GE® 40,000 Grain Water Softener

GXSH40V
GXSH40V is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 832.
  • y_2019, m_6, d_26, h_1
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_832
  • loc_en_US, sid_GXSH40V, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_ge_appliances
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 56ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
$599 MSRP

Available at

The Home Depot
Rebates & Promotions
Rebates
Approx. Product Dimensions (WxHxD) (in.)

14 7/16 in x 47 5/8 in x 22 7/16 in

About this Product

Features

  • Easy to use up-front electronic controls with status light indicator
  • 40,200 grain capacity

    Play Video Play Video

  • Efficiency (5100 gpg)
  • Maximum hardness removal (125 gpg)
  • Maximum iron removal (8 ppm)

More Features

GE® 40,000 Grain Water Softener - GXSH40V

Specs & Details

  • FEATURES
  • CAPACITY
  • APPEARANCE
  • WEIGHTS & DIMENSIONS
  • POWER / RATINGS
  • CLAIMS & CERTIFICATIONS
  • ACCESSORIES
  • WARRANTY
GE® 40,000 Grain Water Softener- GXSH40V

Ratings and Q&A

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it Easy to install myself. The water hardness in my house has dropped from very hard to almost nothing. The only mistake I made was with the Bypass valve. There is a big tag on it that says to leave it at the factory settings. I took this to mean don't do anything to it. So nothing worked at first. Then I realized that you have to pull the handle out to put it in 'service' mode and then everything instantly worked great.
Date published: 2019-06-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very nice Our only water softener ever but it has really helped with spots on dishes
Date published: 2019-06-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great! I bought GE water softener first time as it was designed with featured fuctions. I tried to install it my self, so easy to do it as expected. Hope it would be helpful.
Date published: 2019-06-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice feature. Easy to install and used. All the basic information label nicely.
Date published: 2019-06-09
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good not great Installation was simple. User interface is simple. Had to charge 3 times to "wake up" the softener, and had to place the hardness setting to 35 (much higher than reality) to soften the water adequately. Works good, but not as good as other brands I have used in the past.
Date published: 2019-06-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy Installation, Great Features Product works perfectly. Very durable and rugged, and installation was a breeze. We replaced a previous box water softener and the installation was "plug and play."
Date published: 2019-06-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Simple install and operate Got it home the next day installed it (3.5 hours, simple install).
Date published: 2019-06-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quality Works great water much softer and I love that it is adjustable.
Date published: 2019-06-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Better design So far it has been working great. Better design from what I had before.
Date published: 2019-05-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great features and price Good product doesn’t take up much space and price is ok just haven’t had it too long to see if it is helping with my water problem
Date published: 2019-05-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Installation was fairly simple, no issues Installation took about 2 hours, unit is working as it should. Really enjoying the soft water.
Date published: 2019-05-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to Use This water softener is everything that is advertised. Easy to use. Doesn't go through an excessive amount of salt.
Date published: 2019-05-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Sturdy and Reliable This is my third Water Softener. In the early '80's I replaced a different brand softener with GE. I liked it right away. I found it more economical on salt. When I moved to a different place, it did not have a softener. I was spoiled by GE water softener I had that I could not stand the water without a softener. I had one installed. Now I am in my third place. First I did was to have a GE 4000 Water Softener installed. I found GE 4000 efficient, quiet, reliable and effective. I looked at other brands, spoke with other water softener vendors, I found myself back with GE. While the system is very sophisticated, the programming was made very simple. In using a water softener, I found that I have to make occasional adjustments on the level of the water hardness. Unlike the previous softener I had, I did not have to pull out the manual every time I need to make adjustments. This is a big plus for me.
Date published: 2019-05-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Glassware sparkles! I was so relieved when I ran my dishwasher( a day after the GE water softener was installed) to see how spotless my dishes and glasses were! The unit runs so quietly too. I added the recommended iron reducer to the brine tank and the amount of rust color in the bathtub was markedly less. We have a well and very hard water. I could not be more pleased.
Date published: 2019-05-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent!!! Great softener. Uses very little salt and we had very hard water. Perfect!
Date published: 2019-05-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great features Purchased this unit because of the features and ease of use.
Date published: 2019-05-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from EASY INSTALLATION TOOK ABOUT AN HOUR TO SWAP OUT OLD WATER SOFTENER. WE SHALL SEE HOW IT WORKS.
Date published: 2019-05-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great features. Slim design and well made. The automatic functioning of "maintenance duties" are great. Unit performs as advertised.
Date published: 2019-05-17
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Average for the price Not a bad product for the price, good entry level water softener
Date published: 2019-05-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Features Has only been operational for 3 weeks so far. Seems to work great. Love the spot free water in our glass enclosed showers.
Date published: 2019-05-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Spouse is happy Reasonably priced, easy to install, working well. My spouse noticed the greatly improved difference in water quality, so I am happy.
Date published: 2019-05-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Satisfied It was easy to install and I like the automatic features. Works great
Date published: 2019-05-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works Great! Extremely easy to setup and program, I think it was harder to get it out of the box than it was to get it installed! Just one word of caution, make sure you do not put the drain line under water... if you do the unit will slowly fill to overflow because it won't drain like it is supposed to. Happy with this purchase.
Date published: 2019-05-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to Install I love that its relatively compact, and was able to install this by myself (and a dolly to get it to the basement). If I didnt have to run all new plumbing for this the install would have been done in an hour or less. The directions were simple and straight foward.
Date published: 2019-05-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good features, plumber installed Good features and plumber installed because this home had never had a water softener installed. Had to separate a few hose-bibs from the house. Unit works as advertised and is very noisy during regeneration operations. Has not been installed but one month. So Far so good.
Date published: 2019-05-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Value Price was reasonable, easy to install and simple to operate. Backed by GE's reputation of quality merchandise.
Date published: 2019-05-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy install, water feels wonderful Wonderful product , we have very hard well water and this product softened our water dramatically. My daughter has very sensitive skin and it has even helped calm her eczema. Very happy!
Date published: 2019-04-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it Cant believe how much change it is from hard water to soft with this great product
Date published: 2019-04-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Water Softener Great water softener, Looks great and very easy to program, installation was very easy also. Love this unit!
Date published: 2019-04-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to install and operate Installation went very easy and controls were easy to understand and use. Manual was excellent. Notice a huge difference in the water. Hardest thing was loading the salt.
Date published: 2019-04-26
  • y_2019, m_6, d_26, h_1
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_832
  • loc_en_US, sid_GXSH40V, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_ge_appliances
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 42ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
GE® 40,000 Grain Water Softener - GXSH40V

Product Support & Service

Schedule Service

Our online tools are here 24 hours a day to help you arrange the service you need.

Contact Us

We’re happy to help answer your questions.