GE® ENERGY STAR® 115 Volt Electronic Room Air Conditioner

AEC08LY
AEC08LY is rated 4.5 out of 5 by 452.
  • y_2019, m_9, d_17, h_6
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.13
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_452
  • loc_en_US, sid_AEC08LY, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_ge_appliances
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 43ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
$329 MSRP

Available at

The Home Depot
Rebates & Promotions
Rebates
Approx. Product Dimensions (WxHxD) (in.)

18 19/32 in x 12 3/4 in x 15 23/32 in

About this Product

Claims & Certifications

  • ENERGY STAR® Qualified

    ENERGY STAR® Qualified

WiFi Connect

Connect to WiFi for real-time feedback, optimized performance, alerts and more.

Works With

GE® ENERGY STAR® 115 Volt Electronic Room Air Conditioner - AEC08LY

Specs & Details

  • FEATURES
  • CAPACITY
  • APPEARANCE
  • ECONOMICAL / QUIET
  • WEIGHTS & DIMENSIONS
  • POWER / RATINGS
  • CLAIMS & CERTIFICATIONS
  • WARRANTY
GE® ENERGY STAR® 115 Volt Electronic Room Air Conditioner- AEC08LY

Ratings and Q&A

Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works well OK. This way too much effort. I would not do it again.
Date published: 2019-09-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Superior AC It is lightweight and easy to manage. It works flawlessly. When I am in the room where it is located, you cannot hear the compressor cycle on and off. I had an LG before it would all but shake the room when it would cycle.
Date published: 2019-09-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Power,smaller,quieter Smaller and more powerful than the old one. Quieter to. Great improvement.
Date published: 2019-09-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product Easy installation and cools quickly!!! 2nd GE WINDOW AC PURCHASE IN LAST 2 MONTHS THEY REALLY DO THE JOB!!!
Date published: 2019-09-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Not as cold as the older conditioner Works good, not as cold as the older model air conditioner
Date published: 2019-09-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Cools well Has good cooling properties, but it is limited by weather conditions rather than room temperatures. Also, the internet capabilities need some fine tuning.
Date published: 2019-09-09
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not good for a Lania Performance is probably good for a room within a home that has great insulation, but not for a Lania, even though it is rated for 350 sqft. and my Lanai is only 200 sqft. It is also noisier than expected. Love the smart feature and controls.
Date published: 2019-09-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easy install Wish the temp continued to appear on the unit....it blacks out after 5 minutes (I guess as an energy saving feature) but I'd rather be able to look over and see the temp whenever I want, not have to touch a button.
Date published: 2019-09-08
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Decent AC but expected more The AC doesn't really cool off the room that well and is also a bit noisy.
Date published: 2019-09-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The WiFi control The product is great work fine and the most I like is I can’t control from outside my home I can turne on to when I go to my house be cold for me
Date published: 2019-09-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great features! Awesome. Compact. Good piece of machinery. Well built. Economical. Not very heavy.
Date published: 2019-09-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works great! Love the WiFi! This A/C unit works great! It cools down the room very quickly and keeps it at the temperature you set, even on Energy Saver mode — exactly what you want from an air conditioner. I especially like the ability to control it over my smartphone via WiFi. Great job, GE!
Date published: 2019-09-04
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Terrible... save your money Doesn’t work good ... I feel like once you hook WiFi up it really didn’t work at all .. no cool air came out ... my house was hotter with the ac then without it .
Date published: 2019-09-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Draws so little power This unit was a gift. We were unsure if the wiring in our 1917 built home would support an AC unit of any type, because most of the outlets are 15 amp. That this unit draws so little amps is a plus. It was installed on a July summer afternoon when our living room was 93 degrees; before long, it reached it's set temperature. It keeps our entire downstairs cool and more importantly, dehumidified. When we rewire the upstairs--the entire upstairs is on two circuits--we will be purchasing another GE unit based on the operation of this one.
Date published: 2019-09-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good window unit Bought this for the kitchen/dining room for my mom. Worked great without the need to put in central air. Have this one and a 5000 BTU one in the living room which just is enough for her small 735 sq foot ranch home to take out the humidity mostly. Together kept her comfortable during those dog days of summer.
Date published: 2019-09-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great performance! You're porduct is great in performence. Keep it up.
Date published: 2019-09-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easy to use app Enjoy being able to control the a/c with an app. Easy to install and very convenient.
Date published: 2019-09-03
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Defective Bad compressor right out of the box. And no in home service for the first year, so I returned it.
Date published: 2019-09-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Machine A couple things my wife and I like is the fact that it pairs with Apple Home Kit, and the other is we do not have any condition water dripping on the out side of the house. this is nice because it keep moss and rot from happening. Good machine. would recommend!
Date published: 2019-09-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My AC as WiFi?! AC works great. I love the WiFi feature. Being able to turn on the AC a few minutes before I get home when I'm working late is such a nice feature. I come home to a nice and cool bedroom!
Date published: 2019-09-03
Rated 2 out of 5 by from ECO doesnt work well Cooling air is on point. The air is so cold and cools the room quick, but when set on eco and the set temp is reached the unit doesnt go into sleep mode. I have 2 units (8000 and 10000 btu) both are the same.
Date published: 2019-09-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cools great Mobile hole stays in sun all day long. This a.c. 8,000 btu cools it great better than 15000 I had before
Date published: 2019-08-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Not bad. Works good, the app could be better. Guess I need 14 more letters.
Date published: 2019-08-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to hookup and operate I use this window a/c in my bedroom. It was easy to place in the window and get it running. Keeps my room very comfortable. Haven't tried the WIFI settings yet.
Date published: 2019-08-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love love this unit air condition Love it allows you to see what’s the temperature inside your house, let you know Whalen the house is cooling down in minutes
Date published: 2019-08-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Provides cold air quickly While the a/c unit provides cold air quickly it is quite noisy.
Date published: 2019-08-27
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Too noisy. Rattles This air conditioner is too loud and rattles. Don’t like it
Date published: 2019-08-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The most comfortable room in the house! Unfortunately, that room is not mine but our daughters. We wanted to get her an A/C since she's on a routine nap and the weather in New England has been hot and humid. She's living in the upstairs which, in our cape, is essentially the attic. It stay's hot throughout the night in that room. I added the A/C unit using the supplied materials but also needed a spaced base for the sill since out storm windows don't allow for the unit to sit low and on the sill. That was easy. I was able to seal the window up pretty nicely and will be adding some more material over the "wings" of the unit since light seeps through. Functionally they work but the sun is bright and will leak through. I plugged in the unit and off it went, brought the room down to a comfy 76deg. We don't want an icebox and seeing the app show the electricity use is on the scale of 1/6th of the average, big thumbs up for me. My wife isn't tech savvy so she just texts me when she wants me to change the temp. This has been seamless wherever I am at since it's connected to our house wifi. So far, it's been a great addition and I haven't seem any drastic electricity use in our bill. We do keep it at 76 so that plays a big factor into things. One note, it is quite noisy but that works to our advantage since we also have a noise machine in our daughters room. She will wake up when it's on ECO mode since it shuts off and on and that's a drastic noise difference. When the units goes from cooling to fan, it's not as drastic. I've cleaned the filter once and didn't notice any build up. The water drains correctly as I do have it at a slight tilt down in the rear. People have complained about the remote but I honestly haven't used it since the app works great. I was able to shut off the beeps which would go off if you physically hit the buttons and also when you change settings over the app. That was also waking our daughter but a quick search showed how to disable it. I also like how the display shuts off after some time and you don't have glaring LEDs on the unit. I hate how my house has glowing little beady eyed LEDs throughout. This unit eases that pain. I will attest that the ECO mode is wonky and a bit off, I don't mess with it. I haven't tried but I think this unit can hook up to Alexa. I will explore that one day. I am stoked on this purchase and I would definitely buy another and recommend it. Although, I don't personally have to live with the noise of it so couldn't attest to it's annoyance..... yet.
Date published: 2019-08-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from functions wonderfully! the remote is awesome! i can control the A/c from our kitchen while the appliance is in the living room
Date published: 2019-08-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So snazzy! I thought the app-controllability was a silly feature, but I’m totally hooked! This unit is in an addition to our home that gets kind of hot in the summer - but is also near where our next door neighbors take their barking dogs out in the wee hours of the morning. I’m able to just roll over and turn the unit on to drown out their barking (and as a result OUR dogs’ barking) so that it doesnt wake our toddler! The cooling capability is unlike any other window unit I’ve had, and it’s reasonably quiet. Definitely recommend!
Date published: 2019-08-25
  • y_2019, m_9, d_17, h_6
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.13
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_452
  • loc_en_US, sid_AEC08LY, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_ge_appliances
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 47ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
GE® ENERGY STAR® 115 Volt Electronic Room Air Conditioner - AEC08LY

Product Support & Service

Schedule Service

Our online tools are here 24 hours a day to help you arrange the service you need.

Contact Us

We’re happy to help answer your questions.