GE® 7.2 cu. ft. Capacity aluminized alloy drum Gas Dryer

GTD42GASJWW
GTD42GASJWW is rated 4.2 out of 5 by 720.
  • y_2019, m_8, d_20, h_13
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.13
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_720
  • loc_en_US, sid_GTD42GASJWW, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_ge_appliances
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 42ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
Rebates & Promotions
Rebates
Approx. Product Dimensions (WxHxD) (in.)

27 in x 44 in x 29 1/2 in

About this Product

  • Up to 120 ft. venting capability

    Up to 120 ft. venting capability

    Provides flexible installation

Features

  • Auto Dry
    For clothes that come out feeling and looking great, this setting monitors air temperature to set the optimal drying time
  • Aluminized alloy drum
    Improves energy efficiency and resists corrosion
  • Wrinkle Care extended tumble
    Reduces wrinkling and creasing
  • End-of-cycle signal
    Alerts you when the load is done, so clothes can be removed before wrinkles set in
  • 4 heat selections
    Provide the right temperatures for your clothes-drying needs

More Features

GE® 7.2 cu. ft. Capacity aluminized alloy drum Gas Dryer - GTD42GASJWW

Specs & Details

  • FEATURES
  • CAPACITY
  • APPEARANCE
  • WEIGHTS & DIMENSIONS
  • POWER / RATINGS
  • CLAIMS & CERTIFICATIONS
  • ACCESSORIES
  • WARRANTY
GE® 7.2 cu. ft. Capacity aluminized alloy drum Gas Dryer- GTD42GASJWW

Ratings and Q&A

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Dryer!! I am so thrilled with my GE dryer. The extra large drum allows for larger loads for our large family. This is a great product. I highly recommend this dryer.
Date published: 2019-08-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Better than expected. Very pleased. Good features and options for drying different loads.
Date published: 2019-08-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great features So far so good, except the light burned out already...otherwise satisfied.
Date published: 2019-08-05
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Takes too long to dry a normal load. Takes too long to dry a normal load. Dryer does not get very warm even at its highest temperature setting.
Date published: 2019-08-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great features Great features and easy to use. Reasonable price for large capacity dryer.
Date published: 2019-08-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Simple Design Just wanted a simple dryer and it seems to be good. It still has way to many options. I like the light inside.
Date published: 2019-08-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from good dryer but could be better dryer works well on all cycles. my only complaint is the quality of the outer metal. i had to kneel on the dryer and end up putting 2 dents in the top. pretty disappointed but otherwise it works great
Date published: 2019-07-30
Rated 1 out of 5 by from simple and basic no great features this Is not my dream dryer the features are basics and the main issue I don't like is that this dryer works on gas that's a no for me this was the dryer come with my new house I will have never purchased this type of dryer
Date published: 2019-07-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great features Very good looking and easy to use. Also very quiet.
Date published: 2019-07-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good features It is a good product. I enjoy the easy way it operates and the general function.
Date published: 2019-07-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Simple to operate Great mate to the washer. Clothes dry in a reasonable amount of time. Simple choices for different loads of laundry. I didn't think it would make a difference but the paddles inside the dryer have a slight point to them. I have found my sheets don't wind up in one big bundle like in my old one. I used to have to pull the king size flat sheet out of the bunched up fitted sheet and put it back in the dryer because it was still damp but don't have that problem now. I think the aluminum drum gets warmer than my porcelain coated old one did and that helps dry the clothes faster. I had hoped to get this dryer with a door that drops down instead of opening to the side but that wasn't an option (are you listening GE???). Even without that I still really like this dryer.
Date published: 2019-07-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great features We are very pleased with how well product work and quiet
Date published: 2019-07-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works Perfectly Works as promised. Fast, efficient. Less wrinkles, easy to program!
Date published: 2019-07-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from large size The last ones lasted a long time 14&18 years,that was the selling point
Date published: 2019-07-23
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Easy to program See below comments, do not like its performance in drying
Date published: 2019-07-23
Rated 3 out of 5 by from So-so I just got this dryer and at times I got to run the dryer a second time to get the clothes dry completely.
Date published: 2019-07-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from nice drying selections I bought the dryer to go with the new washing machine. (We know that when one goes - the other will follow shortly.) The first two days it a good workout. I was very pleased with the efficiency of the drying cycles and the ability to set a cycle based on specifics instead of generalities. I will probably purchase again for my daughter up north.
Date published: 2019-07-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from No complaints Have had product for 3 months and I have no complaints.
Date published: 2019-07-19
Rated 1 out of 5 by from not a great beginning Received new washer and dryer yesterday. Used this morning for first time, washer is great, dryer runs but makes loud clicking noise you can hear on the entire first floor. Called customer service, serviceman scheduled later next week. Hope to improve overall rating after serviceman diagnosis and fixes the problem.
Date published: 2019-07-19
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Gas smell at end of drying cycle At the end of a drying cycle when removing clothes there is a gas odor. After loading the dryer we have to slam the door closed.
Date published: 2019-07-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to use. Very quiet. Very efficient in drying This dryer is very well designed, has many features for drying and treating many different types of material and garments. It is very easy to use, clean and is very quiet while running.
Date published: 2019-07-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Simple no fuss dryer Love that there are not a ton of feature to break. Just dry my clothes thoroughly!
Date published: 2019-07-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works great and delivered timely matter I think the size 7.2 cu in is exactly what we needed for a house of six
Date published: 2019-07-15
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Beware There are a lot of features on this machine, but you can’t use them if there is very little water. Sales people had told me this is one of the few machines that has an adjustable water level. Not really. An average household load will not be washed well enough. In fact, you may only be able to wash an 1/8-1/4 of your usual load due to the water level being too low. Deep wash only add maximum a quart more water. The agitator is ineffective to bring the top clothes down into the lower levels of water. Thus at the end of the “wash” the clothes you put on the top have not moved and still dry. Supposedly in California, there is a water conservation measure so all machines have a limit of water it uses. It is utterly useless to buy/use a machine that has a larger cubic foot. If there is not enough water, you can’t wash your clothes effectively. We had to wash our load 2-3 times. Older matches are better, so if you can keep your old machine and repair as you go to keep it alive, I highly recommend it. New machines are all alike whether it’s agitator, impeller or front loader they don’t wash like your older machines.
Date published: 2019-07-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just what I was looking for! Love that it is just a basic dryer. I had a fancy washer and dryer before but never had any use for the features.
Date published: 2019-07-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great dryer My new GE Dryer has been wonderful. Many different drying options. The dryer's off signal alerts you three times before its cycle completion! And that alert has volume control!
Date published: 2019-07-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Dry clothes very efficiently Wanted washer with agitator & purchase matching dryer, both products clean & dry clothes in thoroughly.
Date published: 2019-07-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very Quiet and love the quality of the drum!! Absolutely love all the options and settings...the wash tub is large and amazing how much it holds. My clothes turn out so clean. Very Happy!!
Date published: 2019-07-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quiet and it performs they way you'd expect it to. It works the way it's supposed to and I like the many drying options.
Date published: 2019-07-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from When in doubt, go solid oldie! On reccomendation from our long time Home Depot sales guy, we avoided the fancy, high tech models and stayed basic. There are extra settings to allow more precise drying, but all in all simple and easy to understand and use. Stay with the oldies and goodies!
Date published: 2019-07-07
  • y_2019, m_8, d_20, h_13
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.13
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_720
  • loc_en_US, sid_GTD42GASJWW, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_ge_appliances
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 40ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
GE® 7.2 cu. ft. Capacity aluminized alloy drum Gas Dryer - GTD42GASJWW

Product Support & Service

Schedule Service

Our online tools are here 24 hours a day to help you arrange the service you need.

Contact Us

We’re happy to help answer your questions.