet or exceed your expectations, it did mine. The one thing I found is that it does not do is wash fluffy comforters, if you need a washer that will do so, move up to the next model with the bulky item setting. The control panel is very easy to use and understand with plenty of cycles and options. I love the fact that it gently cleans my clothing, bedding, towels and small rugs. It spins the water out very well allowing your washed items to spend less time in the dryer. I have never enjoyed doing laundry however this washer has made it much less of a dreaded chore.
Date published: 2013-09-21
Rated 1 out of 5 by from I'm very disappointed in this washing machine. I've had a GE washing machine of this type with the infused washing capability for over a year. It doesn't clean the clothes, becomes unbalanced, knots the clothes and is generally unsatisfactory. I wish that I had read some of the reviews before I made this purchase!
Date published: 2013-09-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This product is awesome I love all the features of this washer and my clothes are super clean, but the best thing is that this washer is so so quiet!!
Date published: 2013-09-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great high efficiency washer I LOVE this washer and I have the matching dryer. My clothes are even clearer now with a low water washer than with my old one. I also got a $500.00 rebate from my local water company. Everyone wins here. I use less water and my clothes are cleaner.
Date published: 2013-09-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This is a great washer This new style washer has what is called an infuser in the center of the tub. No more clothes getting twisted around the center post. Very quiet
Date published: 2013-09-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love everything about this washer!!! I have been wanting to upgrade to a more energy efficient washer and because I am limited in space, I got this one. I love all the features and there are many, and it is so easy to use. It really does save on water and your electric bills. I have found no problems with my clothes getting clean, they all come out spotless and less wrinkled then they did in my old agitator type machine. Loading is easy and as long as you follow the directions in the right order and don't add clothes once the sensing begins, it works excellent! Because you can use an extended spin, my clothes are not as wet as they used to be in my old machine. This saves on my electric because they dry so much quicker in the new dryer. As a matter of fact I had a full load in the dryer on auto sensing and the clothes were dry completely even though it said it had 25 more minutes to go. I am one happy woman....loving my new washer & dryer!
Date published: 2013-09-21
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Cleans but is extremely loud This washer works well on the cleaning side but has this annoying wheezing sound like as if you were a chain smoker. I close the door to my laundry room and sometimes it will wake up our 13-month old son. The noise is something I would not want to get used to and will be contacting GE for a replacement since I've only used it for a week. I tried lowering the settings (gentler) and less clothes and that seems to not be the problem. Hopefully, it's just my defective unit and not a general problem everyone has.
Date published: 2013-09-21
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Worst ever Put dirty farm clothes in and take dirty farm clothes out! It's going back today. Agitator is the worst...I have some clothes come out that have never even been immersed in water....completely dry with mud clinging to the clothes!
Date published: 2013-09-21
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Terrible Decision I have had the machine for less than 24 hours and it is already shaking and making a ticking sound. I purchased from Home DePot and now I need to wait 4 hours for someone to call me back to help me with this machine. I am already regretting my decision. I hope I will be able to update this review.
Date published: 2013-09-21
Rated 1 out of 5 by from WORST WASHER EVER I purchase this washer 1 month ago and I'm so disappointed. The clothes literally comes out dirtier than it goes in. Full of soap and linen. It's supposed to be energy-efficient but I waste more energy and time re-washing the clothes than with the old machines. I had a 6 years old Samsung and that's the washer I'm using right now.
Date published: 2013-11-11
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Stay away from this one Clothes do not come out clean which defeats the purpose of the washing machine. Other than that many bells and whistles.
Date published: 2013-09-21
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Why didn't I read these reviews first!! Horrible machine, loud and scary noises, clothes all twisted and mangled, need to rinse every single load twice.. what a disaster. Don't buy this machine!
Date published: 2013-09-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from wow Super machine...so many features...does everything but conjugate a verb'
Date published: 2013-09-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This product is great on water conservation! Saves alot on water, especially when you live in a drought area, and water is low in supply.
Date published: 2013-09-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Washes well, saves money, unbalanced tub Washes surprisingly well. NOT as quiet as it could be, and G.E. would not have to spend much to make it quieter. Tub is naturally unbalanced, placing stress on bearings, etc.
Date published: 2013-10-12
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Very disappointed I've always had a GE washing machine, and have always really liked them. This one, however, needs alot of improvemnet. If you have dirty clothes from farm work, it does not clean them, even when there's not much clothes in the machine. Jeans are always unbalanced. I can't stay inside everytime I have jeans in the waher to stop it when it becomes unbalanced. I have this machine over 3 months now, and I've been very, very unhappy with it.
Date published: 2013-10-14
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Awful Washer I've never posted a review before, but just could not let this go. I've had this washer for 7 months. At first, I thought I would get used to the "new style". The longer I have it the more frustrated I am with it. Clothes come out horribly wrinkled. ??Soiled clothes don't come out clean.??Cycles take way too long - on average a minimum of 1 hour. Spin cycles can go 15-20 minutes. To try to mitigate wrinkles, I try to remember to stop the machine's spin cycle early. It seems to help. But, who has time to "babysit" their washer? You can't turn off the Extra Spin Cycle if you use fabric softener. I use twice as much fabric softener and still have tons of wrinkles. I find myself ironing my knit tops! They used to come out soft and ready to wear. I can only wash 1 king size sheet at a time if I want it clean. Washer has a huge tub, but can only put in a 4-5 t-shirts to keep them within water levels. GE says you can load more into the tub, but my experience is clothes don't get clean. Doing laundry for my husband and myself has turned into an all day job. Lots of small loads all taking each 1 hour. I bought the washer because it fit in my space requirements. I should have bought a traditional agitator machine or a front load washer. I am seriously thinking of selling it and getting something else. Worst money I've ever spent. Bottom line... I use twice as much fabric softener, take 2-3 times longer to do laundry and end up having to do ironing that I never did before! Not good.
Date published: 2014-01-08
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Ehhh This washer came with my new home. It makes so much noise that I can't run it at night and it frequently gets off balance and "jumps" around. When it does that, it does not stop itself and I have to run and turn it off myself. Also the drain pump clogs way too easily. I washed some bathmats and had to have GE come out to replace the pump. There is also no easy way to do a load of wool garments. I have to fill the tub on another cycle, turn it off to soak and then run the drain and spin. I don't understand why the soak option won't work on the drain and spin cycle.
Date published: 2013-11-18
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Some good, some bad I purchased this last January (?) and chose it because I wanted a top opening and an agitator type. That part is good. The part I don't like is that there are noisy gear changes. Also when I set the water for large water level (for example), it will fill to that level for the wash, but only the low level for the rinse. I do not understand that, and I am not happy with it.
Date published: 2013-11-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Machine This machine washes my comforters that I would have to take to the laundry mat before....I was very disappointed in GE before this machine and it has restored my faith!
Date published: 2013-12-07
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Don't Buy Bought this washer in January of 2012. Quit working almost exactly one year later and has done the same January or 2014. It does everything except run the spin cycle. I tis a giant h is too new to be doing this.
Date published: 2014-01-13
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not great for dog owners I bought this machine as part of a package of GE appliances in my new house. It is HE and uses less water which are the positives. The negatives are that it does not get really dirty things clean. I have four dogs and wash their beds regularly. I would have to wash them three and four times to get them somewhat clean. So much for energy and water savings. On delicate clothes it is great.
Date published: 2014-01-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Old habits vs New Technology I, too, was skeptical of the "no agitator" (infusor), but I have not had any issues with cleanliness or detergent residue in any of these loads. For load #3 below, the washer self balanced the load, and the quilt was as clean as with my old washer. My typical loads are: 1) jeans, jersey sweatshirt, jersey sweatpants. 2) tee shirts, boxers, ankle length athletic socks, bath towels, wash cloths 3) heavy quilt/comforter 4) fitted sheet, top sheet, pillow cases I have washed them loading the (HE)detergent with no items in the tub, and loading the detergent in the bottom of the tub along with the items. Loading with no items may be a bit more efficient for the detergent to dissolve, but I haven't noticed a difference due to the manner of loading. The key issue is probably the type of detergent. HE seems to be a must for these washers. There has been no noticeable vibration or movement of the washer around the laundry area. I have videos of the spin cycles, and there is no movement of the machine visible in the videos. The largest adjustment I have had to make is getting used to the "new sounds" of the washer. Whistling instead of sloshing during the wash cycle was the hardest to adjust to. If this washer lasts 19 1/2 years like my old GE did, I most likely won't even be around to replace it!!!
Date published: 2013-09-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from EXCELLENT PRODUCT ENERGEY SAVER VERY NICE PRODUCT I LOVE IT EXCELLENT PRODUCT ENERGEY SAVEr CUTE FEATURE
Date published: 2014-02-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Outstanding Washer I"m not a big GE fan but I do admit I love this washer. Great Price, great features and clean clothes.
Date published: 2014-02-13

Find Your Answers

Search Our Knowledge Base

More Help

Contact Us


We’d be happy to answer your questions.

By Phone

By Email

Schedule Service


Our online tools are here 24 hours a day to help you arrange the service you need.

Maintenance & Support Videos: Top-Loading Washers

Not all videos may be applicable to the selected product.

Complete the look with...

Accessories & Replacement Parts

To purchase related parts & accessories: