GE® Smart 40,000 Grain Water Softener

GXSHC40N
GXSHC40N is rated 4.5 out of 5 by 61.
  • y_2020, m_4, d_4, h_18
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.5
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_61
  • loc_en_US, sid_GXSHC40N, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_ge_appliances
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 43ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
Rebates & Promotions
Rebates
Approx. Product Dimensions (WxHxD) (in.)

14 7/16 in x 47 5/8 in x 22 7/16 in

About this Product

  • Water flow alerts

    Water flow alerts

    Receive alerts to your smart phone when there's a potential leak or running faucet. Requires WiFi signal at filter location

  • Remote shutoff

    Remote shutoff

    Shut off your water from anywhere using your smart device. Requires a WiFi signal at filter location

    Play Video

  • Select your softness

    Select your softness

    Customize your water softness with the custom select valve to enjoy cleaner-feeling skin

    Play Video

  • Salt Saver

    Salt Saver

    Spend less time maintaining your system and more time enjoying it, with Salt Saver, which reduces salt consumption

    Play Video

Features

  • Low salt reminder
    Receive a notification when salt levels are low. Requires WiFi signal at softener location
  • Consumption tracking
    Monitor water usage and flow rate. Requires WiFi signal at softener location
  • Pipe compatibility
    No flames or soldering required for 3/4" quick connect fittings. 1" pipe requires additional fittings
  • Fewer water spots
    Use up to 50% less dishwasher detergent and enjoy cleaner dishes with fewer spots
  • Appliances protection
    Reduces scale and build up in water heaters, prolonging life and maintaining efficiency

More Features

GE® Smart 40,000 Grain Water Softener - GXSHC40N

Specs & Details

  • FEATURES
  • CAPACITY
  • APPEARANCE
  • WEIGHTS & DIMENSIONS
  • POWER / RATINGS
  • CLAIMS & CERTIFICATIONS
  • ACCESSORIES
  • WARRANTY
GE® Smart 40,000 Grain Water Softener- GXSHC40N

Ratings and Q&A

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Installation went quick, no issues. I wish I had installed a water softener years ago. The reduction of water staining and scale build up is so worth it.
Date published: 2020-03-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from BEST WATER SOFTNER Excellent water softner. This is my 3rd water softner by GE in 12 years. Daily water use bar chart on mobile device or online very helpful. salt level indicator takes away manual look in tank when salt needs to be added. Very happy with this product improvement by GE-the best in the world.
Date published: 2020-03-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy install It was an easy install as the piping matched my previous softener. Water is now soft and wifi features work great!
Date published: 2020-03-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great softner with many features. I like the wifi The product was easy to install and tech support was very good
Date published: 2020-03-09
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Resin got into my pipes! immediately after installation and first regeneration, water pressure was very low and no water in some fixtures, called a plumber the next day and come to find out all the resin the tank got into all my pipes! Took several days to flush resin out of water heater, and all the sinks, showers and toilet fill valves.
Date published: 2020-03-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Device! The WiFi enable device saved us when it notified me at 1am there was a low problem and it end up being a leaking toilet. Just a few hours of this issue used 625 gallons of water and a lot of it was on the floor. It took me a bit to find it since this was our basement bathroom and I am a new home owner. But without the alert we would’ve had to pay a lot in damages.
Date published: 2020-03-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works great so far The Culligan water softener that came in our house died and a new one was going to cost $2500 I researched this water softener and ultimately bought it and I’m glad I did I have only had it for about a month. It was very simple to set up it took me about an hour and the Wi-Fi features are great I love being able to see how many gallons of water I’m using a day
Date published: 2020-02-25
Rated 1 out of 5 by from A cracked tank was installed I have no idea how to rate the water softener. A cracked tank was installed. Water and salt seen on my garage floor 2 days after installation. A new tank is being installed this afternoon. Perhaps then I can rate the effectiveness of the water softener.
Date published: 2020-02-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice all in one unit Nice small all in one unit, well thought out connections. Could use some “you may need these parts to connect to your water pipes” write up
Date published: 2020-02-23
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Was expecting more. This GE water softener replaces theI Kenmore Elite that I had. Base on the description I bought the GE to replace it but it comes up short of what the Kenmore did. It was very simple to set up.
Date published: 2020-02-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great so far Installed this a little of a month ago. Works great so far. Only thing I’d change is the plastic valving on the back. But it all went together easily. Ended up having to change a well tank and decided to install a softener while I was in the same area. The Wi-Fi function is nice. Wish they would modify the app some to make it more user friendly.
Date published: 2020-02-09
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Great softener so far. Great softener so far. Paid $200 extra for wifi that doesn't connect. Tech support tried to help but only messed up our network. Stay away from the eifi model.
Date published: 2020-02-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Does the job well Love the connectivity to help manage salt usage, especially when installed out of the way of regular viewing
Date published: 2020-02-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Bought a GE again! Had a GE softener that made it 15 years without an issue. Naturally, I’m going to stay with what works.
Date published: 2020-01-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it. It works as it’s suppose to. No problems I loved the easy installation. it runs very quiet when it is rinsing. Read out display is easy to read and understand.
Date published: 2020-01-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works well Works as expected. Why is 33 charactere too short.... ?
Date published: 2020-01-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent softener and full of features Love it. Smart water softener. Works great. I love the WiFi part of it
Date published: 2020-01-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Water Softener We couldn't be more pleased with this water softener. Noticeably softer water than the one we replaced it with. Nice features, and very efficient. I highly recommend this water softener.
Date published: 2020-01-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Wifi Feature GREAT WATER SOFTNER. THE WIFI OPTIONAL IS AMAZING. INSTALLATION WAS EASY. ONLY COMPLAINT IS THE VALVE ARE PLASTIC AND MY OLD SOFTER WAS SOLDER ONTO THE SOFTNER. LOVE THAT IT IS A ONE PIECE SYSTEM. ALSO WOULD LOVE TO SEE GE BECOME COMPATIBLE WITH SMASUNG SMARTHINGS
Date published: 2020-01-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great features!! Fantastic water Softner Great product Amazing customer service
Date published: 2020-01-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Like the wifi features Working perfectly, we installed it ourselves, easy enough to understand. Wifi link-up a bit difficult but expert tech was a phone call away; wifi now up & running.
Date published: 2020-01-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works great! As advertised. The WiFi features are super convenient and installation was easy!
Date published: 2020-01-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from water softener So much better and efficient that the one we had and we do not have it turned up to high. Its quiet and my sinks, toilets and washed clothes are free of rust. Great product.
Date published: 2019-12-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product Had some serious hard water and this machine has saved our washer and us from this problem
Date published: 2019-12-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great look. Love the look in the compact design. Had no problems hooking it up love it
Date published: 2019-12-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great features I like being able to turn off water remotely if needed
Date published: 2019-12-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Water Softener Installed it myself and it was a snap. Especially like the remote functions and monitoring capabilities.
Date published: 2019-12-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Product!! Needs Better Quality Control I love this new water softener, it was easy to install and provides great soft water to the entire household. Only reason not giving it a 5 star is due to a manufacturing quality issue on the back side of the tub. At the seam, it cracked and started leaking brine, which I read is a common issue on the Reviews. So GE, please take note and fix your quality issue. Overall, this is the smallest overall unit I could find and it fits in a very small garage side area. Also, the Wifi App is great, providing water usage stats, days till refill salt and excellent water shutoff capability. Only issue, couldn't setup unit with iPhone 6s, required iPhone 7 to work.
Date published: 2019-11-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works Like a Charm Easy to install, works great, and even looks great! Thank you very much!
Date published: 2019-11-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Better Water Use Data, More Control Water softener functions are pretty normal and unit seems solidly built. Best feature by far is the water flow rate, total water consumption, and remote valve on/off available through the app. Gives me better understanding of how we use water in the house and greater control in the event of a leak! First unit we bought had broken plastic rim, which we tried to resolve with service, but ended up easier to just return the unit for a new one.
Date published: 2019-11-17
  • y_2020, m_4, d_4, h_18
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.5
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_61
  • loc_en_US, sid_GXSHC40N, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_ge_appliances
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 42ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
GE® Smart 40,000 Grain Water Softener - GXSHC40N

Product Support & Service

Schedule Service

Our online tools are here 24 hours a day to help you arrange the service you need.

Contact Us

We’re happy to help answer your questions.