GE® ENERGY STAR® 115 Volt Electronic Room Air Conditioner

AEC12AY
AEC12AY is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 131.
  • y_2019, m_9, d_17, h_6
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.13
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_131
  • loc_en_US, sid_AEC12AY, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_ge_appliances
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 44ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
$449 MSRP

Available at

The Home Depot
Rebates & Promotions
Rebates
Approx. Product Dimensions (WxHxD) (in.)

21 11/32 in x 15 3/4 in x 21 1/4 in

About this Product

Claims & Certifications

  • ENERGY STAR® Qualified

    ENERGY STAR® Qualified

WiFi Connect

Connect to WiFi for real-time feedback, optimized performance, alerts and more.

Works With

GE® ENERGY STAR® 115 Volt Electronic Room Air Conditioner - AEC12AY

Specs & Details

  • FEATURES
  • CAPACITY
  • APPEARANCE
  • ECONOMICAL / QUIET
  • WEIGHTS & DIMENSIONS
  • POWER / RATINGS
  • CLAIMS & CERTIFICATIONS
  • WARRANTY
GE® ENERGY STAR® 115 Volt Electronic Room Air Conditioner- AEC12AY

Ratings and Q&A

Rated 5 out of 5 by from This feels so GREAT!!!! Love it! Air conditioning broke and this was my temporary fix! The cool air is amazing! I would highly recommend. Cool features. Can control in an app!!!
Date published: 2019-09-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Energy saver When I’m cooking I need the kitchen To be cool And keep my pets cool when it’s hot
Date published: 2019-09-03
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Nice digital features and remote Bought this air conditioner to replace an Arctic brand air conditioner we had cooling our downstairs area; disappointed that it doesn’t cool as well as our prior one although they are the same BTU, lowest temp 64 degrees F. Not completely dissatisfied, yet not at all impressed, also this product was a bit expensive compared to there of similar features.
Date published: 2019-09-03
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Eh Im not to happy with it..takes forever to cool off my bedroom and my daughter's room which is adjoining mine.....I have to have the ceiling fan on to circulate the cool air to her room.
Date published: 2019-09-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to install and use Love my new unit. Placed in a home in the mountains of PA which has never had air. It cools the living area quickly and cost effectively.
Date published: 2019-08-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Good product I like it economy works well it shuts off!
Date published: 2019-08-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Features, easy to install Love that it has wifi, so I can turn on the A/C before getting home. Love that the main display turns off after a while so the room is not illuminated all night. Easy to install
Date published: 2019-08-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice a/c It's quiet, cools quickly. My only complaint is that the temperature only goes down to 64deg instead of 60deg like the unit it replaced.
Date published: 2019-08-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Cools 1st floor of our house The directions made it easy to install and operate. Only issues I have is a little more noise then expected and WIFI setup I still can't get to work
Date published: 2019-08-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love my new air conditioner This air conditioner cools my small one floor home well. I like the ECO feature the air cycles on and off as the temperature changes.
Date published: 2019-08-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works great, nice features. This unit cools a few medium rooms in our house. Our house a/c broke (fixed now), and we bought this to get us through until it was repaired. This thing works great and could easily cool a very large room or several small-medium sized rooms.
Date published: 2019-08-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from We like the WiFi capability The product work really good easy to operate and really efficient, does cool the area really quick
Date published: 2019-08-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Window unit AC Had minor difficulties with installation, but not due to instructions. Had to add some shims to the window frame to enhance stability. Unit works great and cools very quickly and efficiently. Have an open living room, kitchen and dining room, just a little over 500 SQ-FT. Takes only about 15-30 minutes to cool down to comfortable 74 I also like about this unit is now that it's installed downstairs in our living room, the wattage isn't so much that I can't run it off my portable generator during hurricane season. Our 7500 watt portable generator wasn't capable of running our central AC along with the refrigerator, sump pump and other necessary electrical items. Now we're able to keep cool if and when a hurricane hits and we loose electricity. Great product GE.
Date published: 2019-08-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it! Capacity of 550 sq ft cooling my pole barn with 1200 sq ft. Awesome machine. Finally got the app to work, like how it keeps track of energy, which has been way below national average.
Date published: 2019-08-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great futures Love the application that can control the settings in my iPhone
Date published: 2019-08-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great features Great product and easy to use also very quiet best I've ever had
Date published: 2019-08-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Powerful! I was worried about the air conditioner truly being able to cool the size of my room and my daughters but this ac makes the rooms feel like the North Pole after 10 minutes. It really is wonderful.
Date published: 2019-08-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from WiFi enabled, works with Google Home I WFH, love being able to say “Hey Google, turn the air conditioner on/off” while at my desk.
Date published: 2019-08-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quick and Quiet set up in garage which has little insulation, used for working out. This AC unit cools 20 degrees in under an hour, very quck, very quiet. Smart app to turn on before training is an unexpected plus.
Date published: 2019-08-12
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Didn't last I purchased this Air conditioner and was praying it would work. On the first day it struggled to cool the downstairs. On the second day the compressor must have died because it only blew hot air. My previous air conditioner before this one, lasted 10 years not 1 day.
Date published: 2019-08-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Grate! The funcionally features its grates. Its confortnally. Its works!
Date published: 2019-08-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from More than greater This is the best buy I ever had work with my phone. Excellent
Date published: 2019-08-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great air conditioner We love this air conditioner works very nice and with the wi-fi app I can turn it on and off. My wife works is 1.5 miles from my house and I turn it on and wen I get home it was very nice.
Date published: 2019-08-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works Great! My wife and I rent the home we live in. Last summer was our first year in the house and our master bedroom is in what was the attic. The bedroom conversion was not done the best and it does get hot in the summer. Last year we tried a portable air conditioner and we had to put a fan in front of it to help move the air around to try to cool such a large space. Needless to say it just wasn't quite enough to do the job and we had to wait until after the sun went down for the room to start to cool. This year we decided to upgrade to this GE window unit and we were pleasantly surprised as to how well it works. When I installed it and turned it on the temperature in the room dropped about 4 degrees in less than an hour. This unit when on Eco mode does not have to run constantly to keep the room at the temperature we set it at. Last year we really couldn't get the room where we would have liked it to be. This year we found out we can, and need to, set the temperature where we want it. We set it lower on the first day because last year's unit had to be set as low as possible to get the temp close to comfortable. Setting this unit lower than where we wanted the temp had the room freezing cold. We actually had to adjust the setting and open a window to warm it up a bit. Having the WiFi feature is a huge plus also. Having the ability to schedule and program the temperature is great. We have it set to have the temp up higher while we are at work and it starts dropping while we are on our way home so the room is nice and cool when we walk in. We would absolutely recommend this unit for anyone that is looking to cool a large space.
Date published: 2019-08-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love that it works with Alexa Product was easy to setup, comes with nice features such as remote and ability to work with Alexa. Great overall appearance.
Date published: 2019-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Complete control Works well. No issues. I like the app and magnet on the remote.
Date published: 2019-08-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Does the trick The unit actually cools majority of the awkwardly laid-out main floor of my home. It's not too loud, and I enjoy the convenience of the app.
Date published: 2019-08-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic! Does a fantastic job of cooling my open concept main floor, the online/ app feature is very handy and I couldn't be happier with my purchase. The only thing I had trouble with was how heavy it is in general you'll defiantly need a second person to help installing and I ended up buying a window mount to help hold the weight.
Date published: 2019-08-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful Air conditioner I love all the features but still can't get connected to internet so I can use from my phone but other then that perfect air conditioner.
Date published: 2019-08-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cools my home so good! No complaints great A/C unit for a good reasonable price
Date published: 2019-08-07
  • y_2019, m_9, d_17, h_6
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.13
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_131
  • loc_en_US, sid_AEC12AY, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_ge_appliances
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 43ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
GE® ENERGY STAR® 115 Volt Electronic Room Air Conditioner - AEC12AY

Product Support & Service

Schedule Service

Our online tools are here 24 hours a day to help you arrange the service you need.

Contact Us

We’re happy to help answer your questions.