GE Café™ Series 2.1 Cu. Ft. Over-the-Range Microwave Oven

CVM9215SLSS
CVM9215SLSS is rated 3.6 out of 5 by 43.
  • y_2019, m_7, d_21, h_24
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_43
  • loc_en_US, sid_CVM9215SLSS, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_ge_appliances
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 42ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

This model is no longer being manufactured

Rebates & Promotions
Rebates
Approx. Product Dimensions (WxHxD) (in.)

29 3/4 in x 16 1/2 in x 15 1/2 in

About this Product

  • Steam cook button

    Steam cook button

    Perfectly prepare your steamed favorites

    Play Video

  • Easy clean enamel interior with steam clean

    Easy clean enamel interior with steam clean

    Makes cleaning spills and splatters a snap

  • Chef Connect

    Chef Connect

    Three options with a single touch. For instant convenience, choose when to automatically sync clocks and the range elements with the microwave's surface light and vent

    Play Video

  • Weight and time defrost

    Weight and time defrost

    Simply enter the weight of the food, and the oven automatically sets the optimal defrosting time and power level or set your desired time for defrosting

Features

  • 2.1 cu. ft. capacity
    1000 Watts (IEC-705 test procedure)
  • LED cooktop lighting
    Brighten the kitchen while saving on energy and maintenance costs
  • Four-speed, 400-CFM venting fan system
    Quickly removes smoke, steam and odors from the cooktop to keep kitchen air fresh and clean
  • Upfront charcoal filter with indicator light
    Light indicates when odor-removing charcoal filter needs to be replaced
  • My Cycle
    Create a custom cook time setting, and with one touch, cook your favorite dish just the way you like

More Features

GE Café™ Series 2.1 Cu. Ft. Over-the-Range Microwave Oven - CVM9215SLSS

Specs & Details

  • FEATURES
  • CAPACITY
  • APPEARANCE
  • ECONOMICAL / QUIET
  • WEIGHTS & DIMENSIONS
  • POWER / RATINGS
  • CLAIMS & CERTIFICATIONS
  • ACCESSORIES
  • WARRANTY
GE Café™ Series 2.1 Cu. Ft. Over-the-Range Microwave Oven- CVM9215SLSS

Ratings and Q&A

Rated 4 out of 5 by from Need Bacon button! This new microwave works great above our stove. Love the light and fan! First time I've had this type of combo. Used to have a downdraft stove. I like the lighting too. I like the digital clock, especially at night when searching for a snack!
Date published: 2019-03-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great appliance with lots of features. Great appliance, love all the features. My only negative thought is that the exhaust fan is very loud and doesn't have very much suction.
Date published: 2019-03-07
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not as good as older models We recently had to get a new GE Cafe microwave when the touch pad on our 6 year old other Cafe went out. The new microwave has a sleek design and I love the black interior. Other than that, there is not much to like. It is extremely difficult to use and has fewer features than our old model. Our current model does not have a “melt” option. It is extremely difficult to figure out how to lower the power setting. I have to pull up the manual online all the time just to figure out how to use it. Further, it does not heat well. A current recipe for cooking egg whites suggested putting the container at the edge of the rotating tray for one minute. After a minute, the egg whites had not heated at all. I very much miss the ease of use and extra cooking options of our previous model. I would not recommend this microwave.
Date published: 2019-02-20
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Awful This is my 2nd GE Cafe. The first was replaced under warranty as there was a design flaw in the keypad that is a KNOW GE ISSUE. SInce the vent fan is not every good the condensation broke the Keypad. Now with my replacement, not only does the handle need replacing (like most reviews of people who have had it more than just a few months) now the Microwave function doesnt even work. the Microwave turns on but doesnt heat. Tech support figures it is a magnatron tune that is covered under warranty, but they first want to change $100 to have someone diagnose in person, then pay another fee to the tech to bring part and install. why not just bring parts with you? not only that but why do i have to pay when they are supposed to come and replace handle anyways? more than happy to pay the labor to replace the WARRANTIED part but all other fees add up to a few hundred $$. not happy with the $800 microwave. WOuld have bought a $200 one if i knew it would last just 2 yrs.
Date published: 2019-02-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the Bluetooth functionality! Great Microwave! Very easy to use and I like the Knob to set the time instead of number buttons!
Date published: 2019-02-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from works great Have owned for about 2 months. So far no issues or concerns. Efficient and powerful
Date published: 2019-01-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Microwave and great auto features Great looking microwave and excellent pair with our Cafe Series dual fuel Cafe Series oven. The 400 cfm vent which we direct vented outside works very well and is powerful enough to serve as the vent for over the stove. Just one note is that the handle, although the finish matches, is not metal, it is plastic. The handles on our oven are metal and I would have expected the same on the microwave.
Date published: 2019-01-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A Formidable Machine! I just bought this and it is a beauty. Just installed so have not given it a work over but so far so good. One small downside: the stainless steel smudges easily.
Date published: 2018-12-31
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Absolute Garbage There are similar reviews addressing this, but I'll add one more to try and dissuade people from buying this junk. The handle for the microwave, which is intended to be mounted above a range, is made of plastic! The faux stainless steel handle is actually just a wrap that is not heat resistant and has peeled back exposing sharp edges. I figured I would just machine a piece of SS to replace, but you can't get to the mounting hardware without destroying the door. This Microwave doesn't come with filters for the exhaust fans, you have to buy those separately.
Date published: 2018-12-27
Rated 2 out of 5 by from First blush comments Although the product has been in use for a short time, an immediate comparison in heating a cup of coffee as compared against a $99,1,000 watt big-box microwave is that the CVM9215SLSS does not heat as well for an identical time of operation. Having to depress Cook Time, then rotate the Select Knob while having to read specific minutes/seconds and then depress Start, is less than desirable from a human factors criteria. I read about this "feature" in online comments and didn't take them seriously. My bad. No apparent ability to store common settings for anything is a disappointment. Manual is not clear about the Sensor Microwave setting "Beverage", thought it was for a specific period of time such as 90 seconds but apparently it just runs indefinitely at some undefined power level. If the Sensor depends on a real probe in the food being heated, it was not in the delivered equipment. Will re-read the manual to see if there are some explanations for some of the indicated conditions mentioned above.
Date published: 2018-12-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome oven!!! We bought this to match our GE Cafe range. Both are fantastic! After 2 Months of use we're still learning new ways to cook with it.
Date published: 2018-12-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Precise fit We replaced an Advantium over the range unit that was put in when we built the house 15 years ago. This unit fits perfectly in the space and has a much larger capacity than the Advantium.
Date published: 2018-12-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good features, works well. Easy to use. Happy to have purchased this as part of my kitchen redo.
Date published: 2018-11-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome and consistent heating of foods Just started to use and we love the intuitive controls and great design.
Date published: 2018-11-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from So far, so good Have only had our microwave for a month but so far am pleased with it.
Date published: 2018-11-16
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Good features, terrible handle, hard to open Have been using this microwave for a while and we are pleased with the features (though we really only use 4-5 of them). However, I have 3 problems with this model: 1)The handle is a really cheap material and the coating peeled off within a couple of months of use. I even sliced my hand a twice on this peeled material. This microwave is designed to be an over-the-range microwave, but they forgot to use a heat-resistant material and the heat from the power burner (from the stove top in the same Cafe series that it's supposed to be purchased with) completely ruined the lining on the handle. We had to wrap it with some ghetto aluminum foil and that's performing much better now. 2) This microwave is very difficult to open. We frequently have to inform guests that they have to "yank hard" if they need to open it because so often they fail the first couple of attempts. :( pretty embarrassing. 3) This is a minor gripe, but the UI on the microwave control panel does match the UI on the stove control panel in the same Cafe series and it's confusing to do simple tasks like set the timer or change the clock. Will not purchase items in this set (Cafe) again.
Date published: 2018-11-13
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Works fine We just purchased this microwave to replace an 8 year old GE Cafe microwave/vent that failed due to the touch pad stopped working and would cost $700 to repair. Sad. Nothing else wrong with that unit. Kinda wishing we had repaired that one. This was supposed to be the exact same unit but it isn’t. The inside is not stainless steel. The door is cheap, tinny sounding. The top vents are open and dust will enter in thru the vents and there are wires in there and no access to clean it. Exhaust fan is LOUD. There is a black metal edge on the front bottom edge that seems to have no purpose other than to collect dust. Overall disappointed for the price we paid.
Date published: 2018-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from features we have to test out yet. 72 years old , bought 4 days ago, had it installed by Jarvis appliance to day. we like the new look surprise the red café label was changed in color. other appliance have the red color. like the black inside of oven.
Date published: 2018-10-10
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Looks cheap. So disappointed in look and quality. Had to replace my original GE cafe microwave because didn’t pay to fix a 10 yr old appliance. I’m aware manufacturers do change what product looks like, but this has no real stainless steel on outside at all. Just looks like it and compared to my cafe oven which I still have it looks cheap! I use it mostly for reheating not cooking so so far it works well.
Date published: 2018-10-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Large Oven with Tons of Features We bought this microwave a few months ago when our old one finally died, figured we would try the GE Cafe to match our stove and have been very pleased with the oven. It's bigger than the old one, with cool features like smart steam cooking and works great. We highly recommend this oven!
Date published: 2018-08-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Use It All the Time With two kids you can imagine the workout it gets. Looks good in our kitchen, too.
Date published: 2018-08-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great features This appliance seems to set itself before me. Also, safety features are very good!
Date published: 2018-08-30
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Don't buy this We just had this installed. We've had Cafe line for several years.... fridge, stove, microwave and dishwasher. Microwave has had heavy use, so not surprising that it would need replacement. A key reason for buying Cafe line originally is the quality that the appliances had in look and feel, which is why we wanted to maintain this with the replacement. And that means stainless steel and not plastic (especially when it's marketed as stainless steel). This replacement microwave cost more than the original and the quality is severely lacking. GE went cheap and used very thin stainless for the trim and used a plastic handle that looks like stainless. Of all the things to make plastic, they chose the handle. So every time we touch the appliance we're reminded of what we specifically do not want in our kitchen.... cheap quality. Can't express how disappointed we are with this.... guess it explains why GE is in the shape it's in. Knowing that the next appliance repair/replacement experience with GE will be equally disappointing, we'll be upgrading the entire suite of appliances as soon as possible.
Date published: 2018-08-08
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Stupid dial I understand the simplicity of the dial but I have to push the time button then rotate the dial and then push it twice. Can’t we just rotate the dial then push it once to start? That would make more sense.
Date published: 2018-08-06
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Falling apart Like another reviewer my handle is peeling. It is not stainless steel. You pay top dollar hoping to get a quality product and the handle peeling makes the microwave look very cheap. Go with another brand. It also does not vent well. It is ruining my cabinets. Save your money
Date published: 2018-08-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Looks great and cooks fast Have not had it long enough to say great, but I may update at a later time. Looks great and cooks fast.
Date published: 2018-07-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Had to get this new model after my old ge cafe no longer worked. It works great. The only think I did not like is the knob on the panel I just do not like the look but other than that a great microwave.
Date published: 2018-06-30
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Control Keypad failed, $457 for new keypad The control keypad failed shortly after warranty expired and the replacement control keypad cost $457 to purchase. There are many stories on the internet of purchasers who had the same issue. Go with another brand.
Date published: 2018-04-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Looks and works great! Bought this in January 2018 and loved look so much I splurged for a new cafe refrigerator and slide in gas range with two ovens.
Date published: 2018-04-14
Rated 1 out of 5 by from GE Cafe Microwave (Non-Covection) GE, Just a few questions... Five years ago I remodeled my kitchen using the entire suite of GE Cafe appliances. All have stood the test of time except the microwaves: The first one was only functional for three years before the control pad failed (many consumer complaints on this topic and, now, my second one, its handle is peeling, i.e the silver film over a plasting handle is inadequate (plus not stainless steel as advertised, and not stainless steel as my firsts model). I've been searching your website for a replacement handle but can't find one; so my first question is 'Am I looking in the wrong place or is the handle not available/replaceable?' and, if the latter, 'What are my options as a consumer after encountering two significant quaity issues with two GE Cafe microwave ovens in a span of less than five years?' Thanks!
Date published: 2018-03-30
  • y_2019, m_7, d_21, h_24
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_43
  • loc_en_US, sid_CVM9215SLSS, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_ge_appliances
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 41ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT