GE® 4.5 cu. ft. Capacity Front Load ENERGY STAR® Washer with Steam

GFW450SSMWW
GFW450SSMWW is rated 4.5 out of 5 by 1664.
  • y_2019, m_8, d_20, h_13
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.13
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_1664
  • loc_en_US, sid_GFW450SSMWW, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_ge_appliances
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 45ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
Rebates & Promotions
Rebates
Available Colors
Approx. Product Dimensions (WxHxD) (in.)

27 in x 39 3/4 in x 33 1/2 in

About this Product

  • Time Saver

    Time Saver

    When you need to get a full load of clothes clean in only 37 minutes

    Play Video

  • Quick Wash

    Quick Wash

    Provides a quick wash for lightly soiled items that are needed in a hurry

  • Stain Removal Guide

    Stain Removal Guide

    Clean the most common stains with preprogrammed settings that modify any cycle to help remove stains like blood, tomato, wine, dirt, grass or coffee

    Play Video

  • ENERGY STAR® qualified

    ENERGY STAR® qualified

    Meets or exceeds federal guidelines for energy efficiency for year-round energy and money savings

Features

  • Internal water heater
    Increases wash temperature to reduce bacteria and provide better cleaning for the really tough stains
  • Steam
    Penetrates deep into fabric fibers, loosening stains like tomato and grass, yet protecting your fabrics
  • Tumble Care
    Freshly tumbles your garments periodically for up to 8 hours when unable to move clothing to the dryer right away
  • 1300 RPM spin speed
    Fast spin speeds remove water efficiently and minimize dry time
  • Sanitize cycle
    Feel comfort knowing clothes are sanitized and 99.9% of bacteria has been removed thanks to an internal water heater that boosts the water temperature

More Features

Claims & Certifications

  • ADA Compliant

    ADA Compliant
    Designed to be accessible and easy to open

  • ENERGY STAR® Qualified

    ENERGY STAR® Qualified

GE® 4.5 cu. ft. Capacity Front Load ENERGY STAR® Washer with Steam - GFW450SSMWW

Specs & Details

  • FEATURES
  • CAPACITY
  • APPEARANCE
  • ECONOMICAL / QUIET
  • WEIGHTS & DIMENSIONS
  • POWER / RATINGS
  • CLAIMS & CERTIFICATIONS
  • ACCESSORIES
  • WARRANTY
GE® 4.5 cu. ft. Capacity Front Load ENERGY STAR® Washer with Steam- GFW450SSMWW

Ratings and Q&A

Rated 1 out of 5 by from DUD I thought I was getting a great washer. I was excited about the features. I’m not sure if it’s common but I only had the washing machine for 2 months when the motor went out and had to be replaced. Now I’m having to wait over two weeks for that part to be back in stock, which must mean it’s a common occurrence. Overall I’m frustrated and regret my decision for buying a GE washing machine.
Date published: 2019-08-16
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Drawer that holds liquids leaks water Works well. Just leaked water around the door that holds liquid soap etc.
Date published: 2019-08-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent features, cleans great. quiet. Machine does a great job of cleaning our clothes. We like the steam and extra rinse cycles to get our clothes very clean and to rinse away any remaining detergent residue.
Date published: 2019-08-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super great performance! Very happy with the performance of this washer. My clothes have never come out cleaner!!!!
Date published: 2019-08-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from GREAT WASHER Well pleased with machine so far. We wash clothes about every day.
Date published: 2019-08-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great features, easy to use very versatile The different cycles available to us really do a nice job of cleaning our clothes. I find the steam feature very cool and effective. I like the quick wash.
Date published: 2019-08-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My Favorite! I am a mother of 6 and laundry has always been a drag for me. That is until I got this beauty. I am able to get laundry done so fast, that I am waiting around in laundry just so I can use my machine again! I would highly recommend to anyone, especially large families.
Date published: 2019-08-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from All the features I need and quiet too Has all the features I need to wash things the way I want. Great value.
Date published: 2019-08-13
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Vibration Control? Just got this fabulous highly technically advanced product. Too bad it vibrates, a lot. I guess Vibration Control means the vibrations are controlled to the point where the machine just vibrates. Loaded the washer with the described load of sheets allowed and I am telling you now I thought the machine was going to come apart. HMS Home Warranty, my home warranty company, told me to call GE. I called GE and GE will not do anything for me telling me this is an installation issue. The unit was installed by a delivery guy who delivers for HMS, my home warranty company. Additionally I have read reviews of this product which states how quiet the machine is. I can guarantee you it is not quiet when it vibrates. Too bad there is no help available from anyone to correct this problem. Hey, maybe I could put a saddle on it and charge admission and find out if anyone can stay on the GE washing machine for the 8 seconds.
Date published: 2019-08-13
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Awful time getting this washer to actually WORK!! I just bought this washing machine (and the matching dryer; dryer works fine, for the record) and had it professionally installed. I was utterly disappointed and frustrated beyond belief that the washer wouldn't work even once after the install. The washer will turn on, but when I try to start any cycle (whites, towels, quick wash, normal, delicate, etc. etc.), I hear two quick bursts of water followed by loud humming and vibration, then the door unlocks and the washer pauses. Literally over, and over, and over....very much like a recent review I just read here as well. I've gone through literally everything in the troubleshooting - checking water pressure, hoses, the water pump, amount of detergent, and load balance. Nothing seems to be wrong with the setup, but for whatever reason, the washer does not operate.
Date published: 2019-08-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome features I love all the special features on my GE washing machine it's very quiet it doesn't vibrate when spinning and does a thorough job cleaning
Date published: 2019-08-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easy to read dial. Wrings out water very well, lot less drying time. Easy to read dial.
Date published: 2019-08-12
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Don't buy this washer - I'd prefer to rate it 0 We were given a hard sell on this washer including the pedestals. While we were waiting fo our brand new dryer to be replaced (which was also a bad product), we used the washer. It vibrated so much that it moved well across the floor, so much so that my husband had to hold it in place for 10=15 minutes of each wash cycle to avoid a problem with the movement. And I mean he had to use all his weight to hold it. It was very noisy. We had the installer come back out to make sure there was not an installation problem. The owner of the company came out and was there for 1 hr 40 minutes trying everything he could to adjust it. He took videos of the extreme shaking, and could not believe what was going on. We were so upset with this machine that we returned it and bought a different model. One theory is that the pedestals were way too flimsy to support the washer but we don't know. We are just glad we got rid of it.
Date published: 2019-08-12
Rated 3 out of 5 by from First modern washer It's great but I'm not sure if the loudness is normal.
Date published: 2019-08-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love my washer and dryer I purchased these washer and dryer from Lowe’s they were new models that just arrived.
Date published: 2019-08-12
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Horrible experience Bought this washer in April 2019, have had to have it serviced twice already for the same issue , within 3 weeks ! Horrible time getting through to customer service and had to wait 7 days for an available tech . Also have a GE dishwasher which is a lemon. I will NOT be buying GE again.
Date published: 2019-08-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super Quiet Washes great has many features We like it I would like to recommend this to anyone
Date published: 2019-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Outstanding Features! Amazing, amazing and AMAZING! Outstanding Products and features!
Date published: 2019-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Life Saver I only purchased this washer recently. I have used it at least ten times in three days and love it. I wish I had purchased it sooner. The price point at my local mom and pop store was fantastic!
Date published: 2019-08-08
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Make to much noise Don’t buy this it’s make my house Vibrate whole house vibrate
Date published: 2019-08-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Ease of Use and Peace of Mind Easy to use and never have to worry about items coming out less than clean. Remember the USS Liberty!
Date published: 2019-08-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Good Appliance Have only used the product for 2 months, so far have excellent service. After using a washer that we have had for 20 years it took us a minute to figure out how to use this modern and up to date washer. We like it.
Date published: 2019-08-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Waaaaay too Loud Seems like it washes just fine, but it's way too loud.
Date published: 2019-08-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Spins Dry Well This is our first front loader. I prefer the more "traditional" type, but this one seem to catch the eye of my wife. So far we have not been disappointed. It washes well, is fairly quiet, and spins the laundry out well for the dryer. With 7 kids and working a mini farm we will see if it stands the tests of time.
Date published: 2019-08-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from nice size for a small space. Love the washer. It is the proper size for my summer home and does a good job on all the towels we put into it.
Date published: 2019-08-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from sleek Gets the job done. Nice size, can fit bulky items with ease
Date published: 2019-08-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Set My older model Samsung washer doesn't hold up to this product. It's more quiet, and gets my clothes way more clean, even on the quick wash setting. With my old washer sometimes I would have to wash my clothes twice. I hope to have this set for a very long time.
Date published: 2019-08-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the steam feature Cleans great runs quite Love the added feature for cleaning blood,wine,grass
Date published: 2019-08-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome So quiet. And clothes are clean as expected! Very user friendly...
Date published: 2019-08-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great value, features, look Bought this washer / dyer pair from Costco and was attracted by its price, features and look. The washer and dyer are quiet and perform as expected.
Date published: 2019-08-06
  • y_2019, m_8, d_20, h_13
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.13
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_1664
  • loc_en_US, sid_GFW450SSMWW, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_ge_appliances
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 41ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
GE® 4.5 cu. ft. Capacity Front Load ENERGY STAR® Washer with Steam - GFW450SSMWW

Product Support & Service

Schedule Service

Our online tools are here 24 hours a day to help you arrange the service you need.

Contact Us

We’re happy to help answer your questions.