GE® ENERGY STAR® 27.7 Cu. Ft. French-Door Refrigerator

GFE28HSHSS
GFE28HSHSS is rated 4.0 out of 5 by 478.
  • y_2019, m_6, d_25, h_24
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_478
  • loc_en_US, sid_GFE28HSHSS, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_ge_appliances
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 44ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

This model is no longer being manufactured

Rebates & Promotions
Rebates
Approx. Product Dimensions (WxHxD) (in.)

35 3/4 in x 69 7/8 in x 36 1/4 in

About this Product

  • Dual icemaker

    Dual icemaker

    An icemaker in both compartments gives you more ice whenever you need it

    Play Video

  • Full-width, electronic temperature-controlled drawer with LED lights

    Full-width, electronic temperature-controlled drawer with LED lights

    3 accurate settings deliver the optimal temperature for your favorite foods, while lights indicate the chosen setting

    Play Video

  • TwinChill™ evaporators

    TwinChill™ evaporators

    Separate climates in the fresh food and freezer sections help keep foods fresh

    Play Video

  • Showcase LED lighting

    Showcase LED lighting

    Positioned throughout the interior and under fresh food doors to spotlight foods inside the refrigerator and in the freezer

    Play Video

Features

  • Stainless steel dispenser
    Easily fills large containers like pitchers or ice buckets with filtered water and ice
  • Space-saving icemaker
    Located on the door with integrated bins to create more usable storage space
  • Quick Space shelf
    Functions as a normal full-sized shelf when needed and easily slides down for instant storage flexibility

    Play Video Play Video

  • Turbo Cool and Turbo Freeze settings
    An extra boost of cold air restores interior to set temperature for optimum food freshness
  • Advanced water filtration uses RPWFE replacement filter
    Reduces trace pharmaceuticals from water and ice* (* Removes 98% of ibuprofen, atenolol, fluoxetine, progesterone and trimethoprim. These pharmaceuticals are not necessarily in all users’ water)

    Play Video Play Video

More Features

Claims & Certifications

  • ADA Compliant

    ADA Compliant
    Designed to be accessible and easy to open

  • ENERGY STAR® Qualified

    ENERGY STAR® Qualified

  • Made In America

    Made In America
    70 to 90% U.S. Content
    Product details at
    GEAppliances.com/USA

WiFi Connect*

Connect to WiFi* for real-time feedback, optimized performance, alerts and more.

Works With

*Requires a Connect Plus WiFi module, sold separately.

GE® ENERGY STAR® 27.7 Cu. Ft. French-Door Refrigerator - GFE28HSHSS

Specs & Details

  • FEATURES
  • CAPACITY
  • APPEARANCE
  • WEIGHTS & DIMENSIONS
  • CLAIMS & CERTIFICATIONS
  • WARRANTY
GE® ENERGY STAR® 27.7 Cu. Ft. French-Door Refrigerator- GFE28HSHSS

Ratings and Q&A

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great features! Love this refrigerator! It has so much room and the lighting is awesome.
Date published: 2018-07-22
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Nice features . . . But I bought this fridge about 18 months ago. I’ve had to replace the water filter 3 times and was successful only one time. This will be my 2nd $100+ service call. Not good!
Date published: 2018-06-17
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Absolute Garbage, like all GE products. 3rd GE Fridge in 3 years with a new home build. All fans went out in each. I will never buy another GE product again.
Date published: 2018-06-07
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Avoid like the plague The motherboard had to be replaced in first 6 months. Refrig died while we were not there. It was filled with food & it simply decayed for 2 months. We had no idea since were in NY for several months. My daughter had to deal with the cleanup. Jump ahead 4 months.... We’re finally back in the Keys, the inside temp hitting dangerous high. Repairman orders cooling fan. They expect delivery in about 3 MONTHS! The place , HHGregg, where we purchased it is out of business. The customer service said that they would try to find the fan by tomorrow. So far I can’t reach them.
Date published: 2018-03-05
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Great Idea to stop making this Model!!! After 25 years I decided to purchase a new GE French Door refrigerator with Freezer on the bottom. I was so excited to get my new refrigerator despite the negative reviews about the FAN issues in the Refrigerator and the Appliance Department urging me to choose another brand. If I decided to purchase the GE Refrigerator I was highly encouraged to buy the extended warranty. Thank God that I heeded to that warning....I purchase the extended warranty!!! This purchase is a complete night mare. I have had 3 new fans, 4 service calls and NOW NO ICE!!! Every time I call for service through the warranty service it takes a week for me to get service and then when the technician gets here they do not know how to resolve the issues or have to order FANS. So, here I sit with a $3000.00 appliance that does not cool properly, food does not stay fresh, freezer does not keep food frozen and now no ICE!
Date published: 2018-02-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Not sure why people would have negative ratings Purchased our new fridge and had it installed a few weeks ago. Couldn’t be happier. Fridge is good and cold with great storage and options, freezer works great and the duel ice maker and water dispenser is a great feature. Read many reviews about fridge being noisy or ice maker being noisy. Not entirely sure why, ours doesn’t make any more noise than any other fridge. Other negative reviews left me worried and feeling I made a mistake between purchase and delivery. Was worrying for nothing, it’s a great product. Guess some people just have to have something to gripe about.
Date published: 2018-02-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awsome space.. nice features Bought it a few days ago... very nice.. since all my appliances have been GE..bought it becouse it has a lot of space in the freezer and the fridge area.. Very good lighting also
Date published: 2018-02-06
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Noisy I bought 2 yrs ago. $2000+ . Darn thing sounds like a blender when the motor comes on. Well maybe not as loud as an actual blender, but after 2 yrs, really, should it be making this much noise?? Oh, and now it cant keep the temp correct, freezing in the veggie/fruit bin?? Thats just started happening...
Date published: 2018-01-27
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Love it if it worked We bought this refrigerator in July of 2015. Had it serviced in July of 2017 by a ge technician I need service again an am now told they don't service my area any longer. Please help I need a service tech!
Date published: 2018-01-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing I'm so in love with this fridge. I have a family with many different needs when it comes to food and drinks. I have to keep 4 different types of milk in the fridge. I can get everytype and have enough space to to get enough for a week.
Date published: 2018-01-09
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Does not cool down Bought this refrigerator 2 days ago (day before Christmas Eve), and it still hasn't cooled down one bit. Followed all the instructions, but neither the refrigerator or freezer are cooling down at all. Not sure what we're doing wrong. I suppose a service call is in order. We'll see what the service man says, then perhaps edit my review.
Date published: 2017-12-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful appliance. Bought this for new home and it looks fantastic with other appliances.
Date published: 2017-12-21
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Died in less than 1.5 years Very disappointed with the quality and service from GE Appliances. The refrigerator stopped working after less than 1.5 years of my purchase. According to the certified appliances lead technician it has an internal leak issue and is irreparable. I have been having terrible experience with this product that discourages me of buying or recommending any other GE Appliances.
Date published: 2017-12-05
Rated 1 out of 5 by from having issues Bought this close out model from Lowe's the frig panel trying to reset panel frig won't or will not run shuts down
Date published: 2017-11-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from new and works well Lowes Home Improvement store in Morehead City NC has the best employees and service people around. Great service all around
Date published: 2017-11-06
Rated 1 out of 5 by from I really wanted to love this fridge We have had our fridge fixed every few months. Time after time all the food in our fridge is lost because the fridge breaks down. It also leaked water and damaged our kitchen floor. I love the look of this fridge and the dual ice and water. But our fridge repairmen said they are at a loss how to fix it. We are out for countless repair bills and time.
Date published: 2017-10-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from GE Refrigerator with dual ice machines We bought this refrigerator several months ago primarily for the dual ice maker. The best decision we made while purchasing a refrigerator. I/we love the appliance, not only for the dual ice makers, but the overall appliance. Our last refrigerator we had for 19 years and the ice maker would not stop making ice (overfilled daily). Here is hoping this one lasts just as long. And GE appliances are designed, engineered and assembled in the U.S. which means quality workmanship.
Date published: 2017-10-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Frig We enjoy the features of this unit, have had it for over a year and have had no issues. Great features
Date published: 2017-10-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Well build So far, so good. One adjustable shelf does not "seat" itself properly–will have to have that checked out. While I can appreciate quality construction and materials, the upper doors are very heavy (probably because the water reservoir is in the refrigerator door). It requires an extra tug to get the refrigerator doors to open. I'm also finding that the ice maker is dispensing a lot of ice cubes that are attached one to another. Not sure what causes that. Wish GE would put out a better printed manual. The text and illustrations are very tiny and the content is bare-bones. You are forced to go to the website for more indepth information.
Date published: 2017-10-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from works great would have given a 5, but a replacement filter is $50.
Date published: 2017-09-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Spacious So far so good. It is a solid build by GE and very spacious. Two ice makers are a plus with many bins.
Date published: 2017-07-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Happy! Bought this refrigerator about a week ago. Very attractive, easy access while I am cooking, the outside is very easy to take care of with minimum fingerprints. Lighting is amazing. GE has a winner here.
Date published: 2017-06-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Like the features. Bought it a month ago. Really like the water and ice maker inside the freezer. Also the drawers are handy.
Date published: 2017-05-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from excellent product We shopped in "brick and mortar" stores to see and judge the functionality of what felt like 150 refrigerators. The GE brand was the most solid, with sturdy feeling handles, smooth drawer glides, and substantial weight. We purchased this model online and have not been disappointed.
Date published: 2017-04-07
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Barely a year passed and the thing died. Last month our GE microwave died, this month the GE fridge. I assume next month the GE range will go followed by the dishwasher. At this rate, it would have been cheaper to use dry ice and wooden box than the fridge.
Date published: 2017-03-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellant Just bought this a couple of days ago and love it.
Date published: 2017-03-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from love this fridge Big enough for all our needs - organized enough to find it all. Love this new fridge!
Date published: 2017-03-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the features I've always wanted a fridge with French doors. I had the chance and am so glad I did! Love the double ice maker and the freezer being on the bottom.
Date published: 2017-01-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very good quality and features. Love the led light Two ice makers and so much more room than our old side by side. GE did it right on this one, best price on 2016 model.
Date published: 2017-01-22
Rated 3 out of 5 by from nice fridge but have to buy their filters love the refrigerator but the filters come with a chip, so the unit only works with ge filters which cost $55 per. The filter alert on the front panel automatically starts showing at 6 months and cannot be turned off unless you put in a ge filter. so if you purchase this unit you have to spend $100 a year on filters
Date published: 2017-01-14
  • y_2019, m_6, d_25, h_24
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_478
  • loc_en_US, sid_GFE28HSHSS, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_ge_appliances
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 43ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
GE® ENERGY STAR® 27.7 Cu. Ft. French-Door Refrigerator - GFE28HSHSS

Product Support & Service

Schedule Service

Our online tools are here 24 hours a day to help you arrange the service you need.

Contact Us

We’re happy to help answer your questions.