GE® ENERGY STAR® 27.7 Cu. Ft. French-Door Refrigerator

GFE28HSHSS
GFE28HSHSS is rated 4.0 out of 5 by 478.
  • y_2019, m_7, d_16, h_8
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.12
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_478
  • loc_en_US, sid_GFE28HSHSS, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_ge_appliances
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 42ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

This model is no longer being manufactured

Rebates & Promotions
Rebates
Approx. Product Dimensions (WxHxD) (in.)

35 3/4 in x 69 7/8 in x 36 1/4 in

About this Product

  • Dual icemaker

    Dual icemaker

    An icemaker in both compartments gives you more ice whenever you need it

    Play Video

  • Full-width, electronic temperature-controlled drawer with LED lights

    Full-width, electronic temperature-controlled drawer with LED lights

    3 accurate settings deliver the optimal temperature for your favorite foods, while lights indicate the chosen setting

  • TwinChill™ evaporators

    TwinChill™ evaporators

    Separate climates in the fresh food and freezer sections help keep foods fresh

    Play Video

  • Showcase LED lighting

    Showcase LED lighting

    Positioned throughout the interior and under fresh food doors to spotlight foods inside the refrigerator and in the freezer

    Play Video

Features

  • Stainless steel dispenser
    Easily fills large containers like pitchers or ice buckets with filtered water and ice
  • Space-saving icemaker
    Located on the door with integrated bins to create more usable storage space
  • Quick Space shelf
    Functions as a normal full-sized shelf when needed and easily slides down for instant storage flexibility

    Play Video Play Video

  • Turbo Cool and Turbo Freeze settings
    An extra boost of cold air restores interior to set temperature for optimum food freshness
  • Advanced water filtration uses RPWFE replacement filter
    Reduces trace pharmaceuticals from water and ice* (* Removes 98% of ibuprofen, atenolol, fluoxetine, progesterone and trimethoprim. These pharmaceuticals are not necessarily in all users’ water)

    Play Video Play Video

More Features

Claims & Certifications

  • ADA Compliant

    ADA Compliant
    Designed to be accessible and easy to open

  • ENERGY STAR® Qualified

    ENERGY STAR® Qualified

  • Made In America

    Made In America
    70 to 90% U.S. Content
    Product details at
    GEAppliances.com/USA

WiFi Connect*

Connect to WiFi* for real-time feedback, optimized performance, alerts and more.

Works With

*Requires a Connect Plus WiFi module, sold separately.

GE® ENERGY STAR® 27.7 Cu. Ft. French-Door Refrigerator - GFE28HSHSS

Specs & Details

  • FEATURES
  • CAPACITY
  • APPEARANCE
  • WEIGHTS & DIMENSIONS
  • CLAIMS & CERTIFICATIONS
  • WARRANTY
GE® ENERGY STAR® 27.7 Cu. Ft. French-Door Refrigerator- GFE28HSHSS

Ratings and Q&A

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product Love this refrigerator .used for a long time. Have a lot of ge appliance
Date published: 2017-01-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love my barn door fridge! This is our first time with this type of refrigerator and we had a little trepidation about the style since two friends had a problem with condensation on the top of the freezer door with their competitor company that starts with a K, cafe door models. We have had no such problem because the doors seal tight. And we love the double ice maker capability. For most situations the upper one keeps up with demand but it's good to have the lower one ready for those times when you just need some more ice. And the layout of the freezer compartment is very efficient with bulk storage below and lots of space for frozen packaged meals in the pull out drawer. And it's quiet - much more so than our previous, non-GE, side by side which could keep you up at night. We love our GE refrigerator and would recommend it highly.
Date published: 2016-12-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from my new stainless steel fridge. Love the dual ice makers. Love the fact I can set my glass in place to get water. Love the different temperature setting for the drawers. Love the size of the freezer. Make sure you don't leave the store without the stainless steel clean and shine.
Date published: 2016-12-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great features We bought this refrigerator for our new home. Glad we got this size.
Date published: 2016-11-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So roomy and beautiful! We bought our GE refrigerator just a few days ago and so far so good. We love the space so much room as I cook a lot. The light is wonderful as you can scan quickly what you have. Some people complaint about the noise, we do not hear noise except for the ice maker once in awhile you hear the ice drop in the tray. You must measure very accurately by 1/2 inch we could not get the fridge in the house through the front door so we had to remove the side gate and bring it through the back sliding door that goes directly into the kitchen. I have not explored all features yet but I love that it has 2 ice makers. I will come back if anything goes wrong like not working properly. So far it's very cold, lots of room for food and freezer great can't wait to put my turkey in the freezer.
Date published: 2016-11-03
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Expensive to Operate OME filters will add excessive operating costs to the overall price of this refrigerator.
Date published: 2016-10-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My wife loves it. Great product. Great service.made my wife very happy.
Date published: 2016-10-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Refrigerator/Freezer It has a lot of room in the top and freezer very pleased with it.
Date published: 2016-10-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worth every penny. Beautiful & easy to use! Bought this about 6 months ago. Looks great easy to operate and value for the $$$ can't be beat.
Date published: 2016-10-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Design Has great roominess, and filter is easily accessible. All the drawers are conveniently placed and can store a good amount of vegetables, dairy products (cheese) and meats. We love the freezer as well, we used to have a side-by-side but the bottom freezer seems to have so much more room.
Date published: 2016-10-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Really happ with this refrigerator except.. We installed this refrigerator several months ago. We are happy with it except it has a tendency to occasionally build ice / condensate at the bottom of the refrigerator and then run onto the floor.
Date published: 2016-10-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works great. We really like this refrigerator. The only draw back is the smaller amount of storage space in the doors, but we know that's a trade off for having the ice and water in the door.
Date published: 2016-09-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love the 2nd ice maker. Bought this for our new home. Love the features and convenience but have had a service call for ice maker problem.
Date published: 2016-09-25
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Is this the greatest refrig ever? When we made the decision at the store to buy GE rather than another brand, I fully expected that when it arrived at our house, I would love it from day 1. That did not happen actually. I do like the style, many of its features, but there are a few things I would change!
Date published: 2016-09-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great controls, filter for good clean water. great product, and the wife love it, the stainless steel looks very nice , be glad to get all my appliances up graded.
Date published: 2016-09-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Adequate space. Looks great. No issues. I bought earlier this year for my new home. It looks great and is very functional in our new kitchen.
Date published: 2016-09-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love the features We bought this item a few months ago along with some other kitchen appliances. I love it. I think the only thing I don't like is the drip tray for the water/ice dispenser. It doesn't hold the water if it drips, then it runs down the front our ends up on the floor.
Date published: 2016-09-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Excellent product Very nice product..the front control could be easier to read and use...overall I'm very pleased
Date published: 2016-09-22
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Somewhat My husband and I bought this GE Refrigerator/Freezer nearly five months ago and it just stop working.
Date published: 2016-09-16
Rated 3 out of 5 by from This Fridge has great features. This fridge met all our needs. We have used it for 5 months without a problem. Then, Boom. It died. We didn't expect that based on reviews. If the repairs take hold and solve the issue, we will be happy customers.
Date published: 2016-09-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great storage We bought this after we rebuilt from Super Storm Sandy and I love this fridge.
Date published: 2016-09-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love our new GE fridge Love the new fridge! Stylish and functional! Only the complaint is the crushed ice tends to be messy. Other than that very pleased with product!
Date published: 2016-09-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Roomy and great features I love my new Refrigerator. It has lots of room. I like the ice on the door feature to give the full shelves.
Date published: 2016-09-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Ever! Bought this in May 2016 and recently our ice maker stopped despensing ice. Other then that minor issue. Love it!
Date published: 2016-08-23
Rated 1 out of 5 by from it came broken it does not work .. one week to cume look at it maybe not fix it .that day
Date published: 2016-08-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Roomy, bright! I researched refrigerators and this one was my pick. I am so thrilled with the roominess, brightness, and all of the features that it has ! I am extremely satisfied !
Date published: 2016-08-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lots of room Lots of room. Makes lots of ice. Quite. Big bottom freezer.
Date published: 2016-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from We are thrilled with our new refrigerator. Very spacious and quiet. Easy to visualize all items. Best of all my children are drinking more water with the easy to use ice/water dispenser.
Date published: 2016-08-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very nice. Poor water dispenser. Have to keep a paper towel in the tray under the water and ice dispenser to collect the drips from ice and water. We love everything else.
Date published: 2016-08-06
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Needed service 3 times in 4 months Standard stainless fridge, maybe we have a lemon??
Date published: 2016-07-30
  • y_2019, m_7, d_16, h_8
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.12
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_478
  • loc_en_US, sid_GFE28HSHSS, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_ge_appliances
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 40ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
GE® ENERGY STAR® 27.7 Cu. Ft. French-Door Refrigerator - GFE28HSHSS

Product Support & Service

Schedule Service

Our online tools are here 24 hours a day to help you arrange the service you need.

Contact Us

We’re happy to help answer your questions.