GE® Series 1.7 Cu. Ft. Over-the-Range Microwave Oven

JVM6172DFBB
JVM6172DFBB is rated 4.5 out of 5 by 112.
  • y_2019, m_6, d_15, h_1
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_112
  • loc_en_US, sid_JVM6172DFBB, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_ge_appliances
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 43ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

This model is no longer being manufactured

Rebates & Promotions
Rebates
Approx. Product Dimensions (WxHxD) (in.)

29 7/8 in x 16 1/2 in x 15 in

About this Product

  • Convenience cooking controls

    Convenience cooking controls

    Operating made quick and easy

    Play Video

Features

  • 1.7 cu. ft. capacity
    1000 Watts (IEC-705 test procedure)
  • Auto and time defrost
    Defrosting times and power levels are programmed automatically or manually for optimal results
  • Recessed turntable with on/off
    Controls turntable operation
  • Two-speed, 300-CFM venting system
    Removes smoke, steam and odors
  • Removable oven rack
    Full-width cooking rack allows for multi-level cooking simultaneously, allowing you to cook large quantities of your family’s favorites

More Features

GE® Series 1.7 Cu. Ft. Over-the-Range Microwave Oven - JVM6172DFBB

Specs & Details

  • FEATURES
  • CAPACITY
  • APPEARANCE
  • ECONOMICAL / QUIET
  • WEIGHTS & DIMENSIONS
  • POWER / RATINGS
  • CLAIMS & CERTIFICATIONS
  • ACCESSORIES
  • WARRANTY
GE® Series 1.7 Cu. Ft. Over-the-Range Microwave Oven- JVM6172DFBB

Ratings and Q&A

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great microwave This microwave does everything I need it to for a great price
Date published: 2016-07-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Microwave! We bought this microwave to replace our old over-the-stove microwave. We picked it out because of the name brand and price. We are very happy with it! GE does not disappoint!
Date published: 2016-06-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice Unit for Price Point Needed to replace a 16 year old unit and based on reviews as well as unit size (H x W), this model fit the bill well for our kitchen. We have all black appliances with shiny finish, and this was a very good match. If you are paying for the install, the following info may not be of interest. For the average DIY'er, you should be fine with the install, but, read those directions first to understand the details. The unit has a fixed metal flange that makes the back wall install fairly straight forward. No need to measure, as the top of the flange with be installed with the tabs touching the bottom of your top cabinets. Also, make sure you have measured for your center line between the cabinets and take advantage of the notched flange to help you ensure it is centered. For the hardware, they provide (2) toggle bolts and (2) wood screws. It assumes you will have studs in the mounting zone to use those 2 wood screws. That was not the case for my install. Only 1 stud was in the proper mounting location. The Top flange has fixed mounting points, which means if no stud there, you will use the 2 toggle bolts. That likely leaves you needing at least 1 one more. I chose to purchase a "toggler" setup which is easier to work with, and only cost a couple of dollars. I purchased 4 pcs , as a just in case. If you are drilling into tile, be prepared with ceramic bits for your starter holes. Overall, no problems with the install. Top holes lined up well, using the provided template. My unit did not have an owner's manual in the box, and not sure why. Thankfully, they provide it on the site, and I was able to review it for clarification on install details. Unit looks good, and no issues with performance out of the box. The unit is quiet, compared to our older micro. Of course, the test of time is next. Hope it provides the service expected for years to come. If any problems or failures down the road, I will update.
Date published: 2016-06-20
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Hope this one Lasts Replacing a GE of same type that lasted less than 5 yrs due to door switches shorting out and blowing breaker; then the oven finally just quit cooking at all. I only bought this one because the bracket and holes matched existing installation. Otherwise I probably would have looked at other brands. I took out the longest warranty offers, so this one had better last.
Date published: 2016-04-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from meets all the basic needs nice and as expected ( or as seen in the pictures ) Has all the needed features. Easy to install
Date published: 2016-03-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Everything you could ever ask for in a microwave I bought this to replace my other microwave and I am so happy that I made this choice. All it has to do now is last 18 years like the last one I had.
Date published: 2016-03-06
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Only Ok I had this purchased for me by a contractor. It came with my new kitchen which I love. Main problem is not the micowave itself. It just does not measure up to the one I had to give up. It was a large Kenmore with many more features. It's fine for it's size. I just do not like an over the stove micowave.
Date published: 2016-02-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great microwave to replace the old Spacemaker I bought this microwave to replace an old over the range GE that had stopped heating. It is the only microwave I could find that would fit in the area we had available over the stove. Every other brand I looked at was huge! I'm glad GE has kept the outside dimensions of their microwaves relatively unchanged over the years. Not every kitchen has room for some of the monster microwaves on the market today. Aside from all that, it is also a decent microwave. It cooks food, has a turntable and there is plenty of room inside for say a 9" x 8" casserole dish. We had issues with the handle breaking on our previous GE Spacemaker. This handle appears to be more secure so hopefully that will not be a problem again. The touch control panel is really shiny (a bit too much if you ask me) and the edge where the touch panel meets the plastic frame bubbles up in one area. It doesn't look like it will be a problem but if you're super picky about that sort of thing, it might bother you. Then again, maybe it's just the unit I bought. At any rate, it's a decent value for the price and it fits better is smaller spaces (which was my main reason for buying this microwave).
Date published: 2016-02-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great microwave Used for a few weeks now and haven't had an issue. Just a normal microwave and does everything you want it to do.
Date published: 2016-01-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great range great price and great quality. looks good with the rest of the appliances and the power is a plus.
Date published: 2016-01-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy operation Bought several months ago and was easy transition from microwave I had more than 15 years.
Date published: 2015-12-31
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Microwave I bought this 2 months ago and its going good as of now.
Date published: 2015-12-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works great Got it when we remodeled kitchen. Works great! So glad we bought it.
Date published: 2015-12-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to use nice feautures I bought this product 4 months ago. While our old microwave had more functions it would spontaneously turn itself on and the vent fan would start at random times. The GE we got as a replacement was relatively easy to install with the right tools and has been working great. We are happy with it.
Date published: 2015-12-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice Replacement for our 20 Year Old Microwave We had a circa 1995 GE Microwave that was part of the new house we bought. It worked fine but every 5 years so the door handle would break off. In 2015 when the last handle broke, we could not find any replacement handles. So we decided to buy a new unit. We bought GE again because, in spite of the handle problem we like the GE microwave. This new one has exceeded our expectations so far. It has the carousel and some improvements as well being a bit larger and a bit more powerful.
Date published: 2015-12-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Slick Design We purchase this appliance because of the old GE Micro Oven we had before it. We just loved the features although some has changed but the oven functions superior than other ovens we have had in the past. I like the express feature to heat up my luke warm coffee where I don't have to program it but just touch the one minute push button.
Date published: 2015-11-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great. The Product is awesome, as well as the great looks.
Date published: 2015-11-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Microwave Needed a new microwave, always have used GE appliances and this one is great
Date published: 2015-11-24
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Needs repair or replace after 11 Months Very Nice Microwave, Very Happy about Quality, Features & Purchase. I would Recommend this Product
Date published: 2015-11-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from great features happy i bought it works great does a wonderful job
Date published: 2015-11-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice looking, Great features Pros - Easy fit and install for replacement use - Templates great - Controls easy to use - Favorite features are "Quick Timer Select" and Night Light Timer (Strange, not too sizes / models have Light Timer (??). - VERY EASY CONVERSION between the external and recycle vent--Like that (1) model can be used for either venting - great feature + good directions.... - Door feels very solid when opening / closing Cons Not really any deal breakers here, but everyone's gotta have something, so.... Cant really tell difference between hi and lo fan speeds.
Date published: 2015-10-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great features for the price! Purchased this microwave to replace an existing microwave that had quit operating due to its' age.
Date published: 2015-09-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great features This microwave has all the options I need and then some and for a reasonable price. I am not crazy about the design of the inside of the door but I will get use to it I suppose.
Date published: 2015-09-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Features!! I just got this newer model installed I love how it looks and matches my other appliances, my older model went out and I'm kind of glad it did!! Because this one is way better!!!
Date published: 2015-09-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Convection baking as well Purchased and installed yesterday, very pleased with unit.
Date published: 2015-08-27
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good microwave This microwave came with the house. it heats food fine and the features are average. no complaints.
Date published: 2015-08-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Microwave So Far Have had this microwave for about 4 months now and works great with no issues. All features work as expected and meet expectations. Great appliance for the price. My only feature improvement suggestion would be to make the fan quieter and make the two fan speeds farther apart. Can hardly tell the difference whether on high speed or low speed but still works fine.
Date published: 2015-07-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Microwave Bought this one to replace an older one and very happy with it thus ar.
Date published: 2015-07-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works as expected No issues to date. I don't anticipate any issues in the future.
Date published: 2015-07-29
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Very noisy Microwave is very loud when running. Panel could be better laid out.
Date published: 2015-07-29
  • y_2019, m_6, d_15, h_1
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_112
  • loc_en_US, sid_JVM6172DFBB, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_ge_appliances
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 41ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
GE® Series 1.7 Cu. Ft. Over-the-Range Microwave Oven - JVM6172DFBB

Product Support & Service

Schedule Service

Our online tools are here 24 hours a day to help you arrange the service you need.

Contact Us

We’re happy to help answer your questions.