GE® 4.5 DOE cu. ft. stainless steel capacity washer

GTW685BPLDG
GTW685BPLDG is rated 4.4 out of 5 by 226.
  • y_2018, m_5, d_19, h_20
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_226
  • loc_en_US, sid_GTW685BPLDG, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_ge_appliances
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 71ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
Rebates & Promotions
Rebates
Available Colors
Approx. Product Dimensions (WxHxD) (in.)

27 in x 46 in x 27 in

About this Product

  • Dual-action agitator

    Dual-action agitator

    Powerful reversing wash action rotates your laundry for a thorough clean every time

    Play Video

  • Deep Fill

    Deep Fill

    Customize your water-fill levels with just the touch of a button. Add a little extra or fill the tub to wash the way you want

    Play Video

  • Auto Soak

    Auto Soak

    Loosens stains by soaking up to 2 hours

    Play Video

  • Deep Rinse

    Deep Rinse

    When selected, the deep rinse cycle ensure clothes are rinsed of soap residue and fabric softener

    Play Video

Features

  • Stain Removal Guide
    Clean 5 of the most common stains with preprogrammed settings that modify any cycle to help remove blood, tomato, wine, dirt and grass
  • Warm Rinse
    Choose a warm water rinse so every part of your laundry experience fits your preference
  • Sanitize with Oxi
    Remove 99.9% of bacteria with a dedicated cycle that uses an Oxi additive to boost your detergent’s cleaning power, while keeping fabrics looking and feeling their best
  • Soft-close glass lid
    Engineered to close gently every time
  • Speed Wash
    Provides a quick wash for lightly soiled items that are needed in a hurry

More Features

Claims & Certifications

  • ENERGY STAR® Qualified

    ENERGY STAR® Qualified

  • Made In America

    Made In America
    70 to 90% U.S. Content
    Product details at
    GEAppliances.com/USA

WiFi Connect*

Connect to WiFi* for real-time feedback, optimized performance, alerts and more.

Works With

*Requires a Connect Plus WiFi module, sold separately.

GE® 4.5 DOE cu. ft. stainless steel capacity washer - GTW685BPLDG

Specs & Details

  • FEATURES
  • CAPACITY
  • APPEARANCE
  • WEIGHTS & DIMENSIONS
  • POWER / RATINGS
  • CLAIMS & CERTIFICATIONS
  • WARRANTY
GE® 4.5 DOE cu. ft. stainless steel capacity washer- GTW685BPLDG

Ratings and Q&A

Rated 4 out of 5 by from Washes great First time I used it I've loved it . Very big and spacious.Great energy efficient product .
Date published: 2018-04-25
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not that great... I have to choose DEEP FILL every wash in order to have enough water to get all my clothes wet. Also, sheets get twisted really tight - so tight that the wrinkles don't come out in the dryer. Where were the engineers when this washer was developed?
Date published: 2018-04-23
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Restrictions equal loss of control Owned for approx 6 to 7 months. Replaces first one that lasted only 3 weeks due to electronic panel failure. This one functions, however due to built in energy and environmental restrictions you loose out on control of: 1. Water level. It will only fill between a third and half full. ( I have to wash on bulky load at all times in order to get enough water to have clean laundry) 2. Laundry size. (Forget about large loads. Those days are gone. No mater the size of the tub. So get used to doing laundry in small to med loads.) 3. Time. These size loads on bulky wash can take anywhere from 34 mins to 97 mins depending on your selection of cleaning features. Other than these faults I find that I don't hate the washer. It:s a beautiful washer with a bevy of features. (which unfortunately are hindered by the a fore mentioned restrictions.) Clothing come out very clean when using work arounds I have found through trial error. Best Feature: It has an agitator. Worse Feature: Sensing and Balancing. Would I purchase again? Probably not.
Date published: 2018-04-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Could Not Ask for More Bought two months ago perfect for me does what need and more
Date published: 2018-04-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great size and features! I've had this washer for almost a week now and I no complaints so far.
Date published: 2018-04-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Lots of features We bought this a few weeks ago. Still learning all the settings, but so far it's amazing. Not sure if we like the minimal water used, but they're all like that now. We're used to a 20 year old machine that soaked everything everytime. Clothes seem to be fine, cleaning is good, and they come out practically dry in the end. Still learning, but so far, love the machine. We got this machine because reviews were good, and more importantly, you can get this model with the agitator. So glad I did, it doesn't beat up your clothes so don't believe that from salesman or online reviewers. If you like to know your clothes are getting moved around and 'scrubbed', then get this feature. Cleans your clothes better than relying on clothes scrubbing each other clean.
Date published: 2018-04-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very Pleased I bought a brand new washing machine- let’s call it machine B- that was so horrible I bought another new one less than a year later. And oh my goodness, I forgot how simple laundry could be. For a comparison; a small load (because that’s all machine B could handle) of heavy soiled laundry took two to three cycles to get clean. No cycle on that machine was under an hour, so I spent a lot of time doing laundry. As I stated it could only handle a small load or it would get out of balance and throw an error code canceling the cycle. With this GE I can be less picky on sorting and actually fill the machine to capacity and wouldn’t you know it, the clothes come out clean after one 45 minute cycle. If it is unbalanced, it at least attempts to balance, though it doesn’t always work correctly and the load will be wetter than average. I was compelled to write this review after last night. My husband returned home from work at a rock quarry; very dirty business. I tossed his very dirty clothes in and completely forgot detergent. I am proud to say it actually did a fairy good job. I did use the speed wash with detergent just to be safe. I couldn’t give it five stars because there are a few things I would like to see different but those are more personal preferences than problems/complaints. Common complaints I hear are cycle times, I haven’t found them to be horrible. I’d say average for an HE machine. Lack of water, that is what the deep fill option is for and people are using it incorrectly or not understanding how to operate the machine. The manual could be a little more clear. Some explanations are vague and my questions are not answered in it. I’ve had this GE about a month and normally I like to use things a bit longer before reviewing. So GE, don’t let me down, continue to be awesome.
Date published: 2018-04-15
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Features are worthless I bought this a month ago and already had a GE repairman out. He basically told me the only way that today's machines were built were governed by water conservation and will not fill up the drum no matter what size it is and therefore will leave your load unbalanced unless you LEAVE it on the DEEP fill option and the BULKY ITEMS options. Even then you can only fill up to about 8 inches of clothes so that the water covers them. In other words, ALL the so-called options are WORTHLESS. So now, instead of doing a large load, I have to do two medium ones and it takes twice the water, twice the time. Where's the conservation in that, GE? I'd been better off buying a rebuilt one or had my motor replaced on my old one! They don't make 'em like they used to.
Date published: 2018-04-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love The Diversity My husband purchased this washer for me when our old washer "checked out". I love the various features that really allow you to customize your wash cycle.
Date published: 2018-04-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Deep basket Purchased 2 months ago so haven't had it along time
Date published: 2018-04-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it! Bought it on 12/30/17 after my 23 year old washer finally rusted out. I am saving $50 a month on electric and water bills. Will pay for itself!
Date published: 2018-04-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great features Not having a washer for two weeks, I had a lot of dirty laundry. This washer has a bigger capacity than my last washer and I love being able to do larger loads. I was able to get all my clothes done in a short amount of time. I would have been washing all day with my old washer. I'm so happy. It's quiet and I love all the features.
Date published: 2018-04-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love all the features and look of machine! Just bought this and very pleased with how quite it is compared to our old washer. Love the clear view on top.
Date published: 2018-04-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice Size Washer I bought the washer/dryer combination in November and it was delivered in January, wash on a long back ordered list. I like the washer and all the features and you can put a lot of clothes in at one time. I would recommend the washer.
Date published: 2018-04-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from excellant features very impressed with this washer! even removes blood and dirt without any prewash treatment.
Date published: 2018-04-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love my new washer I love the water sensing feature and the load balancing sensor. No more guessing about the size of the load and no excessive shaking in the spin cycle
Date published: 2018-04-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Satisfied with this purchase! I have owned this machine for 2 months and have been very pleased with its performance!
Date published: 2018-04-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from GE Washer Great machine. Like all the settings and how it adjust automatically the fill level.
Date published: 2018-04-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love my first brand new washer!! First time home owners and first time washer owner! Love it and would recommend it to anyone wanting a great product!
Date published: 2018-04-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Choice Lots of options for customizing your wash load. HUGE tub. The only minus is the agitate is extremely noisy.
Date published: 2018-04-02
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good washer! I bought this washer to replace my old one that took forever to wash. Like how u can see the time on this machine but do wish it was a little quicker. Don't like the lid lock at all. Wish it was more simple with more water out put without having to bump up time of wash to fill up.
Date published: 2018-04-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Features great! bought about a month ago and enjoy the quietness of it
Date published: 2018-04-01
Rated 3 out of 5 by from performance with water leval only one bad thing watter leval cant seem to get it to fill 3/4 full can u help me with this
Date published: 2018-03-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great features and fun to operate. Purchased this about two weeks ago and we love it.
Date published: 2018-03-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great washer I love the different cycles and I'm still trying to figure them all out (referencing the manual for more info). I did have to run a tennis shoe load and there really wasn't a cycle for shoes so I had to use best guess and ran them on delicate. I had to get used to seeing the water level so low but that's a part of the HE feature. Not all cycles are editable (temp, spin time, etc). Would love a "create your own" cycle that can be saved/programmed!
Date published: 2018-03-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from excellent very impressive , I love it, quality is great ,workmanship excels and
Date published: 2018-03-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Looks like a higher end, total workhorse. We've had it about a week and I love it so far. Looks like a higher end and it's a total workhorse. Only downside is it's a tad loud. If it's on your main floor you'll probably hear it.
Date published: 2018-03-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great washer Love my new washer. I know some people have issues with the new efficient washers and not washing properly with not enough water. For me its trial and error. I love that it has 2 deep feel options. I love playing around and getting use to it. Fits more close and my comforters. We have a family of 9 so now washing is a breeze.
Date published: 2018-03-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from so far so good, correction awesome When it first started I was wondering if it was even working right. it defiantly cleans different then any washer I have ever had. It uses a lot less water, yeah on the water bill. And the clothes fill and smell so much cleaner. Love all the different settings there are. and even those settings you can change to your liking.
Date published: 2018-03-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Performs the way a washer should... So glad we returned our previously purchased washer. This machine has an agitator and it has made all the difference. Our clothes are cleaner and not covered in lint and detergent residue. Very satisfied.
Date published: 2018-03-23
  • y_2018, m_5, d_19, h_20
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_226
  • loc_en_US, sid_GTW685BPLDG, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_ge_appliances
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 67ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
GE® 4.5 DOE cu. ft. stainless steel capacity washer - GTW685BPLDG

Product Support & Service

Schedule Service

Our online tools are here 24 hours a day to help you arrange the service you need.

Contact Us

We’re happy to help answer your questions.