GE Profile™ 1.1 Cu. Ft. Countertop Microwave Oven

PEM31SFSS
PEM31SFSS is rated 4.0 out of 5 by 1306.
  • y_2019, m_9, d_15, h_6
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.13
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_1306
  • loc_en_US, sid_PEM31SFSS, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_ge_appliances
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 59ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
Rebates & Promotions
Rebates
Available Colors
Approx. Product Dimensions (WxHxD) (in.)

24 in x 12 1/8 in x 12 7/8 in

About this Product

  • Built-in capable microwave

    Built-in capable microwave

    This countertop microwave oven is built-in capable with a sleek matching trim kit

    Matching trim kits for this model

  • Optional hanging kit

    Optional hanging kit

    Frees up counter space

  • Sensor cooking controls

    Sensor cooking controls

    Automatically adjusts time and power for delicious cooking results

    Play Video

  • Weight and time defrost

    Weight and time defrost

    Simply enter the weight of the food, and the oven automatically sets the optimal defrosting time and power level or set your desired time for defrosting

Features

  • 1.1 cu. ft. capacity
    800 Watts (IEC-705 test procedure)
  • Turntable On/Off
    Controls turntable operation
  • Control lockout
    Helps prevent accidental activation
  • "Add 30 seconds" button
    Add 30 seconds of microwave cooking time
  • Kitchen timer
    Minute timer helps keep you on track

More Features

Claims & Certifications

  • ADA Compliant

    ADA Compliant
    Designed to be accessible and easy to open

GE Profile™ 1.1 Cu. Ft. Countertop Microwave Oven - PEM31SFSS

Specs & Details

  • FEATURES
  • CAPACITY
  • APPEARANCE
  • WEIGHTS & DIMENSIONS
  • POWER / RATINGS
  • CLAIMS & CERTIFICATIONS
  • ACCESSORIES
  • WARRANTY
GE Profile™ 1.1 Cu. Ft. Countertop Microwave Oven- PEM31SFSS

Ratings and Q&A

Rated 3 out of 5 by from GOOD NOT GREAT The product is the best in that size. It would be better if it came with mounting hardware.Also a tray for the bottom not just a turntable dish.
Date published: 2019-09-10
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Big Disappointment Since my old GE microwave died I had to get this one to replace it. Besides being too big to fit in the built in space I had with it's trim kit, I hate the microwave. The door is difficult to press to get open, if you don't slam it shut the microwave will not work, the buttons are very difficult to read. There is not one thing I like about this and I wish I had gotten something else.
Date published: 2019-09-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to use. I was worried at first. Because of all the buttons. But I was pleasantly surprised to find out that it is very easy to use.
Date published: 2019-09-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good product Purchased in july for our kitchen renovation and fits nicely under kitchen cabinets. A nice compact microwave and has some nice features and we shall see how it holds up in the next few months.
Date published: 2019-09-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Quiet operation Works well enough for heating my buckwheat hull filled heat-belt, reheating tea and coffee, and heating leftovers. Haven’t used it yet for more advanced cooking of food. One detraction is there’s less stainless steel on door and door opening is noisy and sort of cheap.
Date published: 2019-09-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice and quiet This is the only option for an under the counter microwave. It is quiet when running but the door is loud when you close it. The buttons are very hard to sèe and hard to push. The button to open the door would be perfect if it didn't have a stainless steel finish that show evey fingerprint!
Date published: 2019-09-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from great features I like it a lot- great options for automatic cooking of certain items. The only downside is the low power- takes a lot longer to heat than other microwaves I use.
Date published: 2019-09-03
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Control penal has no backlight! Oven has nice features and works well but.....the only visible feature on the control panel is the clock. I need to use a flashlight to see what I wish to do and for timing. This is not good!
Date published: 2019-09-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Perfect for its size! This microwave is the perfect fit for built in cabinetry.
Date published: 2019-08-30
Rated 1 out of 5 by from poor appliance Cheap and buttons hard to push. door opener hard to operate. Had to return first one as door would not open.Sounds like a cheaply made appliance. Would not recommend
Date published: 2019-08-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Gets the job done. Efficient and easy to use. Sleek and attractive exterior.
Date published: 2019-08-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Looks great! Too early to comment further Looks great but I am still in love with my old microwave so too early for an accurate/thorough review. Don't understand "sensor" for such things as a Beverage, a cup of water, after pushing "Beverage" button it sensored for 2 minutes then it took 3.5 minutes - why??? So I use the "express" cooking time - just push 2. Express Cook button is great. Operates very quietly Directions leave much to be desired.............
Date published: 2019-08-21
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Nice looking but not enough functionality These good reviews swayed my thinking—very regrettable. This microwave is only good for heating your beverage Or very small jobs, that’s it. It is great looking but doesn’t function well. I put in a bagged popcorn today and all it did was burn the bag. The heating is twice as long as most microwaves which I assume is due to the wattage. Also, it doesn’t fit a standard square plate, so only a standard circular plate will work (or smaller). Not happy, what I wouldn’t do to have the chance to exchange/upgrade to one of the other larger/higher wattage microwaves. I bought for ease of space and it had a trim piece to install in the wall (remodel appliances). I bought the matching oven too, no complaints on that one. I will likely be replacing this sooner than later. We call it our kitchen decoration.
Date published: 2019-08-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Microwave features are intuitive. This was a replacement for our GE Profile that served us for 19 years. It fit perfectly in the cabinet space. The features are easy to use-intuitive! Did not have to read the manual. I am tempted to buy another and save it as a replacement.
Date published: 2019-08-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect for My Space I recently renovated my kitchen and replaced my old, clunky microwave with this sleek new one. I didn’t need anything fancy - just something that could reheat leftovers or defrost. This fits the bill. My contractor built it into my space. Perfect!
Date published: 2019-08-06
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Older model was better I replaced a great older model with this. Very disappointed. You have to press very hard to get the touch pad to work and the light is very dim, not too good for a senior. The light is so dim you can't see how the food or liquid is cooking without opening the door. I wonder if I can replace the bulb with a brighter light? The touch pad featutres are arranged differently than the older model. Hard to find what you need. No complaints on the cooking part, works as it should.
Date published: 2019-08-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Microwave I like it plenty. Tiny & compact gets the job done. Sweats a little when baking potatoes.
Date published: 2019-08-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love my microwave! This is the newer model of my old microwave. It looks great- nice and sleek. Looks great in my kitchen! Runs quieter than the older model which is fabulous!!
Date published: 2019-08-05
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Replaces older Profile model Basic in terms of features and more expensive in terms of what you're getting for the price but it fits in the same space as the older model where no other microwave in the market can.
Date published: 2019-08-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Simple & wonderful!!! Couldn't be happier with this microwave. We bought the trim kit & have it built into the wall above the oven, looks great & works great!
Date published: 2019-07-30
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Nice for under counter mounting I am replacing a GE JEM31 microwave mfg 7/2003 I bought this to be a direct replacement for my old GE JEM31 mounted under cabinet. I hope this unit will last as long as the one it is replacing. It is unfortunate that it is just fractions of an inch larger so it will not fit the old space and will require re work of my cabinet trim. The under cabinet mounting brackets don't fit either. The same thing happened when I replaced my GE over the stove microwave. The mounting holes were just slightly different.
Date published: 2019-07-30
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Mediocrity from GE No lit keypad, which is low-contrast to begin with. Door does not latch completely unless you push it closed at upper right hand corner. No AM/PM option on clock. Interior light is too dim. Styling is very basic, charmless. It’s an under-cabinet mount, has no option for lighting below oven. Bought it for cabinet depth — it is the only replacement for my previous under-cabinet GE unit, which failed after five years but had better features and styling. All considered, it’s overpriced, too. But it does seem to heat food. So far. Installed today.
Date published: 2019-07-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My second one Love this Microwave. This is my second one. It fits in my cabinet and the power is wonderful.
Date published: 2019-07-17
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not what it appears to be! Modern and nice looking update with very quiet motor, food does not heat as well as the older unit. Also, more pressure required when opening/closing door which is loud and of poor quality plastic that leaves very visible fingerprints every time. Based on size, probably fairly priced, but then the trim requirement for built-in completion to cabinet makes overall cost no longer consumer friendly considering the issues described here.
Date published: 2019-07-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from 800 watt "built-in" microwave w/no frills You could probably spend more. The GE we had (and broke by putting aluminum foil in - it wasn't me!) was 1300 watts, had more buttons and seemed more substantial. But this is what fits in the space. It works. At least it wasn't expensive.
Date published: 2019-07-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works well but a little too small. Good quality, looks good and works well at a reasonable price.
Date published: 2019-07-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect small microwave At first I was a little worried reading the reviews on Amazon. However this replaced my old model w the peeling paint and it turned out you do NOT need a new mounting kit. Looks great- modern and sleek and fits perfectly into the space of the older model.
Date published: 2019-07-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Follow up review Other than moving the undercabinet mounting holes again (3rd replacement in 20 years) this microwave is much more sturdy than the obsoleted models. The previous model took two hands to open since-mounting it to the cupboard caused the frame to flex just enough where the open button would not open the door without a second hand, not a problem on the latest model. Also this new microwave is whisper quiet compared to its obsolete counterpart. I would give it 5 stars but the chosen lettering color on the keys is not distinctive enough in low lighting.
Date published: 2019-07-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Space Efficient and Reliable We love having this microwave at our office. It fits perfectly in our designated space, while also having a lot of space on the inside. It heats everything well and has been super reliable. It is also extremely easy to keep clean, which is a huge upside for a communal office microwave.
Date published: 2019-07-10
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Needs control pad backlight. I love that it fits in the built in space but the lack of a key pad display light is frustrating.
Date published: 2019-07-09
  • y_2019, m_9, d_15, h_6
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.13
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_1306
  • loc_en_US, sid_PEM31SFSS, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_ge_appliances
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 58ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
GE Profile™ 1.1 Cu. Ft. Countertop Microwave Oven - PEM31SFSS

Product Support & Service

Schedule Service

Our online tools are here 24 hours a day to help you arrange the service you need.

Contact Us

We’re happy to help answer your questions.