GE® ENERGY STAR® 230 Volt Electronic Room Air Conditioner

AEC18DY
AEC18DY is rated 4.6 out of 5 by 31.
  • y_2019, m_9, d_18, h_6
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.13
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_31
  • loc_en_US, sid_AEC18DY, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_ge_appliances
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 43ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
$639 MSRP

Available at

The Home Depot
Rebates & Promotions
Rebates
Approx. Product Dimensions (WxHxD) (in.)

23 5/8 in x 17 25/32 in x 25 7/16 in

About this Product

Claims & Certifications

  • ENERGY STAR® Qualified

    ENERGY STAR® Qualified

WiFi Connect

Connect to WiFi for real-time feedback, optimized performance, alerts and more.

Works With

GE® ENERGY STAR® 230 Volt Electronic Room Air Conditioner - AEC18DY

Specs & Details

  • FEATURES
  • CAPACITY
  • APPEARANCE
  • ECONOMICAL / QUIET
  • WEIGHTS & DIMENSIONS
  • POWER / RATINGS
  • CLAIMS & CERTIFICATIONS
  • WARRANTY
GE® ENERGY STAR® 230 Volt Electronic Room Air Conditioner- AEC18DY

Ratings and Q&A

Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great AC - Except for control panel After having a friend help me get the box in the house, I was able to do 98% of the installation by myself. Only thing I needed help with was getting the unit up and into the casing which I installed in the window. There are two minor problems with the unit which kept me from giving it a 5 star rating. 1) The accordion panels and trim around the unit are not completely sealing the openings around the window. I can still see the light of open air through some of the seams in the side panels and screwed in parts. So I am debating whether to leave this heavy unit in the window through winter, or find someone to help me get it out - but then I don't know where I would store it. 2) The other issue is the control panel. I can only operate some of the buttons on the control panel because you have to press incredibly deep into the buttons to have them function. Example: I could not use the WiFi option because I could not pres the button deep enough to register on the panel, so I had to remove the face and then unscrew the control panel so I could hold it in my hands to press the button in to initiate wifi. Now, I will have to go through the same process again because I do not like the auto shutoff of the control panel lights. Its makes it too difficult to tell if the unit is powered on, or in eco (dormant) mode. Having the lights always on should be the default setting, with the option to turn them off. Note: In order to switch the lights on/off mode you need to press two buttons on the control panel simultaneously. I cannot do that because of the problem described earlier. Hence, I need to get around to removing the control panel to change the option.
Date published: 2019-08-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome air conditioner Love, love, love this A C. So many great features and I can control it from work on my phone. Cools the entire house.
Date published: 2019-08-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from GREAT UNIT EASY INSTALLATION IF YOU KNOW WHAT YOU ARE DOING. TOOK A COUPLE OF HOURS TO INSTALL AND WORKS GOOD. ITS JUST A BIT LOUD BUT THAT IS EXPECTED I DO LIKE THE ENERGY SAVING FEATURE.
Date published: 2019-08-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from does a great job and easy to use! This is a great product and the remote control is really nice.
Date published: 2019-08-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quiet! I love this unit! It’s super quiet and cools a very large area very well. Very happy with this purchase!
Date published: 2019-08-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I'm in looove!!!! I live in a historic property in central California where above 100 degree days are the norm. I can't have central air, but this machine does the job! It cools the whole house in minutes, the noise level is manageable and the app connection makes it a dream come true! Highly recommend! Easy to install, best AC ever!
Date published: 2019-07-31
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Keeping cool Overall I like the air conditioner. It does a pretty good job of keeping the downstairs cool. The only problem is that I don't think the fan is adequate enough. The old unit I had had a strong fan. Most times the front room is warmer than the middle and kitchen area. The downstairs area is about 550 sq. ft. I like the energy saving feature. Overall it does a good job of keeping the area cool.
Date published: 2019-07-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works great for me Wasn't that hard putting it in am glad I purchased it
Date published: 2019-07-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cool Airconditioner dude Good product -I like the remote/online features the ac unit has. A little on the high end for price . Bought at home depot.
Date published: 2019-07-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super cool Very cold and energy efficient. Somewhat easy to install
Date published: 2019-07-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cool off room very quickly. Just bought this GE air conditioner and put it in the wall. Started it right away and it worked great!
Date published: 2019-07-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works great We love our new air conditioner. Great feature that turns its self off in eco mode to save energy
Date published: 2019-07-20
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Doesn't cool as well as expected Doesn't cool as well as I expected it too based on the BTU's
Date published: 2019-07-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this! Super quiet. I love that you can put it on Eco and it only runs when needed. A great investment!
Date published: 2019-07-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Purchased based on price and reviews, beyond my expatiations
Date published: 2019-07-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Powerful It is more efficient than I had thought for a large unit
Date published: 2019-07-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great AC Unit Installed this unit over the Memorial Day weekend, had to run a seperate line for the outlet, well worth it. Easy to install. Keeps our large livingroom and kitchen area very cool, appreciate its performance especially in this heat and humidity.
Date published: 2019-07-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Everything is going well It's doing the Job really well and it keeping me cool with the heat is on fire in Georgia.. Thanks to GE I'm Good.
Date published: 2019-07-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the WiFi feature The old unit in our house was from 1995, it died on 7-4-2019. We picked this up from Home Depot and had it installed in a few hours. The Wifi feature is awesome, I can turn it on/off/up/down from work and I love that when it reaches target temp it turns off or lets the fan run for a bit. I was upset our last one broke but honestly, this through-the-wall AC unit is awesome and I'm happy with the purchase.
Date published: 2019-07-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from 18,000 BTUS A/C VERY GOOD LOOKING A/C & WORKS VERY WELL...WI_FI IS IMPRESSIVE...I'LL SET IT UP!!!
Date published: 2019-07-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Top rated Exact size and BTU needed to replace existing worn out a/c
Date published: 2019-06-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great features, love the wifi Cools the house down nicely. The wifi app is great and easy to setup. House is always cool when I get home with app!
Date published: 2019-06-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best window air unit ever! This window air unit was extremely affordable, easy to install on our own, and pumps out air beautifully. I would highly recommend this air unit to anyone looking to add efficient and effective air conditioning to their home!
Date published: 2019-06-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from App Feature Is Worth It I personally love my new air conditioner. My favorite part is that it has an app, so I can control my ac when I'm not home. Turn it up when I leave, and then before I head home from work or being gone for the weekend, I can have the house set to a comfortable temperature before I get there!
Date published: 2019-06-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great working A/C unit. I have a two car garage 750 sq ft with 8’6” ceiling. Cools down very fast. Love it!
Date published: 2019-06-05
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Fan don’t work I put the ac up and when I turn it on the fan dont spin did the reset and nothing so I call the number on the booklet and waiting for technicians to come check on it.. so kind of disappointed on something that supposed to be brand new So I hope he can fix it
Date published: 2019-05-19
  • y_2019, m_9, d_18, h_6
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.13
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_31
  • loc_en_US, sid_AEC18DY, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_ge_appliances
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 42ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
GE® ENERGY STAR® 230 Volt Electronic Room Air Conditioner - AEC18DY

Product Support & Service

Schedule Service

Our online tools are here 24 hours a day to help you arrange the service you need.

Contact Us

We’re happy to help answer your questions.