GE® ENERGY STAR® 28.5 Cu. Ft. French-Door Refrigerator

GNE29GSHSS
GNE29GSHSS is rated 4.2 out of 5 by 155.
  • y_2019, m_6, d_25, h_24
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_155
  • loc_en_US, sid_GNE29GSHSS, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_ge_appliances
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 58ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

This model is no longer being manufactured

Rebates & Promotions
Rebates
Approx. Product Dimensions (WxHxD) (in.)

35 3/4 in x 69 7/8 in x 36 1/4 in

About this Product

  • TwinChill™ evaporators

    TwinChill™ evaporators

    Separate climates in the fresh food and freezer sections help keep foods fresh

    Play Video

  • Showcase LED lighting

    Showcase LED lighting

    Positioned throughout the interior and under fresh food doors to spotlight foods inside the refrigerator and in the freezer

    Play Video

  • Advanced water filtration uses RPWFE replacement filter

    Advanced water filtration uses RPWFE replacement filter

    Reduces trace pharmaceuticals from water and ice* (* Removes 98% of ibuprofen, atenolol, fluoxetine, progesterone and trimethoprim. These pharmaceuticals are not necessarily in all users’ water)

    Play Video

Features

  • Factory-installed icemaker with water filtration system
    Refrigerator comes ready to automatically create filtered ice
  • Adjustable spillproof glass shelves
    Hold up to 12 oz. of spilled liquids for easy cleanup and adjust to provide additional food-storage options

More Features

Claims & Certifications

  • ENERGY STAR® Qualified

    ENERGY STAR® Qualified

  • Made In America

    Made In America
    70 to 90% U.S. Content
    Product details at
    GEAppliances.com/USA

WiFi Connect*

Connect to WiFi* for real-time feedback, optimized performance, alerts and more.

Works With

*Requires a Connect Plus WiFi module, sold separately.

GE® ENERGY STAR® 28.5 Cu. Ft. French-Door Refrigerator - GNE29GSHSS

Specs & Details

  • FEATURES
  • CAPACITY
  • APPEARANCE
  • WEIGHTS & DIMENSIONS
  • CLAIMS & CERTIFICATIONS
  • WARRANTY
GE® ENERGY STAR® 28.5 Cu. Ft. French-Door Refrigerator- GNE29GSHSS

Ratings and Q&A

Rated 2 out of 5 by from Take a closer look The shelves in this refrigerator do not have a lot of adjustment room. There is no way to get a gallon of milk on a shelf without removing an entire shelf. The vegetable and fruit bins can not be opened unless both refrigerator doors are opened. Same difficulty with the meat tray. The refrigerator ran very quietly and infrequently for two and a half months. Now the refrigerator is running more frequently and sounds like there is a small remote control model airplane running inside. This refrigerator was shipped without a seal on the left hand door and consequently struggled to maintain the recommended temperature until a seal was installed.
Date published: 2016-11-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just what we wanted We wanted a reliable refrigerator with the freezer on the bottom, good storage arrangement, an ice maker, but not on the door, in stainless steel and with a water filter: got all that!
Date published: 2016-10-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Functional Design Bought this 6 months ago and really like the design. Easy to get at things, easy to clean, and the bottom freezer is a great size.
Date published: 2016-10-26
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not happy We bought this refrigerator (w/o ice maker/water) for our office break room and have been using it for 18 months. We recently noticed our fridge items weren't very cold and the temp gauge was showing a high number. Repairman yesterday said the evap fan, defrost thermostat, and main control need replacing. In less than two years??!!?? How can this be? Very unsatisfied GE customers = there are 30 people in this office. Do we have any recourse?
Date published: 2016-10-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great refig love the space but need a spot for butter ! I miss having a little compartment just for small things.
Date published: 2016-10-04
Rated 3 out of 5 by from The ice maker The refrigerator is great except for the ice maker. Every time the water valve opens to fill ice maker it buzzes which is very noisy and annoying. Do not know if there is away to silence it?
Date published: 2016-09-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great interior layout and lighting! We purchased this refrigerator 3 months ago and are very happy with it. The interior layout is perfect with everything easily accessible. I love the French doors on the exterior and the freezer on the bottom. It is awesome! We have had no troubles with anything so far.
Date published: 2016-07-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Capacity Very happy with the performance of the fridge and love the little 'alarm' when the door has been open for awhile; keeps the kids inline !
Date published: 2016-07-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Like it a lot Bought this when we remodeled our kitchen. It looks very nice.
Date published: 2016-07-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Second GE Fridge in 30 years I bought this fridge last month. It was my 30 year anniversary gift. Our fridge we had bought (also a GE) had just given up the ghost and I had been wanting a French door refrigerator for a few years. I LOVE it! It's so roomy. The icemaker (something which gave up the ghost several years ago on our old fridge) is wonderful, fairly quiet, and the ice is FILTERED, which is great considering how our water tastes every summer! The freezer lights up, the food is always fresh, very important for someone who cooks from scratch for a family of 4-6 on a daily basis, and I can always find what I'm looking for. I did worry once when I first heard it make a high pitched whine, but it turns out that is normal when it has been opened in a warm area and is having to cool off. Thanks, GE! Love this. It is so worth the money!
Date published: 2016-07-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fabulous It's so hard to find refrigerators without an external water dispenser. This one is great. It's energy efficient, user friendly, and space efficient.
Date published: 2016-06-28
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not thrilled This is our second one, the first broke down after only 9 months. Thankfully it was still under warranty. This one is now 7 months old and we are seeing some of the same signs we noticed in the first one. Liquids freezing in the refrigerator and items in the freezer not always frozen. I'd be careful if purchasing this model.
Date published: 2016-06-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from very pleased! Overall we love this refrigerator. It runs quiet, is very large, bright, and easy to adjust the side shelves. The freezer is easy to reach both shelves. Our only complaint is our inability to adjust the temperature of both the refrigerator and the freezer. They are set at the factory and you can not change them. We haven't had any issues with our food being too warm, but the predetermined temperature is 37 degrees in the refrigerator. We like to keep our food at 34-35, which I believe is recommended.
Date published: 2016-05-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great look, great organization Very happy with our new fridge! Read about it running a bit loud. Only noticed that the first time I heard it cycle on, after that I don't even notice anymore.
Date published: 2016-04-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Lots of Space! Can See Everything! Very nice. I like the thermometer in the door. Lots of space and you can see all of your food to find it quickly. Rather noisy or it would have gotten a 5.
Date published: 2016-04-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So much Space This is the best fridge I have ever purchased! The bottom freezer is Big and holds a lot but the fridge is awesome! I wanted the meat drawer along with both crisper s. The doors are deep so hold a ton of jars and gallons.
Date published: 2016-04-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice refrigerator, but noisy This is a nice refrigerator with a good shelf layout that provides lots of storage. The drawers and pullout shelves operate smoothly. The exterior is attractive. My only complaint is that it is noisy when it is running, noisier than any other refrigerator I have owned. Had I known how noisy it was, I would have selected another refrigerator.
Date published: 2016-04-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it I am tall and can see everything so easily. Like the open door chime,energy saver. Don't need ice and water in door, less things to break.Looks good clean lines. Hope it last a very long time.
Date published: 2016-04-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great looking. Easy to program. Spacious, lots of room. Great lighting, easy to find what you're looking for.
Date published: 2016-04-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very Loud Refrigerator The refrigerator operates with nearly double the sound of the running dishwasher. This is incredible. The service tech indicated that this is normal for GE refrigerators. Why would GE tout the quietness of their dishwasher and then provide a refrigerator, which runs 10 times as often, with twice the noise?
Date published: 2016-04-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect Refrigerator Freezer Very functional, spacious, attractive and great features
Date published: 2016-04-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great features Love my new refrigerator. Do miss having a butter keeper but all in all the product works great for our family.
Date published: 2016-04-05
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Embarrissingly Noisy. We bought this fridge new in November 2015. About a month ago the motor started getting really loud like it was cycling on and off, REALLY LOUD. It has been embarrassing when friends and family come to visit, and they comment on how annoying the sound is. Our previous fridge was a different brand and gave us twelve years of quiet, problem free service before we left it behind for the new owners of the house. Now we are in our new home with this brand new noisy GE (censored) thing. We have a GE tech coming out this week to fix it, so I am hoping the problem will be remedied once and for all.
Date published: 2016-03-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So far, so good! The only thing is that we did not have an option of NOT getting the auto-ice maker, which we are not using. Other than that, we love it.
Date published: 2016-03-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Happy so far happy so far plenty of extra space frig and also freezer
Date published: 2016-03-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Looking Frig Can't beat the storage size, quality, looks, and features for the price!
Date published: 2016-03-18
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Seriously disappointed. This new refrigerator was delivered to us 7 weeks ago by a reputable GE retailer. The icemaker has not worked properly since day one. Some days we get ZERO ice and some days we get 60 cubes. The retailer has replaced several parts and still we have a dud. I want this refrigerator OUT of my house. If you bought a new car and it was not drivable on the first day you took it home, would you want to keep it? What has happened to GE? Weary of this....
Date published: 2016-03-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Beautiful refrigerator I have only had the refrigerator a few days. It is beautiful. It is big and it stays cold. I like the way the refrigerator lights allow me to see everything in both the top and the freezer bottom.
Date published: 2016-02-29
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Noisy!!!! I will NEVER purchase another GE product based on this experience. This product is a piece of junk. I constatnly hear water running, ice dropping, and the motor running. It has been serviced twice and the repair person basically told me that I got what I paid for!
Date published: 2016-02-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the design I was hesitant to purchase a bottom freezer. But I love the french doors and this appliance is very roomy. I actually do not use the ice maker so this gives even more storage space. So happy with my purchase and I explored lots of options before deciding on a GE product.
Date published: 2016-02-11
  • y_2019, m_6, d_25, h_24
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_155
  • loc_en_US, sid_GNE29GSHSS, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_ge_appliances
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 58ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
GE® ENERGY STAR® 28.5 Cu. Ft. French-Door Refrigerator - GNE29GSHSS

Product Support & Service

Schedule Service

Our online tools are here 24 hours a day to help you arrange the service you need.

Contact Us

We’re happy to help answer your questions.