GE Profile™ Series 36" Built-In Gas Cooktop

PGP976SETSS
PGP976SETSS is rated 4.2 out of 5 by 152.
  • y_2019, m_8, d_19, h_8
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.13
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_152
  • loc_en_US, sid_PGP976SETSS, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_ge_appliances
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 74ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

This model is no longer being manufactured

Rebates & Promotions
Rebates
Approx. Product Dimensions (WxHxD) (in.)

36 in x 3 1/4 in x 21 in

Cutout Dimensions (WxD) (in.)

33-7/8 x 19-1/8

About this Product

  • Fit Guarantee

    Fit Guarantee

    Replacing a similar cooktop from GE Appliances or another brand? GE cooktops are guaranteed for an exact fit or GE Appliances will pay up to $100 toward modifications. See offer criteria and details

    Play Video

  • 17,000 BTU Power Boil burner

    17,000 BTU Power Boil burner

    Delivers intense heat for fast boiling

  • White LED backlit knobs

    White LED backlit knobs

    Indicate when burners are on so you don't forget

    Play Video

Features

  • Deep-recessed cooktop
    Contains spills for quick and easy cleaning
  • Sealed cooktop burners
    Keep spillover contained on cooktop, making cleaning quick and easy
  • Precise Simmer burner
    Delivers a low setting of 140 degrees
  • Control lock capability
    Protects against unintended activation
  • Matte black heavy-cast grates
    Premium cast-iron offers superior performance

More Features

Claims & Certifications

  • ADA Compliant

    ADA Compliant
    Designed to be accessible and easy to open

GE Profile™ Series 36" Built-In Gas Cooktop - PGP976SETSS

Specs & Details

  • FEATURES
  • APPEARANCE
  • WEIGHTS & DIMENSIONS
  • POWER / RATINGS
  • CLAIMS & CERTIFICATIONS
  • ACCESSORIES
  • WARRANTY
GE Profile™ Series 36" Built-In Gas Cooktop- PGP976SETSS

Ratings and Q&A

Rated 2 out of 5 by from not that good this came with the new house and so did the rest of the appliances first my osmosis system went in 13 months now this went in least then 2 years waiting for the ovens to pass away what is it with ge appliances that dont last long
Date published: 2018-01-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Gas Range! Love the lock feature that buzzes loudly if turned on while locked. Great safe guard for kids!
Date published: 2017-11-04
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Stainless steel cooktop This cooktop was installed by the builder. The appearance is very nice and functions well. However the stainless steel scratches very easily which is a downside to this cooktop.
Date published: 2017-09-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great appearance and performance. Love the lighted knobs, the light weight grids and the power boil feature for large cookware is a bonus. Even heating and clean flames are also nice.
Date published: 2017-07-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from First time using gas oven I love futures of it I got this new with the purchase of my new home very nice and easy to use .
Date published: 2017-06-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love my gas cooktop Have never used gas cooktop before and was worried I would burn or not cook food correctly. It has been a joy cooking with gas. I LOVE my gas cooktop and don't know why I never had one before.
Date published: 2017-06-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Overall awesome! Love how the rack prevents pots/skillets from moving around, love the safety feature for kids, heats up and cools down fast. Overall great product.
Date published: 2017-06-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Range top This range made my kitchen complete. I bought all the slate GE products, fridge, dishwasher, oven and microwave. The slate range wasn't available yet but this range was a very close match. It is easy to clean and having small grand kids I love the locking features. I also like the lights on the knobs when in use.
Date published: 2017-05-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Highly recommend! I had never owned a gas cook top before I purchased this product. I can't tell you the difference in how much better gas cooks! The food cooks more evenly and you have more control of the temperature. I am totally enjoying this appliance. We went with a 36" cooktop and a 30" oven. It filled the space of our old 36" jenn air appliance. We added granite and painted the cabinetry and the kitchen update looks beautiful. See photos.
Date published: 2017-05-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Stove Top I have been buying GE products for 30 years and so happy I bought this one last month. This stove top is so easy and efficient. We do a lot of cooking and cook with large capacity pans. The simmer burner is perfect and our wok works great with high heat.
Date published: 2017-05-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Cooks fine surface scratches easy I've had this for almost a year. It looks nice but the finish doesn't stand up to the heavy grates. The grates are really heavy and the surface finish is light. It scratches. Cooks fine.
Date published: 2017-04-22
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Does not come with all required parts!!!! Bought this cooktop in 2012 by 2016 its deemed junk by GE as it had so many leaks until it was unrepairable. After having our gas company check for leaks around the unit he valves gas off stating was not sure but possibly a gas leak on the internal regulator. Guess what? After the A&E service techs check it out. My unit did not even have a regulator from the factory and it had so many leaks until GE even said it was junk after only 4 years. I'd like to know why it didn't have a regulator from the factory. GE wants me to pay for a new unit now. I don't think so. I will definitely buy another brand after the customer service I received on this one. Oh yeh. And it took them 3 months to tell me it was junk.
Date published: 2017-03-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to Clean cooks meals very evenly, great to clean, great looking design
Date published: 2017-03-22
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Big mistake Failed to ignight burners 3 weeks after we got it. Rubber bumpers that the grate lie on came off. And compared to our old kitchen aid cook top it takes longer to boil water
Date published: 2017-03-08
Rated 3 out of 5 by from same fit This item has worked fine for the 3 months I've had it, but my last similar GE stovetop was only 12 years old and could not be fixed.
Date published: 2017-03-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fine cooktop with one exception My eight-year-old cooktop failed and would have cost too much to repair so I was forced to replace it. This cooktop is fine except for the Simmer function which is only on one burner, the very small one. My other cooktop had it on all burners and was very useful to use on the large burner when cooking a pot of chili, etc. Other than that, it's fine. I like the lighting showing that a burner is on and the lock function would be great with kids in the house.
Date published: 2017-03-06
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Beautiful appearance I love the way this looks but there is simply no "simmer" on any of the burners. Even the smallest one. It just is too high.
Date published: 2017-03-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from GE Cook Top Cook top hard to clean. Gauge of Stainless should be thicker.
Date published: 2017-03-02
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Poor quality control knobs We've owned our cooktop less than 4 years and are replacing our 3RD knobs! They have metal covers with PLASTIC spindles?! The spindles crack and render the knobs inoperable....at $41.50 each knob, this is a bad product design. We will Never buy this brand again !
Date published: 2017-02-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great looks and Features I got this few days back and I am very happy with Purchase. It has safety lock feature thats very useful when you have Kids.
Date published: 2017-02-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wife is in love Replaced 20 year old unit in a kitchen remodel - greatly enhances kitchen
Date published: 2017-02-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from So Far So Good Bought this with 8 other GE appliances and we are enjoying the cooktop so far.
Date published: 2017-01-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Really nice looking. Converts to LP easily. Bought this to replace a 10 year old DCS that kept having failing ignighters. Love it so far. Nice and hot.
Date published: 2017-01-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice looking cook top We have had issues with one of the burners not working properly. We have had several parts replaced, but it still will not function. Our builder is now going to replace it and I am hoping the new one will work properly. We are pleased with the burners that do work. I cannot recommend this until it is working.
Date published: 2017-01-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Professional Performance This cooktop is incredible. You can't go wrong with GE! I put this in during a kitchen remodel and was torn between this cooktop and another brand that had knobs on the front instead of on top. I am very pleased I went with this one! It looks beautiful installed on my new granite counters. Sleek and clean and just impressive enough with it's heavy grates and shiny knobs to give me that "wow" factor I was looking for. But don't let its good looks fool you - this cooktop performs. I love the high power burner for pasta - a large pot of water is ready in no time. The cooking grates sit pretty high up away from the burners compared to less "professional" model cooktops. I had a bit of a learning curve on getting the temperature right in the beginning but now I am acclimated and I love this cooktop. It's fun to use and it doesn't disappoint. So happy with this purchase.
Date published: 2017-01-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from So-so The iron? grates are so high, too far from the flame, things take longer to warm-up,to cook, some heat gets lost.
Date published: 2017-01-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from GE Profile stove top My kitchen is in all white so I was concerned with I chose stainless. very happy I did. stove works great. Very happy with purchase.
Date published: 2017-01-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing Cooktop!!! Completely Satisfied with this Cooktop!!! Very Smooth to work. Love the Safety features. The center Super Burner boils water in minutes. I love it 5*****
Date published: 2016-12-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from What a difference! I have always preferred cooking with gas. Our new house was all electric. in 20 years we've had 2 different cook tops-both of which were terrible to cook on. We finally broke down, brought in natural gas, & installed the GE Profile cooktop we now have. It's been wonderful - a pleasure actually, to cook with this appliance -v we LOVE it.
Date published: 2016-12-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the look and features I purchased this cook top a few months ago and love it. The installation guides were spot on with the measurements which made prepping for installing super easy. The cooktop looks great and I love the features - especially the full grate system - easy to slide large pots with no catching on grates. Works great and so far exceeds our expectations.
Date published: 2016-12-05
  • y_2019, m_8, d_19, h_8
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.13
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_152
  • loc_en_US, sid_PGP976SETSS, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_ge_appliances
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 71ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
GE Profile™ Series 36" Built-In Gas Cooktop - PGP976SETSS

Product Support & Service

Schedule Service

Our online tools are here 24 hours a day to help you arrange the service you need.

Contact Us

We’re happy to help answer your questions.