GE® 23.2 Cu. Ft. Side-By-Side Refrigerator

GSS23HMHES
GSS23HMHES is rated 4.4 out of 5 by 392.
  • y_2019, m_8, d_23, h_10
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.13
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_392
  • loc_en_US, sid_GSS23HMHES, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_ge_appliances
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 60ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

This model is no longer being manufactured

Rebates & Promotions
Rebates
Available Colors
Approx. Product Dimensions (WxHxD) (in.)

32 3/4 in x 69 1/2 in x 35 1/4 in

About this Product

  • Fresh food multi-level drawers

    Fresh food multi-level drawers

    Provide the ideal environment for storing your fruits and vegetables

  • Arctica icemaker

    Arctica icemaker

    A special access door puts ice within reach

  • Advanced water filtration uses MWF replacement filter

    Advanced water filtration uses MWF replacement filter

    Reduces trace pharmaceuticals from water and ice* (* Removes 98% of ibuprofen, atenolol, fluoxetine, progesterone and trimethoprim. These pharmaceuticals are not necessarily in all users’ water)

    Play Video

Features

  • 32-3/4" wide
  • Integrated shelf support system
    Provides strong, flexible support
  • Adjustable slide-out, spillproof glass shelves
    Raised edges help contain spills and make clean up quick and easy
  • Adjustable large door bins
    Offers ideal space for storing large containers in the door for more valuable shelf space

More Features

GE® 23.2 Cu. Ft. Side-By-Side Refrigerator - GSS23HMHES

Specs & Details

  • FEATURES
  • CAPACITY
  • APPEARANCE
  • ECONOMICAL / QUIET
  • WEIGHTS & DIMENSIONS
  • POWER / RATINGS
  • CLAIMS & CERTIFICATIONS
  • WARRANTY
GE® 23.2 Cu. Ft. Side-By-Side Refrigerator- GSS23HMHES

Ratings and Q&A

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very sleek and nice features! I received this back in August after my other GE refrigerator stopped cooling after 15 years.
Date published: 2018-09-10
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Broken on arrival!!! Dead on arrival, the refrigerator never got cold (was set to the recommended temperature -freezer 0/ refrigerator 37), actually was getting warmer inside after the 24hs recommended by Manual Instructions (freezer 76/refrigerator 82), everything else works!!! We had to call GE and get a service scheduled and we had no refrigerator for the next 3 days.
Date published: 2018-09-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It has great features We bought our refrigerator 4 months ago. Our 24 yr old GE refrigerator had finally give out. This one has a lot more features on it. It’s quiet running, and I love having the water filter. Also the door alarm, a great feature.
Date published: 2018-08-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just what I was looking for! I wanted the side by side and I needed this exact size with the water and ice in the door. I looked at others but the freezer side was to small. This capacity works well for what I need and the ice maker and the water dispenser work well too. You do have to get use the the way the ice comes out. At times it stops and then comes out quick and you should use a large mouth glass or cup and hold it up high so the ice doesn't go all over and onto the floor. The inside door shelves and the drawers are a nice fit. Have had this GE for about 6 months now and once you get use to it it's 5 stars.
Date published: 2018-08-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love my frig! Plenty of room for me, as a single household. I bought the compact model and I’m so pleased. I chose the slate color and liked it so much I replaced my oven, microwave and dishwasher in the same color. Makes a striking kitchen!
Date published: 2018-08-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good refrigerator. I bought this two months ago to replace a 24 year old side by side. It is performing well. I like the door alarm feature and the interior setup is good. Two suggestions for GE - in freezer instead of a semi freezer basket on the bottom use a real basket so items do not tumble out and the dome light in the refrigerator section is too big and takes up headroom. A lower profile on the light would be better.
Date published: 2018-08-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great deal I’m very happy that I did buy this one. I was looking for a few months and always picked this one.
Date published: 2018-08-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great new addition Our old frig ice maker was on the fritz and was freezing the ice cubes together and anything in the frig near the ice maker temperature changes had no effect. Now we have a great ice maker and plenty of room for our groceries.
Date published: 2018-08-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great frig! Bough this frig for the size but I love everything about it.
Date published: 2018-08-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very Satisfied We have a small space for a fridge, and we wanted a side-by-side, so the options were limited. This GE model fit the bill and appeared to be well-designed. I especially liked the way the doors work to help insure that they're closed. The one drawback is that the light fixture inside is so big that it takes up a lot of space on the top shelf. It's been running well and quietly. I would definitely recommend it to others.
Date published: 2018-08-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome looking Very happy with the appearance but have not really utilized it's components and space yet.
Date published: 2018-06-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the doors I being cooking more delightful now, and it’s very, very white I just love it
Date published: 2018-06-15
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Disappointed I have only had the refrigerator for a couple of days. Don’t know if it was the delivery people’s fault or manufacturers mistake but it was difficult to set up. Shelves were not set up for the lay person. I finally had to get a carpenter out to help me fit it in the alcove and he kindly helped me figure out parts. Before we figured it all out and saw that the shelves were labeled with letters, I incorrectly put one of the shelves in the wrong spot and when opened the things on the shelf fell on the floor and broke! I lost a new bottle of Braggs Organic Apple Cider Vinegar and a jar of Cleveland Kraut totaling about $15.00. Then we discovered that the freezer shelving was incorrectly packed by the factory—got two Bs instead of 2As!, Very disappointed!
Date published: 2018-05-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Chill fridge I like it so much, i keep my food, drinks,& snacks inside. From the outside i fill my glass with ice and water that passes through a filter inside
Date published: 2018-05-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesom! Just delivered and installed 4 hours ago and already correct temperature and lots of ice. Small footprint, too.
Date published: 2018-04-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from good price looked for a good replacement for and older model refrigerator that would fit in the space i already had and could not expand this space without a great deal of work, and this new refrigerator fit the bill, works great and a very pleased so far with it.
Date published: 2018-04-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Exactly what I wanted and needed. Looks sharp. Selected this model for 1) advanced water filtration system; 2) filter at eye level not floor level; 3) narrow width constraint; 4) external water/ice dispenser; 5) quiet as it lives in open floor plan K/DR/LR. 5) if I end up needing wheelchair or walker again, side X side is most easily accessible for freezer, fridge and water. Also wanted 4 shelves in freezer (glass slide-out a bonus). LED lighting huge improvement over incandescent. And somehow it fits more fresh flood than prior, 17-year old non-GE fridge. Fridge door shelves hold much more than prior SxS. Water dispenser light great for not having to turn on kitchen light in middle of night to get cold water. Actual/Set temperatures for fridge/freezer on outside of door helpful, if you're interested in checking up on it. CON: shelves in freezer door hold very little. Dimensions are too shallow to hold a 4" diameter can of coffee or quart of ice cream.
Date published: 2018-04-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Space Grey Fridge Really nice fridge and it fit in our limited space.
Date published: 2018-04-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love th material! I bought this a month ago and I love it! It matches my other products!
Date published: 2018-04-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Does its job I purchased this refrig 5 mos ago and overall performance is very good. At times the motor/compressor are a little noisy, but not overly so and I have gotten use to it. Initially the dripping water sound of condenser defrosting was very concerning but the owners manual explained that was normal. The ice machine I would rate average based on speed of dispensing ice and noise level. Overall this refrig keeps food cold and/or frozen as it should.
Date published: 2018-04-04
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Freezer has Poor design The Ice maker is not very good quality. Takes forever to get a cube of ice. The space in the freezer is very small and will not allow you to store a frozen turkey much over 8 Lbs. Overall not a bad fridge, just don't like the freezer. Our modular home came with this fridge, so we didn't have the flexibility to change to another model.
Date published: 2018-04-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Features and Appearance I just purchased this Refrigerator / Freezer and am very satisfied with it so far. Hope it will give years of good service.
Date published: 2018-03-31
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I like it. We shopped quite a bit before we decided to purchase this one.
Date published: 2018-03-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from it fits perfectly Today most appliances do not fit in older homes but this one is a gem-looks great-fits great and is a really great addition to my new kitchen!!
Date published: 2018-03-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My Side by Side Fridge All features of this unit are so convenient and have So much space. It is Quiet and just beautiful sitting in its place.
Date published: 2018-03-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Beautiful refrigerator! This refrigerator has great curb appeal, however, we are finding that on the coldest setting it does not really keep the food/drinks as cold as we want. Freezer also does the same thing and it is set on coldest setting possible.
Date published: 2018-02-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love my GE appliances My husband and I have moved a lot and have done a couple of kitchen renovations. We have purchased many GE appliances and have had good performance from all of them. This 33” wide refrigerator is no exception. We’re living in a condo that will not accommodate the 36” model, so we purchased this one to replace a smaller, top freezer model that was here when we bought the unit. This refrigerator serves our needs very well. There is plenty of shelf space on the fridge side and ample drawer space. Lighting is very good. I wish the freezer were a little larger, but such are the compromises of condo life. There is certainly more freezer space than the top freezer model that was here when we moved in. I have owned the 36” version (both GE &GE Profile) and I am just as pleased with this smaller model.
Date published: 2018-02-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from GE Never Fails Us Long time GE Appliance Owners, the quality of the products have not failed us.
Date published: 2018-02-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So happy! I am very satisfied with my new refrigerator. The door water and ice dispenser are so handy and easy to operate. The freezer side is perfect.
Date published: 2018-02-10
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Too noisy I would have given higher rating except for all the different noises it makes. Sometimes I even pause the TV thinking I heard someone breaking in.
Date published: 2018-01-29
  • y_2019, m_8, d_23, h_10
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.13
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_392
  • loc_en_US, sid_GSS23HMHES, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_ge_appliances
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 56ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
GE® 23.2 Cu. Ft. Side-By-Side Refrigerator - GSS23HMHES

Product Support & Service

Schedule Service

Our online tools are here 24 hours a day to help you arrange the service you need.

Contact Us

We’re happy to help answer your questions.