GE Profile™ Series 1.1 Cu. Ft. Countertop Microwave Oven

PEM31SFSS
PEM31SFSS is rated 4.0 out of 5 by 1245.
  • y_2019, m_6, d_24, h_17
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_1245
  • loc_en_US, sid_PEM31SFSS, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_ge_appliances
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 43ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
Rebates & Promotions
Rebates
Available Colors
Approx. Product Dimensions (WxHxD) (in.)

24 in x 12 1/8 in x 12 7/8 in

About this Product

  • Built-in capable microwave

    Built-in capable microwave

    This countertop microwave oven is built-in capable with a sleek matching trim kit

    Matching trim kits for this model

  • Optional hanging kit

    Optional hanging kit

    Frees up counter space

  • Sensor cooking controls

    Sensor cooking controls

    Automatically adjusts time and power for delicious cooking results

    Play Video

  • Weight and time defrost

    Weight and time defrost

    Simply enter the weight of the food, and the oven automatically sets the optimal defrosting time and power level or set your desired time for defrosting

Features

  • 1.1 cu. ft. capacity
    800 Watts (IEC-705 test procedure)
  • Turntable On/Off
    Controls turntable operation
  • Control lockout
    Helps prevent accidental activation
  • "Add 30 seconds" button
    Add 30 seconds of microwave cooking time
  • Kitchen timer
    Minute timer helps keep you on track

More Features

Claims & Certifications

  • ADA Compliant

    ADA Compliant
    Designed to be accessible and easy to open

GE Profile™ Series 1.1 Cu. Ft. Countertop Microwave Oven - PEM31SFSS

Specs & Details

  • FEATURES
  • CAPACITY
  • APPEARANCE
  • WEIGHTS & DIMENSIONS
  • POWER / RATINGS
  • CLAIMS & CERTIFICATIONS
  • ACCESSORIES
  • WARRANTY
GE Profile™ Series 1.1 Cu. Ft. Countertop Microwave Oven- PEM31SFSS

Ratings and Q&A

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Some welcome improvements over the older model. Love that the size is only slightly larger than the older model and still fits nicely on the counter. The turntable is an upgrade and a welcome addition. The only problem is that the beverage setting isn't accurate and has to be set on cook time. Other than that, we're delighted with it.
Date published: 2019-06-11
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Viable, but inferior replacement for spacesaver. Bought as an expensive replacement for Spacesaver 2 microwave installed with limited space under a cabinet. Slight variation in overall size and mounting holes (had to drill older mounting plate). Construction is lighter and feels fragile. Door closure is very loud. Controls are not easy to see. Does include rotating glass plate.
Date published: 2019-06-11
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Constantly trips GFCI The microwave constantly trips the GFCI it is plugged into. Since the GFI is installed in a cabinet above the microwave it has become a nuisance to get the stool and climb up and unplug, reset the GFI and then set the microwave's clock and start the procedure all over again.
Date published: 2019-06-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Attractive looking and right fit for the space. The GE Profile Series - PEM31SFSS is the only model that we currently could find from any manufacturer with dimensions that would fit in our preexisting microwave cabinet space. For an inexpensive product, its stainless steel finish looks pretty good and blends well with our premium stainless appliances (ovens, cooktop, refrigerator, dishwasher). Its 800 watt power is on the low side, but is adequate since we use it primarily for short cook time functions like reheating, defrosting, melting butter & chocolate, par cooking baked potatoes and making popcorn. This microwave is surprisingly quiet when running. One very minor complaint is that the push button door latch opener is hard to push. We've had this microwave for only 2 months, but so far are very pleased with it. If it continues to work well and lasts for 10 years, we'll consider it a good value!
Date published: 2019-06-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from easy to use. Especially good for over the counter Purchased similar model w trim kit 8 years ago for over the counter built in cabinet. Needed to get same/similar model to fit in existing space. Fit perfectly, easy to install. Use primarily for reheating or simple cooking.
Date published: 2019-06-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Sleek looking It was the right size and color to replace a GE which we loved.
Date published: 2019-06-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from perfect! Great fit for new kitchen. Cabinets on this side of kitchen only 18” deep so this microwave was perfect size and look. Only had it 2 weeks but so far working fine.
Date published: 2019-06-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Review of GE Microwave oven It was hard to install even though I purchased the installation kit since it had to fit in an existing microwave location in our kitchen cabinets. It’s quiet in operation and easy to use.
Date published: 2019-06-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Adequate We had a GE Microwave previously to this model and they are much the same. Nothing special and a bit temperamental as it has popped the GFI several times in the two months we've had it but it works...so far.
Date published: 2019-06-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect fit! I love that I was able to duplicate what I had.(It was original to my "new home" and had lasted 10+ years) The replacement was a perfect fit and I knew exactly how to operate it.
Date published: 2019-06-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great features Excellent. Good price. Fits my kitchen space. Too many spaces here
Date published: 2019-05-31
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works Replaced a 20 year old built in GE microwave. Not the exact same size but works.
Date published: 2019-05-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great microwave We bought this microwave because we needed a smaller unit that could be mounted under our spice cabinet. This fit the bill perfectly, works well, and looks great. We have had it installed for about 2 months, no problems.
Date published: 2019-05-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Incredible Microwave I was concerned that this microwave might be too small, but after using it I find it more than adequate for reheating food and small cooking projects. The Microwave is incredibly quiet. We barely know it is on. Fit and finish are superb, we also have the trim kit. It fits in wonderfully with our new kitchen remodel. The store where we purchased the microwave definitely steered us to the best one for our needs!!!!!
Date published: 2019-05-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Simple and easy to use Small footprint, simple microwave with all the options that you will need. .
Date published: 2019-05-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Dumb evolution Supposedly a replacement for the previous model, BUT mounting holes are in a different location, control-panel buttons all the same but thet're all rearranged, the overall vertical dimension is a fraction of an inch bigger, the turntable plate is a fraction of an inch smaller. Who in GE's engineering department doesn't understand what's involved - from the user's perspective - in replacing an under-cabinet microwave?
Date published: 2019-05-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good basic microwave that "saves space." We needed to replace a 15 yr old GE Spacesaver microwave; this newer model is the one that fits. Had a problem with the first replacement installed in Dec /2018 - the turntable was defective. So had to pay to have our contractor install a second replacement in Mar 2019. It's a basic microwave that performs just fine and looks good. I think the door "button" requires a heavier touch than our prior Spacesaver.
Date published: 2019-05-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect microwave Perfect size and shape for kitchens with limited counter space. Easy feature set makes it a snap to use.
Date published: 2019-05-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Adequate Reheat procedures are confusing. Need guidelines, as to how to make selections. Mounting holes are located differently from previous model. No template supplied. Installation was difficult. "beverage" selection does not work.
Date published: 2019-05-14
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Incredibly weird evolution This is the third microwave of what should have been the same model that we've owned. It's an under-cabinet installation - that's the reason we bought what should have been the same model. But each has differed from its predecessors in trivial but incredibly irritating ways: mounting holes in SLIGHTLY different locations, so had to drill new holes in the cabinet. Control pad has the same buttons, but they're in a different arrangement, so have to re-learn where they are. Vertical dimension a fraction of an inch bigger than the last one. Turntable plate a fraction of an inch smaller than the last one. Are GE's engineers really that oblivious to users?
Date published: 2019-05-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Big enough and super quiet We bought this microwave to fit into a small space, and we were concerned it would be too little. However, a dinner plate fits perfectly inside it. It is super quiet and very attractive.
Date published: 2019-05-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Looks good and cooks well Size and price were perfect for us. Easy to use and looks good
Date published: 2019-05-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice features Fit perfectly into the space I had available. Kinda spendy especially when you add the trim kit. But it was the only thing I could find to fit In my space.
Date published: 2019-05-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super sleek and quiet Very easy to use and is so quiet sometimes I can't tell it's on. Best microwave I've ever owned and is attractive and non-obtrusive.
Date published: 2019-05-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this microwave! Perfect size and heats evenly. It looks so gorgeous on the counter too. Just what I needed to keep up with my busy family. Sturdy and stylish.
Date published: 2019-05-08
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Stripped down version of an earlier model I purchased the PEM31 SpaceSaver counter top microwave to replace my older JEM31 model. JEM31 had served its useful life of 16 years, and had problems with the closed door circuit. The new PEM31 was the only model (and manufacturer) that would fit into the built in cabinet space. It’s basically the same but fewer features. For example, the clock doesn’t set an AM/PM indicator; the timer signal doesn’t sound continuously; no controls for display or sound; no delay start or reminder options. So this is just a stripped down version of an earlier model. I guess the improvement I see is a better door latching mechanism, so the circuit doesn’t fail.
Date published: 2019-05-07
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Verdict is still out I was quite upset that our first GE Profile Microwave failed us in less than 8 years. Unfortunately, this series works best with the limited space we have to under-mount our kitchen cabinet. Considering the $$$, I would have expected these models to last at least 10-12 yrs. (we don’t use it that often). The new model is definitely louder than its predecessor. It makes a rather loud clicking sound the entire time it’s running/the turntable is in motion from the undercarriage. Which is rather annoying and discouraging. The door is also very loud/jarring when it’s opened and closed. There is no way to avoid it. Which seems like a manufacturing flaw that will lead to easy wear and tear. All that being said, my verdict is still out. I’m hopeful it will surprise me and stand the test of time... we will see.
Date published: 2019-05-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect replacement for the SpaceSaver line Our SpaceSaver finally stopped working after many years of use and to my surprise, they stopped production. I searched and finally came across the current version which is not SpaceSaver but basically appears to be quite similar. Measured my space and ordered it. Installation involved different holes for the undercabinet brackets but that wasn't a problem for me to drill. My space was just wide enough to fit this but I'll admit that it was a barely fit situation. The microwave itself has a nice and refined looking appearance, solid. But what impressed me the most was how quite it is! I wasn't expecting that. I didn't realize how loud the old microwave was until I heard (or didn't hear lol) this one. So, all in all, this has been a perfect replacement for the old SpaceSaver and I'd buy another one if in the same situation.
Date published: 2019-05-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Needed a smaller microwave replacement Love the sensor aspect when cooking baked potatoes!
Date published: 2019-05-01
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not enough power I was hoping for more choices in the stone slate color. Would have preferred a larger microwave, but nothing else in this color would fit in my kitchen cabinet space. Disappointed. ....
Date published: 2019-04-27
  • y_2019, m_6, d_24, h_17
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_1245
  • loc_en_US, sid_PEM31SFSS, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_ge_appliances
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 41ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
GE Profile™ Series 1.1 Cu. Ft. Countertop Microwave Oven - PEM31SFSS

Product Support & Service

Schedule Service

Our online tools are here 24 hours a day to help you arrange the service you need.

Contact Us

We’re happy to help answer your questions.