GE® 40,000 Grain Water Softener

GXSH40V
GXSH40V is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 882.
  • y_2019, m_9, d_21, h_7
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.13
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_882
  • loc_en_US, sid_GXSH40V, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_ge_appliances
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 53ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
$599 MSRP

Available at

The Home Depot
Rebates & Promotions
Rebates
Approx. Product Dimensions (WxHxD) (in.)

14 7/16 in x 47 5/8 in x 22 7/16 in

About this Product

Features

  • Easy to use up-front electronic controls with status light indicator
  • 40,200 grain capacity

    Play Video Play Video

  • Efficiency (5100 gpg)
  • Maximum hardness removal (125 gpg)
  • Maximum iron removal (8 ppm)

More Features

GE® 40,000 Grain Water Softener - GXSH40V

Specs & Details

  • FEATURES
  • CAPACITY
  • APPEARANCE
  • WEIGHTS & DIMENSIONS
  • POWER / RATINGS
  • CLAIMS & CERTIFICATIONS
  • ACCESSORIES
  • WARRANTY
GE® 40,000 Grain Water Softener- GXSH40V

Ratings and Q&A

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to replace It was super easy to replace my old one. Just followed the detailed instructions, that were pretty well written.
Date published: 2019-09-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from EASY! The system is easy. Just put salt in it. Put the number that you see inside the water softener on the computer screen. Done. Tells you how many days you have left before you need more salt. Takes the guess work away. Love it.
Date published: 2019-09-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect! I've had it for 2 months already and it works perfectly. The water is coming out softer, the pressure is the same, you feel the immediate change in your skin and your hair. Totally satisfied. No need to spend $2,000 to $3,000 in water softeners from other brands. Also, very easy to install, but if it gives you trouble, you can find a very detailed DIY non-official video in youtube that shows how to install and set it up.
Date published: 2019-09-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 12 years of great service After 12 years of good service, my GE 40,000 grain water softener finally broke. At that age, I was not interested in fixing it, even though stories on the Internet said it was possible. Instead, I replaced it with the exact same model with very little work. I have been happy with the water softener that’s why I replaced it with the same GE model.
Date published: 2019-09-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from GXSH40V Water Softener I bought this water softener to replace a unit that we had owned for a number of years. The GE product is a huge improvement over what we previously owned. It is better quality, more compact, easier to use, and much more efficient.
Date published: 2019-09-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A life saver! This softener replaced a previous GE model. The looks and ease of use have been improved. Having a water softener in my house has really changed my life as cleaning showers etc. is at least 90% easier and faster.
Date published: 2019-09-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good quality This softener is of an excellent quality and was easy to install
Date published: 2019-09-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy Install and Great Features It’s easy to install if you know a little about plumbing. Works Fantastic, thought my old one worked good, this one is better.
Date published: 2019-09-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy Installation We only use Ge appliances, had long life on all of them.
Date published: 2019-09-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awsome product I did so much research on what type of water softner I should get. Most softner range between $900 to $1500. I decided to go with GE because the price and it was a one unit. It took about one week for the water softner to go through my pipes but now I have soft water and I can feel the difference. Can't believe I went without soft water for a year! Installation was simple, I installed it my self
Date published: 2019-09-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice compact softener system... I gave it a rating of 4 instead of 5 because the installation instructions are not intuitive and the not clear. I also want to reserve judgement to see if this system works for a while before having issues. So far, so good.
Date published: 2019-08-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect Very happy with the product. i will recommend this product to my friends.
Date published: 2019-08-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good values Easy of installation.................................................
Date published: 2019-08-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Appearance, Only had it a short time. Very eye appealing in garage. Installer had good things to say about the reputation of GE products.
Date published: 2019-08-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to Install My home already had a three valve water softener loop and so it was quite easy to install this water softener on my own. For the first day or two after installation I didn’t notice much of a difference but now it is unmistakably soft.
Date published: 2019-08-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Speaking Softly The softner is all that I expected. It looks great and is doing an excellent job.
Date published: 2019-08-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy Installation Product has performed well. Easy installation. Super easy to program. So far, so good!!
Date published: 2019-08-17
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Malfunction in less than two months We had the water softener operating for a little over a month and there was an electrical malfunction. Called GE for service and contracted company took weeks to repair/get parts. Still not sure the problem is remedied.
Date published: 2019-08-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from SO FAR SO GOOD Just installed not too long ago. Seems to be aptapting to my house and making my water soft.
Date published: 2019-08-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy Install! I just installed this myself and it was super easy. Took not even 2 hours and I had to run to the store to get the connections for my house. I added the salt, ran the regen cycle and my wife is soooo happy i wish i would have installed it a long time ago.
Date published: 2019-08-12
Rated 1 out of 5 by from SUCKS! I've had this system installed for about 5 days now and still DO NOT HAVE SOFT WATER!
Date published: 2019-08-12
Rated 2 out of 5 by from GXSH40V Water Softener This is the second one purchased since 6/26/2019. First one lasted until 7/28/2019 when it displayed error code ERR1. Took until 8/6/2019 for service tech. could come out. He said main board was bad and would have to order new one. It is on back order until 9/3/2019. I took unit back to Home Depot and traded it in for another on 8/11/2019. Not sure if it will last but if it doesn't will not buy another one.
Date published: 2019-08-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works great Easy to install and very user-friendly and the price was very good
Date published: 2019-08-08
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Only OK so far Product was fairly eazy to install....after first 4 day period for regeneration the unit is regenerating every day. Calling GE service in the morning.
Date published: 2019-08-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works great Easy set up instructions to follow. Only been a couple of days but so far everything is going good
Date published: 2019-08-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Performance and Easy Installation Only been using for 3 weeks but so fair very pleased with performance on very hard water from deep well. Easy to install and program for desired softness. Good coverage period for GE warranty and very reasonable price from Home Depot to extend warranty for 3 years after end of GE warranty period.
Date published: 2019-07-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just installed but time will tell. This is the second water softener I have installed in my home. Last one blew all the resin beads through out my entire house. Was not a happy camper. So at this point time will tell with this one, install was easy.couple of days I'm sure I will feel it in my water again.
Date published: 2019-07-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to install Great Product and very easy to install, Connected and works like a champ
Date published: 2019-07-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Installed one month - so far, so good Self-installation was very straight-forward, no issues. After one month in a household with 2 people, it has not yet regenerated on it's own and shows 20 days until next regen, so it seems to use salt very efficiently. Hoping not to get a salt-bridge down the road due to the location of the softener tank inside the brine tank, but we'll see. This is an inherent issue with all softeners of this design so I am only putting in 2-3 bags of salt at a time to limit the potential of a salt bridge.
Date published: 2019-07-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great for my use Very good product . Like all the features and this product is perfect for our use.
Date published: 2019-07-11
  • y_2019, m_9, d_21, h_7
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.13
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_882
  • loc_en_US, sid_GXSH40V, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_ge_appliances
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 45ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
GE® 40,000 Grain Water Softener - GXSH40V

Product Support & Service

Schedule Service

Our online tools are here 24 hours a day to help you arrange the service you need.

Contact Us

We’re happy to help answer your questions.