GE® Smart 40,000 Grain Water Softener

GXSHC40N
GXSHC40N is rated 4.6 out of 5 by 47.
  • y_2020, m_2, d_19, h_17
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.5
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_47
  • loc_en_US, sid_GXSHC40N, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_ge_appliances
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 54ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
Rebates & Promotions
Rebates
Approx. Product Dimensions (WxHxD) (in.)

14 7/16 in x 47 5/8 in x 22 7/16 in

About this Product

  • Water flow alerts

    Water flow alerts

    Receive alerts to your smart phone when there's a potential leak or running faucet. Requires WiFi signal at filter location

  • Remote shutoff

    Remote shutoff

    Shut off your water from anywhere using your smart device. Requires a WiFi signal at filter location

    Play Video

  • Select your softness

    Select your softness

    Customize your water softness with the custom select valve to enjoy cleaner-feeling skin

    Play Video

  • Salt Saver

    Salt Saver

    Spend less time maintaining your system and more time enjoying it, with Salt Saver, which reduces salt consumption

    Play Video

Features

  • Low salt reminder
    Receive a notification when salt levels are low. Requires WiFi signal at softener location
  • Consumption tracking
    Monitor water usage and flow rate. Requires WiFi signal at softener location
  • Pipe compatibility
    No flames or soldering required for 3/4" quick connect fittings. 1" pipe requires additional fittings
  • Fewer water spots
    Use up to 50% less dishwasher detergent and enjoy cleaner dishes with fewer spots
  • Appliances protection
    Reduces scale and build up in water heaters, prolonging life and maintaining efficiency

More Features

GE® Smart 40,000 Grain Water Softener - GXSHC40N

Specs & Details

  • FEATURES
  • CAPACITY
  • APPEARANCE
  • WEIGHTS & DIMENSIONS
  • POWER / RATINGS
  • CLAIMS & CERTIFICATIONS
  • ACCESSORIES
  • WARRANTY
GE® Smart 40,000 Grain Water Softener- GXSHC40N

Ratings and Q&A

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it. It works as it’s suppose to. No problems I loved the easy installation. it runs very quiet when it is rinsing. Read out display is easy to read and understand.
Date published: 2020-01-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works well Works as expected. Why is 33 charactere too short.... ?
Date published: 2020-01-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent softener and full of features Love it. Smart water softener. Works great. I love the WiFi part of it
Date published: 2020-01-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Water Softener We couldn't be more pleased with this water softener. Noticeably softer water than the one we replaced it with. Nice features, and very efficient. I highly recommend this water softener.
Date published: 2020-01-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Wifi Feature GREAT WATER SOFTNER. THE WIFI OPTIONAL IS AMAZING. INSTALLATION WAS EASY. ONLY COMPLAINT IS THE VALVE ARE PLASTIC AND MY OLD SOFTER WAS SOLDER ONTO THE SOFTNER. LOVE THAT IT IS A ONE PIECE SYSTEM. ALSO WOULD LOVE TO SEE GE BECOME COMPATIBLE WITH SMASUNG SMARTHINGS
Date published: 2020-01-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great features!! Fantastic water Softner Great product Amazing customer service
Date published: 2020-01-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Like the wifi features Working perfectly, we installed it ourselves, easy enough to understand. Wifi link-up a bit difficult but expert tech was a phone call away; wifi now up & running.
Date published: 2020-01-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works great! As advertised. The WiFi features are super convenient and installation was easy!
Date published: 2020-01-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from water softener So much better and efficient that the one we had and we do not have it turned up to high. Its quiet and my sinks, toilets and washed clothes are free of rust. Great product.
Date published: 2019-12-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product Had some serious hard water and this machine has saved our washer and us from this problem
Date published: 2019-12-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great look. Love the look in the compact design. Had no problems hooking it up love it
Date published: 2019-12-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great features I like being able to turn off water remotely if needed
Date published: 2019-12-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Water Softener Installed it myself and it was a snap. Especially like the remote functions and monitoring capabilities.
Date published: 2019-12-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Product!! Needs Better Quality Control I love this new water softener, it was easy to install and provides great soft water to the entire household. Only reason not giving it a 5 star is due to a manufacturing quality issue on the back side of the tub. At the seam, it cracked and started leaking brine, which I read is a common issue on the Reviews. So GE, please take note and fix your quality issue. Overall, this is the smallest overall unit I could find and it fits in a very small garage side area. Also, the Wifi App is great, providing water usage stats, days till refill salt and excellent water shutoff capability. Only issue, couldn't setup unit with iPhone 6s, required iPhone 7 to work.
Date published: 2019-11-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works Like a Charm Easy to install, works great, and even looks great! Thank you very much!
Date published: 2019-11-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Better Water Use Data, More Control Water softener functions are pretty normal and unit seems solidly built. Best feature by far is the water flow rate, total water consumption, and remote valve on/off available through the app. Gives me better understanding of how we use water in the house and greater control in the event of a leak! First unit we bought had broken plastic rim, which we tried to resolve with service, but ended up easier to just return the unit for a new one.
Date published: 2019-11-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Value Nice Footprint Only been a few months but couldn't be more pleased. Small footprint, great features, and easy install for a rookie plumber. Instructions clear and easy to understand.
Date published: 2019-11-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works fantastic!!! This was my first experience with the water softener. It was super easy to install. I didn't get a water test or anything done so I decided to just try it on whatever the factory settings are. Lucky for me that seemed to be exactly what I needed. My water is now perfectly soft. No salt smell or taste or anything. Initially the water softener told me that I would need to change the salt in 160 days. But true to form as you'll read in the manual after a couple weeks once the system learns your water consumption habits that number will change. I've had it installed for close to a month and now my water softener is telling me I have 373 days left before I need to add salt. Fantastic product. Super happy with my purchase. Love the Wi-Fi connectability.
Date published: 2019-11-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice product, easy to install and set up This is my 3rd water softener. By far the eeasiest one to install and with the coolest features. PRetty standard in it's basics but the addition of thewhole house shutoff and monitoring is very cool.
Date published: 2019-11-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works Like a Charm! This is my 3rd GE water softener in as many homes. They are reliable and low maintenance. The softener arrived without a brine well cover; I called customer service, and the part arrived in 2 days. The Smart Softener can be monitored and controlled with my iPhone, and it includes an electric shut off valve.
Date published: 2019-10-19
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Lacking in Smart features The water softener seems to work well. Installation was straight forward, except that the smart valve included did not come with the proper sealing rings. I had to undo/redo the connections 6-7 times before I figured out I needed a sealing ring. The smart features are cool, you can shut the water off the whole house remotely and you can see near real-time water flow. Also shows history of daily usage. But you cannot set up any kinds of triggers for alerts on high usage or lengthy periods of continuous flow. Seems like a big miss on the software / app side to not have such functionality given that the hardware is capable of it. Would be very useful to detect leaks or inefficient use of water inside the house that way. Maybe integration with smart life app or ifttt or alexa or smthg similar would also be a great benefit and might enable some of the monitoring features. Right now I have to open the app and manually monitor usage every day or whenever I remember to do so.
Date published: 2019-10-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Compact single unit I like the product compactness and the price/value ratio. But for my use I’d like an easier way to winterize /remove water from the tank.
Date published: 2019-10-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Smart indeed Most important thing is getting rid of hard water which is great and huge difference. My shower curtains would turn brown within a week and would smell. That's gone. Other benefits reducing hard water are stated on the features section. I really wanted a softener that will tell me via my iPhone that it's time to add salt. I don't want a chore to look and see if it's empty every now and then. It does much more. It will let you know if you have a low, medium of high leak. I don't think it will detect a tiny leak. You can set a leak detection duration for each level. It will let you know the leak is detection with notification. Your kids could be taking a 30 minute shower and it'll alert you! Love the chart of water usage per day. After telling my kids to quit taking long showers, the chart shows you how much you actually dropped per day. It's sort of an eye opener. If there is a real leak and your not home, you can remotely turn off water. Now I need to figure out how to turn off water heater remotely so it doesn't burn out. The drinking water from my reverse osmosis has dropped from 50 to 40 ppi so the water is even cleaner. Should be lower once I change the filters. I don't know if the product is very new and setting up the softener to Wifi was challenging. I couldn't find the app and the instructions were very poor (none really). I had to call GE and they helped me get on the right track. I had no idea you could use the HVAC app to connect to water heater. They said they will let the developers know to update instructions. I'm pleased.
Date published: 2019-10-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from love the connectivity I really like the salt tracking so I'll never forget to add salt. Also the shut-off valve is a great feature when traveling.
Date published: 2019-10-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great water softener! Great app to monitor levels. Great water softener! The only model I found that offers an app to monitor water usage and salt level. The price is nice, the water softener will pay for itself in a 1.5 years.
Date published: 2019-10-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Absolutely love this water softener system. Prior to this I had another brand, but for the entire time I had it, it often stopped working. I paid twice to have someone come out and fix it... always more than $100. What I like about this one is that is takes a smaller footprint. Instead of having two separate containers, both units are combined in one housing. It’s easy to set up, works great, and you can get alerts on your phone. I would recommend this in an instant. Saved a lot of $$$ with this unit, and I can’t think of one thing negative to say about this unit.
Date published: 2019-10-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent water softener. Good looking, easy to install and easy to operate. Cellphone app adds convenience in checking the status of the water softener wherever you’re online.
Date published: 2019-09-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Old GE Water Softener gave out after 14 of service My old GE Water Softener gave out after 14 years of service, so I stuck with GE. This time it has WiFi status and controls. These are awesome features that give you piece of mind. I love the leak detection and alerts it provides, plus the ability to shut off the water supply from anywhere with your phone. This will definitely reduce the amount of water damage if you didn’t have this feature. The only thing I would change is the alert display on the app. Don’t cover the flow rate with the alert icon. I think you should be able to see what the flow rate is when the alert is active. Maybe this can be changed with the next app software update. Otherwise this is an awesome product and it works as advertised.
Date published: 2019-09-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Seems to be doing the job Bought this because we have hard water and it means no more squeeging the large shower to keep water spotting away. Like the WiFi info feedback too.
Date published: 2019-09-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Expected performance As far as I can discern it is doing a good job. The extra money for a "smart" unit is a waste. athe only benefit is you can find out how many gallons you used for the day on your cell phone.
Date published: 2019-09-25
  • y_2020, m_2, d_19, h_17
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.5
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_47
  • loc_en_US, sid_GXSHC40N, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_ge_appliances
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 53ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
GE® Smart 40,000 Grain Water Softener - GXSHC40N

Product Support & Service

Schedule Service

Our online tools are here 24 hours a day to help you arrange the service you need.

Contact Us

We’re happy to help answer your questions.