GE Profile™ Series 36" Built-In Gas Cooktop

PGP976DETBB
PGP976DETBB is rated 4.2 out of 5 by 32.
  • y_2019, m_6, d_18, h_21
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_32
  • loc_en_US, sid_PGP976DETBB, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_ge_appliances
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 56ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

This model is no longer being manufactured

Rebates & Promotions
Rebates
Approx. Product Dimensions (WxHxD) (in.)

36 in x 3 1/4 in x 21 in

Cutout Dimensions (WxD) (in.)

33-7/8 x 19-1/8

About this Product

  • Fit Guarantee

    Fit Guarantee

    Replacing a similar cooktop from GE Appliances or another brand? GE cooktops are guaranteed for an exact fit or GE Appliances will pay up to $100 toward modifications. See offer criteria and details

    Play Video

  • 17,000 BTU Power Boil burner

    17,000 BTU Power Boil burner

    Delivers intense heat for fast boiling

  • White LED backlit knobs

    White LED backlit knobs

    Indicate when burners are on so you don't forget

    Play Video

Features

  • Deep-recessed cooktop
    Contains spills for quick and easy cleaning
  • Sealed cooktop burners
    Keep spillover contained on cooktop, making cleaning quick and easy
  • Precise Simmer burner
    Delivers a low setting of 140 degrees
  • Control lock capability
    Protects against unintended activation
  • Matte black heavy-cast grates
    Premium cast-iron offers superior performance

More Features

Claims & Certifications

  • ADA Compliant

    ADA Compliant
    Designed to be accessible and easy to open

GE Profile™ Series 36" Built-In Gas Cooktop - PGP976DETBB

Specs & Details

  • FEATURES
  • APPEARANCE
  • WEIGHTS & DIMENSIONS
  • POWER / RATINGS
  • CLAIMS & CERTIFICATIONS
  • ACCESSORIES
  • WARRANTY
GE Profile™ Series 36" Built-In Gas Cooktop- PGP976DETBB

Ratings and Q&A

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very nice cooktop Love the center burner with the extra large feature to handle the occasionally used LARGE stock pot, etc. Small simmer burner is a nice feature to have as well. Lighted knobs underneath when ON is classy touch.
Date published: 2016-12-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Terrific power burner! I absolutely LOVE this stove and LOVE the look it brings in my kitchen!
Date published: 2016-10-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice features and appears well made Just redid our kitchen and updated appliances with GE Profile. Glad we did.
Date published: 2016-09-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love cooking with gas! First time I've had a gas stove since living up north years ago. I find it easier than electric to control the heat for cooking.
Date published: 2016-06-12
Rated 1 out of 5 by from grills to high, grills to heavy to remove and wash the only feature I like is the knobs being all up front and how they lite up when in use
Date published: 2015-12-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Sharp looking Love the look. Love cooking with gas. Grates seem too tall (puts pan too far away from heat).
Date published: 2015-11-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Sturdy, attractive and contemporary look. Fifth burner a huge plus, good heat, easy to clean. Burners have better design, spark is hidden.
Date published: 2015-07-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to use; easier to clean We replaced a functioning but worn stainless steel model tht was nothing short of painful to clean. The new top cooks well and is so very easy to maintain.
Date published: 2015-07-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great features..looks good! I bought my new GE a month ago. My previous GE was white and worked great and didn't have a problem cleaning it. I decided on the black and I wish I didn't purchase it. It is tough to keep clean..lots of smears...any suggestions on a cleaning solution.
Date published: 2015-05-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Burners have different "speeds" I like this cooktop very much. I noticed some reviewers complained that it "took forever" to boil water. Please note that some of the burners are more powerful than others on this model: Burner - Left Front 9,100 BTU Burner - Left Rear 9,100 BTU Burner - Right Front 11,000 BTU Burner - Right Rear 5,000 BTU Precise Simmer (don't use to boil water here!!!) Burner - Center 17,000 BTU Power Boil
Date published: 2015-01-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Features Only had it for ten days,but I like the heavy Grates,the safety knob to keep children from turning burners on, I really like the lit knobs, I appreciate the propane conversion kit that was included,
Date published: 2014-12-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I love the look and the back lit knobs! I am glad I that I purchased this stove top. Not only does it work as advertised but it was very easy to install. So far I am very happy.
Date published: 2014-11-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Stove Top Review I love the sturdiness, look and features of this product! I especially love the fact that the knobs can be locked for safety reasons.
Date published: 2014-10-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love it! Very pleased so far. One note when using the middle burner, the other burners will not turn on if too hot. I just turn others on low first if need to use. Also love the large continuous grate!
Date published: 2014-10-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good burners, super easy cleanup Just installed this cooktop that replaced a builder's special. Nice, modern look. Very easy to clean after messy cooking. (I've already proven that.) Love the resistance to having spills get into works.
Date published: 2014-08-13
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Unhappy with maintenance High gloss black finish is impossible to clean. Even clean soft polishing cloths leave a residue. Burner caps and grates cannot be cleaned. Knobs are too tight to clean under.
Date published: 2014-07-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it! We got our gas cooktop last month when we moved into our new home. It is beautiful, easy to use (so happy to cook with gas again!), & cleans up easily. Love that it has the 5th big burner in the middle.
Date published: 2014-05-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Superb Cooking! I purchased this to replace my electric cook top. I loved the features especially the fast cook for large pots and the low cook for simmering.
Date published: 2014-05-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great cooktop This is a very attractive cooktop and functions well. The heat is even and adjusts easily. We love the powerboil burner. It is also very easy to clean, but the grates are extremely heavy to lift off for cleaning.
Date published: 2014-04-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Quality Cooktop I wasn't happy with the first cook top I picked out because it was really difficult to clean. GE was extremely helpful and accomodating in helping me change it out to this one. It was a great choice! Looks great, performs great and cleans up much better!
Date published: 2014-03-25
Rated 1 out of 5 by from worst cooktop I bought a month ago, after few day using. I have to return it. but I am not happy to use it. It tale long time to cook as normal burner. Flame heat does not work effectively because the grill too high
Date published: 2014-02-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great appliance well worth it Appliance works great, looks great and is easy to clean. Burns put off a lot of heat yet can be turned way down to simmer. Led back lights are a huge plus.
Date published: 2013-07-08
Rated 3 out of 5 by from When you get down to it Well...it does look very nice as an appliance. We like the overall design and having the option of using all five burners. The issues that we are running into are that the continuous grates are set too high. It does not reduce the cooking time at all. The only compensation is to use the middle burner for all "high" heat cooking. Also the grate design should have been made to accommodate for smaller cookware. Not every house hold will have commercial size pots and pans. We have to be very careful when we do any kind of cooking requiring a round cookware base. Not sure if GE is willing to fix this but I think it should be easy by offering to replace the OEM grates. We spent a lot of money on this cooktop and not sure if it was the best purchase.
Date published: 2013-03-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very happy with our cooktop We were replacing an old lower end model of a GE cooktop that was never hot enough and at the same time could not simmer at a low temperature. This new cooktop, that had the exact same installation dimensions as the older one, is great. I was worried that I would not notice a difference. This cooktop is attractive and much easier to clean. I really like the continuous grill so you can shift things off the heat without spilling. The large burner boils water quickly, when before it took >20 minutes and the smaller burners can go to very low settings for simmering. I wish I had gas instead of propane because you do lose some heat with the conversion. I wish I had made the change to this cooktop sooner.
Date published: 2013-02-10
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Handsome but wastes gas and time This is a handsome cooktop. Burners are well configured. Features--backlit knobs, ignition system, knob placement--are very good. However, the grates are so high that to heat water I must use the highest setting on a burner, and the process still takes twice as long as its ever taken on a gas stove--including the 22-year-old cooktop this one replaced. The result is a waste of time and a waste of gas.
Date published: 2012-12-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great layout and easy to use. Of all the cook tops I've owned, this one is the best. From the smallest pot to an over-sized skillet, each is easily accommodated with the right sized burner. And with the continuous grate on top, any pot or grill can be used. The lighted-knob-if-the-fire-is-on is an excellent safety feature which saves me from leaving a simmer flame on.
Date published: 2012-08-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is the best cooktop I've ever used. We remodeled out kitchen this summer and chose this item for the burners. When we got the cooktop out of the box the grate on one side was broken. One call and it was replaced in 5 days. Putting in the cooktop was simple. Using it has been wonderful. Burners light easily and quickly and the large burner is excellent for larger pots. I would highly recommend to anyone.
Date published: 2012-08-21
  • y_2019, m_6, d_18, h_21
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_32
  • loc_en_US, sid_PGP976DETBB, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_ge_appliances
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 42ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
GE Profile™ Series 36" Built-In Gas Cooktop - PGP976DETBB

Product Support & Service

Schedule Service

Our online tools are here 24 hours a day to help you arrange the service you need.

Contact Us

We’re happy to help answer your questions.