GeoSpring™ hybrid electric water heater

GEH50DFEJSR
GEH50DFEJSR is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 1286.
  • y_2019, m_7, d_15, h_20
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_1286
  • loc_en_US, sid_GEH50DFEJSR, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_ge_appliances
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 41ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

This model is no longer being manufactured

Rebates & Promotions
Rebates
Approx. Product Dimensions (WxHxD) (in.)

21 3/4 in x 60 3/4 in x 23 1/4 in

About this Product

  • Installs like a standard electric water heater with the same top water and electrical connections, making replacing your old standard water heater quick and easy

    Play Video

Features

  • 3.25 Energy Factor
  • Saves the average 2-4 person household $160-$330 every year* on average in water heating expenses (*http://www.energystar.gov)
  • 70% more efficient than a standard electric 50-gallon water heater
  • Provides the same amount of hot water as a traditional 50-gallon standard electric water heater with 69 gallons first-hour delivery
  • Electronic controls with 4 operating modes plus a vacation setting make it simple to select the temperature and optimal energy savings performance

More Features

Claims & Certifications

  • ENERGY STAR® Qualified

    ENERGY STAR® Qualified

GeoSpring™ hybrid electric water heater - GEH50DFEJSR

Specs & Details

  • FEATURES
  • CAPACITY
  • APPEARANCE
  • ECONOMICAL / QUIET
  • WEIGHTS & DIMENSIONS
  • POWER / RATINGS
  • CLAIMS & CERTIFICATIONS
  • WARRANTY
GeoSpring™ hybrid electric water heater- GEH50DFEJSR

Ratings and Q&A

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Instant savings We got this water heater for free from State cash incentives and saw a drop of about $25 a month in our electric bill. GE has a module and app to control the hot water heater which is very useful although the app is lacking because it does not have scheduling, but that can be fixed with the use of the IFTTT app.
Date published: 2019-04-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect water heater Awesome Great water heater The best service Make my car garage cool down and power bill very low for every month
Date published: 2019-03-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A great energy saver My electric bill has dropped significantly. I live in nj and am able to use the heat pump mode in the spring, summer and fall. In winter I have to use the high demand to maintain the high water temps and quick recovery I need. No problems to report in my third year of ownership. I know my model has been discontinued, but I hope there will be an even better replacement model when the time comes to replace my unit with another GE unit
Date published: 2019-02-28
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Hate it Had it for 4 years and I have a f3 and f9 + f10 too hate this water heater
Date published: 2019-01-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So far this has worked great and saved So far so good but still hasn't even been a year yet. If this continues to preform like it is now though it a enemy saver for sure and that will pay for it self installation was easy as the plumbing same as old one except for the condensate line
Date published: 2018-12-28
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Worked Well While It Actually Worked I purchased this unit 2 years ago. The first unit that was installed had a bad control panel and had to be uninstalled and returned. Not a great start. The second unit was installed and functioned very well for the first year and a half. We started having issues on rare occasion with the water heater tripping the breaker. It became worse to the point where the breaker could not be reset. I contacted the support line, however, it was Sunday so they were not available. We have an infant and need hot water so I contacted a plumber. They came out and determined the top heating element was bad. Remember the unit is only two years old and we are on non-corrosive public water. When we pulled the top element, it was beyond corroded (see images). Needless to say it was replaced. When I was able to contact GE support I request to be reimbursed for the element and explained my situation. I was surprised when I was answered with hostility. I was told they only send parts, which I understand, however, my situation required a timely fix. They were entirly unwilling to work with me and were very rude. I work in a position that require customer support and if I treated my client like this I would not have many left. Needless to say they refused to provide any form of a refund. I will not be purchasing another GE appliance and am really looking forward to the bottom element corroding within the next several months...
Date published: 2018-12-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Features and Price So far we have been pleased with the new water heater. We read several reviews before deciding upon this one.
Date published: 2018-11-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So far so good This is a year after purchase. I have not had any problems, It has saved me a little over $150 a months in electric bill compared to my old water heater. Also, I got tax incentive so I ended up paying less than if I had bought a regular one. I recommend this to all my friends and family.
Date published: 2018-11-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from So far so good Works great, still need to replace the bucket with a real condensate pump, no failuers after 4 months running in heat pump only mode. It also does a fine job of dehumidifying my basement workshop.
Date published: 2018-11-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Efficient and Reliable! I've had this water heater for 3 years and have never had a problem. I have the 50 gallon model which services my household of 4. I have only run out of hot water once, and that was after 4 showers, 2 dishwasher loads, and a load of laundry using hot water. The tank is quick to recover, and hybrid mode will serve all of your needs.
Date published: 2018-08-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product I like these water heaters as they also help cool my garage. Don't ask how, but it draws the hot air in my garage and cool air is around the water heaters.
Date published: 2018-08-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the wireless access We have had the hot water heater for about 5 months. We switched from gas to electric. In that time my gas bill dropped $65.00 a months and I saw no increase in my electric bill. We keep it on heat pump and it has never run out of hot water, even when our 4 grandkids are visiting. I love the WiFi features too. I can control the temp and even turn it on and off vacation when leave for a few days or more.
Date published: 2018-08-03
Rated 1 out of 5 by from geh50dfejsr hybrid water heater by GE complete junk, never stops beeping, have cleaned the filter so many time s , finally saw a video on how to remove the beeper on this Junk, Well that didnt work, now I have F8 codes and will not work, just called a plumber to come out and replace this Junk. only 4 years old, Thanks GE, never again
Date published: 2018-06-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The original connected water heater I have purchased two of these for separate properties. The vacation mode is excellent and IFTTT integrations work well.
Date published: 2018-05-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Hybrid Water Heater Install was easy and similar to conventional water heater. Have not had long enough to know what saving will be. Much quieter than anticipated
Date published: 2018-05-09
Rated 1 out of 5 by from A heap of scrap Garbage. Absolute garbage. Good luck saving any money when you go to repair it. BTW you can't buy parts unless you have an authorized tech come out and look at it THEN they order it the part FOR you. You cant even order an anode rod for this unit without having a plumber do it! I bought my Geospring about 3 years ago. It recently threw a Fd error code. It will take $109 dollars for a technician to look at it and an additional $300 - $900 to repair and that's NOT including cost of parts! Where's the savings?!! Think my problem is unique? Think again. The technician is very familiar with this problem. No wonder GE has a different company service these lemons!
Date published: 2018-04-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Rock solid 2 yrs running Love this water heater, radically dropped my electric bill, keeps up with family of 5.
Date published: 2018-03-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I guess we got fairly lucky! We bought this for our new home build in 2010. We live in Southwestern NM and have very hard water. Yesterday I finally replaced the old unit with the newer red top GeoSpring 50gal. Our original worked great for the first 5 years with no issues and then the hybrid coil motor failed two years ago and GE sent use new internals and gave use $300 credit to higher somebody to install it. But there wasn't a tech within 200 miles of where we lived who knew how to do it. So the last two years we just used it on full electric mode. After one year in full electric mode I had to replace both heating elements. In this process I cleaned out as much calcium buildup as I could from the tank and put in the new elements. The new elements lasted 12 months and failed yesterday. After talking to several local plumbers they said electric water heaters usually die in these parts around the 8yr mark. So I felt it was time to buy another rather heater and our local Sears store actually had one of the newer red top versions in stock on sale for $750 and I made sure to add the 5 year protection plan. So I grabbed it and installed it myself. The install was pretty easy but the drain ports where not in the same locations as the original GeoSpring and the over all height of the water heater was quite a bit shorter so I had to redo the water fittings as well.
Date published: 2018-03-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from ECO Awesome! I searched heat pump water heaters online for a couple weeks and couldn't find a better model than the GE, especially on price. It is rated well for efficiency, in fact it's so efficient that it's well below the point that the Federal Energy guide sticker even starts at. (Federal Energy Guide efficiency measure starts at $220/yr but this model is at $162/yr). I trust the GE brand more than some brand I find at the Big Box lumber stores. To make it even better, mine was made in the USA! It came from the GE Appliance warehouse right to my door with free delivery so the only thing I had to go get was a couple fittings and the drain line for condensate run-off. This model qualifies for the full refund from our PUD power company so not only is GE the best price and high quality, by the time it's all said and done I have paid less than I would for a plain electric replacement water heater. It was pretty easy to install for me so less than a half day project and it fired right up. 20 minutes and it's good to go. I am very pleased and have sent emails to all my friends and family letting them know to get one if their current one is ready to replace. I'm a gear head by nature and a mechanical engineer so it really isn't weird when I say that it's a sexy water heater. This red rocket is uber green! Great job GE!
Date published: 2018-03-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Paid for itself less than two years Bought this a few years ago, replacing an oil-fired furnace heated storage tank that I had been told was a very good set up. In the summer it would use $400-600 worth of oil plus electricity used by the oil burner and circulator pump. After installing this, I expected the electric bill to go up, but it went down almost $20 a month. There was also a $300 rebate at the time. There is a pleasant side-effect that also saves money in the summer- I no longer run a dehumidifier.
Date published: 2018-03-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great heater I've had it for a about 13 months. It works as I expected. It is a little noisy but it's in the garage so I don't really hear it in the house. I replaced a gas water heater because I have solar and it's cheaper to use electricity then gas for me. The only issue is that where I live, the city feels it's cheaper to use gas then electricity. I had already gotten the permit but the inspector originally denied approving the installation. After talking to a supervisor, they allowed the installation because the permit was approved and I also explained that for me it's cheaper to use electricity. I had to have an electrician run a 30 amp wiring to the location of the water heater so that added to the cost. However, I felt that in the long run, it'll be still be cheaper to use electricity.
Date published: 2018-02-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect heater This is the first heater we have ever owned. It was installed with our house. We love that you can select modes on the heater, from regular to vacation to extra guests.
Date published: 2018-01-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from very good water heater I bought it one year ago, and am satisfied with it. I cannot tell if it saves money because I also have a new AC. If you are considering a hybrid water heater, you have to consider one thing: where the water heater will be installed. The fan is quiet, but my water heater is in the attic, the noise seems to be augmented in the attic and can be heard in some rooms, but does not bother me. If the water heater is installed in garage, you probably won't be able to hear the noise.
Date published: 2017-12-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Work$ great Savings over straight electric model. Notice difference on electric bill
Date published: 2017-12-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from New Home Bought the heat pump water heater for the new house to improve the long term efficiency. We're looking forward to years of service.
Date published: 2017-12-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good so far. I bought this to replace two water heaters, it has been very efficient and was easy to install. Nice features and so far it has had no problems and reduced my energy bill.
Date published: 2017-12-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Control Center is much easier to operate This W.Heatr. has only been in 11 days, it is quieter than the old model & is easier to control the features. On Heat Pump only setting it is using less than 2 Kilowatt hours per day. It is a real nice unit.
Date published: 2017-12-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Energy efficient; plenty of hot water! We have had this for nearly 2 years and not a single issue. Super efficient compared to our 40 year old hot water heater that we finally replaced. Paid for itself in 12 months! Very pleased and would recommend it to anyone.
Date published: 2017-12-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Efficient I bought this 2.5 years ago, and am very glad we made the purchase. We are a family of 6 in PA, and keep it on heat pump mode almost all the time. There are times that it has trouble keeping up with laundry, baths, and other usage, but our previous 80 gallon did too. If we know guest are coming, we will switch it to hybrid, and it doesn't have any issues. We also immediately noticed a $40-50 reduction in our electric bill per month. I am pretty sure this has paid for itself in the savings!
Date published: 2017-11-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Electricity Saver! We've had the Geospring Hybrid Water Heater for over a year now, and our electric bills are super low. Since water heaters comprise the greatest portion of an all-electric home, we've realized a savings of over $425, 40% of this year over last year's electric usage. Am thrilled with the decision to convert to hybrid technology, and haven't run out of hot water.
Date published: 2017-11-09
  • y_2019, m_7, d_15, h_20
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_1286
  • loc_en_US, sid_GEH50DFEJSR, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_ge_appliances
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 41ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
GeoSpring™ hybrid electric water heater - GEH50DFEJSR

Product Support & Service

Schedule Service

Our online tools are here 24 hours a day to help you arrange the service you need.

Contact Us

We’re happy to help answer your questions.