GE Profile™ Series 30" Built-In Gas Cooktop

JGP940SEKSS
JGP940SEKSS is rated 4.3 out of 5 by 103.
  • y_2019, m_6, d_15, h_1
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_103
  • loc_en_US, sid_JGP940SEKSS, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_ge_appliances
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 51ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

This model is no longer being manufactured

Rebates & Promotions
Rebates
Approx. Product Dimensions (WxHxD) (in.)

29 3/4 in x 3 3/16 in x 21 7/16 in

Cutout Dimensions (WxD) (in.)

28-1/2 x 19-5/8

About this Product

  • Fit Guarantee

    Fit Guarantee

    Replacing a similar cooktop from GE Appliances or another brand? GE cooktops are guaranteed for an exact fit or GE Appliances will pay up to $100 toward modifications. See offer criteria and details

    Play Video

Features

  • Gas on glass cooktop
    Sleek and easy to clean
  • Sealed cooktop burners
    Keep spillover contained on cooktop, making cleaning quick and easy
  • 15,000 BTU Power Boil burner
    Produces fast, intense heat
  • Precise Simmer burner
    Delivers a low setting of 140 degrees
  • Continuous grates
    Allow for easy movement of pans between burners

More Features

Claims & Certifications

  • ADA Compliant

    ADA Compliant
    Designed to be accessible and easy to open

GE Profile™ Series 30" Built-In Gas Cooktop - JGP940SEKSS

Specs & Details

  • FEATURES
  • APPEARANCE
  • WEIGHTS & DIMENSIONS
  • POWER / RATINGS
  • CLAIMS & CERTIFICATIONS
  • ACCESSORIES
  • WARRANTY
GE Profile™ Series 30" Built-In Gas Cooktop- JGP940SEKSS

Ratings and Q&A

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great looking cooktop Everything you would expect with a pro-GE series product. Excellent
Date published: 2018-03-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from GREAT NEW STOVETOP GREAT STOVETOP- LOVE COOKING ON IT. ESPECIALLY LOVE THE "LOCK" SETTING WHEN CLEANING.
Date published: 2017-09-11
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Strange Large burnner the front right burner has 6-8 less than full flame outlets. It appears to be intentional, but don't get it as I suppose it would produce uneven cooking.
Date published: 2017-08-11
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Beware of the rough cast iron grates The cast iron grates are extremely rough. The control panel is to sensitive. Turns on the oven if you barely bump it.
Date published: 2017-06-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works great! Love the lock feature Bought glass top burner over a month ago absolutely love it!
Date published: 2017-05-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cleans easily I have this for a year now and heats up quickly and cooks evenly
Date published: 2017-05-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Stays Cleaner It is very sleek, easy to use. I like the child lock feature.
Date published: 2017-05-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from excellent performance we are very happy with the quality and performance of our new GE stove. great looks.
Date published: 2017-03-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great look, great performance I bought this stove top and have been using it since November. It is so easy to clean with soap and water and I love that it is completely enclosed and no food can fall beneath the burners. Plus, it really looks great!
Date published: 2017-03-07
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Fair features Bought this with new house and disappointed with burner lids.
Date published: 2016-12-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from gas cooktop Love the glass-easy to clean. the grates are substantial - well made!
Date published: 2016-12-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product It performs as I expect a GE product to. I have owned GE products for more than 30 years.
Date published: 2016-12-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the lock-out knob Really like having four different btu burners. Flame adjusts to different size pots.
Date published: 2016-11-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Design We bought this cooktop to replace our previous GE product and it is an excellent piece fo equipment with great design features.
Date published: 2016-10-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Big Beautiful cootop Excellent! BIG And grates are very smart - love this cooktop
Date published: 2016-09-30
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Right size & look I bought this stove top for two main reasons: it'd fit into existing opening in the counter to replace an old stove top, and it had the finish, which matched the rest of my existing kitchen appliances. I was less interested in "performance" specifications at the time of purchase, as only a few models would fit into existing opening and none other had the same finish as I needed. Having said this, the stove top is OK, but not great. Having different size/intensity burners seems like a good idea, but for me, their relative positions (i.e., largest burner on the right and simmer in the back) don't really work. Many people noted that cleaning is a hassle. That's because the grates are very heavy and need to be fully removed in order to clean (you can't clean around/between them). The glass surface is harder to clean than on the old model I had for more than 20 years, and it gets a lot hotter. The grates are also hard to clean, as they're rough and things get caught onto such rough surface. "Sliding" heavy pots along them (from one burner to another) may seem like a good idea, but because they're so rough, the sound is unpleasant to say the least. Burner control is good, i.e., knobs are pretty sensitive, at least for now.
Date published: 2016-09-24
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not the Best I only have one negative issue with this cooktop...the main burner (the largest one) has uneven heating. One side of the gas glame is much higher than the other. I have had several gas cooktops and ranges in my life time. This has never happened before. Unless I keep rotating the pan when I pan fry food, the cooking is uneven and the inside of the pan has burned food on the edge. This cooktop came with the house. I would not have chosen it.
Date published: 2016-07-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Happy This is a great gas cook top. It has a glass like finish that is easy to keep clean...very easy...with a sponge and soapy water. The grates sit on rubber feet and are heavy enough there is no shifting. Yet they simply lift off for cleaning. We needed a shallow unit because we have drawers underneath, and this works perfectly. We also like the child proof lock that locks up the unit when the grandkids are around. This isn't the cheapest gas cooktop, but we think it was worth the price.
Date published: 2016-07-28
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Small. Hard to keep clean This came with the house we built and I am very disappointed. The burners are very small which makes it hard to fit more than two pots/skillets. My 12 inch pan that I use daily to cook eggs, grill cheese, stir frys , etc hangs off the right front burner and overlaps to the back so I cant fit another pan on the right back burner. Very disappointing. Also, the glass top shows everything. You can't just spray it with cleaner and wipe it down. I've tried everything, the only thing that cleans it is stovetop paste...even that leaves streaks and takes a lot of time to rub in and scrub off. I would not recommend this product.
Date published: 2016-07-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great product Time consuming to clean. Knob gasket broken. How do I get replacement?
Date published: 2016-06-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Replacement for a white cooktop. We are slowly remodeling our kitchen and are tying this in with some new appliances already in place.
Date published: 2016-05-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from looks nice works well, easy to clean and looks nice and like the sizes of burners
Date published: 2016-02-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent quality and features! We had our house built and at the last minute we upgraded to the premium appliance package and we are glad we did.
Date published: 2016-02-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Looks Great.....but: This appliance was installed by the builder as part of our new home construction. It looks great but..... After only three months of use the grates on the stove do not hold up well. The finish is waring out only by placing pans on them. The glass top is very hard to clean. We have tried three different cleaners but still cannot get it clean after using.
Date published: 2016-01-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Excellent range of heat at different burners Came with new house. It really performs its job of cooking well. Various size burners and infinitely adjustable flame heights make it a joy to cook on. On the other hand, it is not a joy to clean. The glass surface gets greasy and it takes a long time and a lot of "elbow grease" to get it completely clean and streak-free.
Date published: 2016-01-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from amazing cooktop! this cooktop is so reliable!!! it even has a safety switch!!!
Date published: 2015-12-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from a great overall cooktop product came with new construction. burners are large. safety features are nice. ceramic yop is ok but does form bubbles which need to be scraped off if not thoroughly cleaned after every use.
Date published: 2015-12-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Produce Got this with my house I built, works great! Love the lock feature.
Date published: 2015-12-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from sleek look Drop in replacement for old 30" gas cooktop. Install was easy. Upgraded rest of appliances and wanted something that went with rest of SS. The black glass top cleans up easily and looks great with SS trim. I hate all SS cooktops....all the ones I've seen in peoples kitchen are stained badly. So far glass cooktop looks great, works great, and easy to maintain. You can keep the SS...this is better choice in my opinion.
Date published: 2015-11-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Looks great Had this installed in June. Converted from electric glass cooktop to this gas model. Love the look, works well but very hard to keep the glass top clean.
Date published: 2015-11-25
  • y_2019, m_6, d_15, h_1
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_103
  • loc_en_US, sid_JGP940SEKSS, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_ge_appliances
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 43ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
GE Profile™ Series 30" Built-In Gas Cooktop - JGP940SEKSS

Product Support & Service

Schedule Service

Our online tools are here 24 hours a day to help you arrange the service you need.

Contact Us

We’re happy to help answer your questions.