GE Profile™ Series 30" Built-In Gas Cooktop

PGP953SETSS
PGP953SETSS is rated 4.0 out of 5 by 160.
  • y_2019, m_6, d_26, h_5
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_160
  • loc_en_US, sid_PGP953SETSS, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_ge_appliances
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 54ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

This model is no longer being manufactured

Rebates & Promotions
Rebates
Approx. Product Dimensions (WxHxD) (in.)

30 in x 3 1/4 in x 20 7/8 in

Cutout Dimensions (WxD) (in.)

28-1/2 x 19-5/8

About this Product

  • Fit Guarantee

    Fit Guarantee

    Replacing a similar cooktop from GE Appliances or another brand? GE cooktops are guaranteed for an exact fit or GE Appliances will pay up to $100 toward modifications. See offer criteria and details

    Play Video

  • White LED backlit knobs

    White LED backlit knobs

    Indicate when burners are on so you don't forget

    Play Video

Features

  • Deep-recessed cooktop
    Contains spills for quick and easy cleaning
  • Sealed cooktop burners
    Keep spillover contained on cooktop, making cleaning quick and easy
  • 15,000 BTU Power Boil burner
    Produces fast, intense heat
  • Precise Simmer burner
    Delivers a low setting of 140 degrees
  • Control lock capability
    Protects against unintended activation

More Features

Claims & Certifications

  • ADA Compliant

    ADA Compliant
    Designed to be accessible and easy to open

GE Profile™ Series 30" Built-In Gas Cooktop - PGP953SETSS

Specs & Details

  • FEATURES
  • APPEARANCE
  • WEIGHTS & DIMENSIONS
  • POWER / RATINGS
  • CLAIMS & CERTIFICATIONS
  • ACCESSORIES
  • WARRANTY
GE Profile™ Series 30" Built-In Gas Cooktop- PGP953SETSS

Ratings and Q&A

Rated 1 out of 5 by from Only middle burner actually works like it should. Only the middle burner works well, the other do not. Two of the burners never get hot enough to even boil water. You can literally pre boiled water in your microwave and then put in a pot over these burners with a thermometer in it and watch the temperature of the water lower while it's on high, I've done this. I had a tech come see the stove the first week I had it installed and he said it was a design flaw and was not able to fix the burner issues. I've been living with this frustration for two years and hoping that GE comes up with a solution. Two years ago I renovated my whole home with all new matching GE Profile appliance and had the brand new countertops cut for this cooktop but it's been a daily frustration. I scheduled a GE tech to come to fix it tomorrow. I'm hoping they finally have a solution to this ridiculous design flaw.
Date published: 2018-05-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Excellent Product!!! I recommend 100% to all my friends.
Date published: 2018-03-24
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Hate it... do not buy this! Burners are too far from the bottom of what you are cooking on. It takes forever to boil water and the cooking temp is a pain to keep where you want it. The knobs are cheap plastic and broke in the first 5 months. Worst cooktop ever! Waste of money and time. I’m already looking to replace it!
Date published: 2018-02-24
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Cheap plastic knobs Overall the unit is pretty good, it putting cheap plastic knobs on an. Cook top we paid $1,400 for doesn’t seem like the best approach.....raise the price and use metal.....
Date published: 2018-02-18
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not at all good The gap between the burner head and the top of grate where the pots and pan will be placed is high, which makes it a slow heating/cooking process. It takes forever to heat the vessel and the cooking time is considerably increased. Light on the knobs is white in color and not visible during day/night ( if your kitchen lights are bright). They should have given a red LED next to each knob. Very difficult to maintain the stainless steel and the aluminum burners. Even a small spill discolors the steel and the burner heads.
Date published: 2018-02-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Burner Grates It takes little too much to cook, because your Burner Grates is little too high from burner. If you can tell me is it possible to get lower Burner Grates, please let me know, where and how can I get lower Burner Grates. Thanks!
Date published: 2018-01-07
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Fair, but too small My builder would not put in 30-inch cooktops because of their granite contract. So, I'm stuck for now with a 5-burner cooktop that can only fit 3 decent-size pans. I was much happier with my Profile 36-inch 5-burner model.
Date published: 2017-12-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Gas cook top Upgraded from builders offering. Like the design of this model.
Date published: 2017-12-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My wife loves the large center burner My wife noticed this stove top demo model while we were shopping for a washer and dryer combination. It became the topic of discussion and she loves her new cooktop, especially the large center burner, allowing her to bring large containers to boll quickly. She and I both appreciate "backlighting" of control knobs indicating an active burner.
Date published: 2017-12-01
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Poor quality ! My previous maytag cooktop bought 10 years ago had no issues! When we remodeled in 2015 out kitchen, thinking GE profile was very reliable too , We bought this cooktop and we have already replaced a knob valve and shaft for $300. Now another one is broken. ! We also noticed that clearance between the
Date published: 2017-11-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love cooking on this cooktop Just completed a kitchen makeover and upgraded from a 2002 gas (glass) cooktop. Love the burners, grating, lit burner controls (to confirm the burner is active), and locking feature of the burners. Easy to clean. Cooking is awesome.
Date published: 2017-10-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product I bought and easily installed. Very happy with it.
Date published: 2017-09-21
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Still getting accustomed This is my first gas stove. I like how I can cook faster but the clean up is not fun--heavy, messy, grill bars scratched my stainless, and I haven't figured out how to take knobs off to clean.
Date published: 2017-09-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Looking Extra nice easy clean cook top ... looks professional grade.
Date published: 2017-09-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to use Easy to use; love new lighting on controls. The 3 part grill is easy to use when using multiple pans. Heats quickly and multiple ranges of heat are great.
Date published: 2017-09-08
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not Impressed The round gas burner placement is so close together that you can't put bigger pot on the middle burner and have room for medium pots around it. The lowere left knob doesn't work and if you slightly bump the other knobs they'll turn on without you realizing it and you can burn yourself. I don't like that the grate is within the frame as opposed to another one where there is a grate over the whole thing making room for the larger pots. I don't thing this is worth $1299. I had the Café slide in range/oven and loved the cooking area where the center burner was elongated but also had the pancake grill which was a nice touch. This was a builder's selection on a spec home which I'm seriously considering replacing.
Date published: 2017-09-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very stylish , looks great with my new counter top Can't wait to start cooking,have been waiting for years for my GE appliances to wear out so I could buy this gas cook top,my last one was electric
Date published: 2017-08-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great features We have been using it for a little over a month and love it
Date published: 2017-05-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from New construction choice3 We have had 3 other brands of gas cooktops and this one really is the best. We are thrilled with the lighting mechanism, the control knob illumination indicating that the burner is on and the lock out feature. The only down is that I need a REALLY LOW simmer and there is not one. Additionally, the smallest burner tends to flicker and pop on the lowest setting.
Date published: 2017-05-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from love this Cooktop We bought this cook top 3 months ago. Love the 5 burners, easy to cook on, easy clean up! Was concerned about the knobs being on the front bc we have young children- love that there is a lock!
Date published: 2017-05-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice kitchen update Was packaged well, and arrived in an unmarked and inconspicuous box. No damage to product upon arrival. Installed easily.
Date published: 2017-05-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works great Upgraded in our new house. It's taken a little to get use to cooking with gas again but we both like it.
Date published: 2017-05-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good looking and great performance Bought for a Kitchen remodel, replaced an electric (same GE type) with the Gas cooktop
Date published: 2017-05-17
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Disappointed results after installation I moved into a new home on Feb 15, 2017 with installation ge cooktop upgraded but I need to fix a burner in the center of the cooktop It didn't work for getting a fire after spark immediately Others in the cooktop works good
Date published: 2017-05-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great look Love the lock function! Looks great! Would buy again
Date published: 2017-04-19
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Knob Control Numbers are coming off I have had this cook top a little over an year now, Bought it on March 11 2016 and the numbers started to come off from a couple months ago. I happened to call GE a little after my warranty expired and they are charging me 95$ for service and 245$ for the parts(yes, for those numbers). These should have been durable in the first place. I am very unhappy with the quality of this product.
Date published: 2017-04-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the range Love the middle cooking range. Plenty of room to cook!
Date published: 2017-03-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Cooktop Love this cooktop. The burner sizes are great for any size pan.
Date published: 2017-03-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing appearance and function I chose to add this upgrade during the building of our house and could not have been happier. We received numerous compliments from family and guest.
Date published: 2017-03-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from easy to clean, contemporary design I didn't give it 5 stars, because I think 4 burners would be better for this size cook top. 5 burners can make it a little crowded when multiple pots are in use. Also the control knobs could be lower so they do not get hit when taking a heavy pot off the cook top.
Date published: 2017-03-06
  • y_2019, m_6, d_26, h_5
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_160
  • loc_en_US, sid_PGP953SETSS, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_ge_appliances
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 43ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
GE Profile™ Series 30" Built-In Gas Cooktop - PGP953SETSS

Product Support & Service

Schedule Service

Our online tools are here 24 hours a day to help you arrange the service you need.

Contact Us

We’re happy to help answer your questions.