GE Profile™ 30" Downdraft Electric Cooktop

PP9830DJBB
PP9830DJBB is rated 4.3 out of 5 by 324.
  • y_2019, m_8, d_23, h_2
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.13
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_324
  • loc_en_US, sid_PP9830DJBB, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_ge_appliances
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 52ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
Rebates & Promotions
Rebates
Available Colors
Approx. Product Dimensions (WxHxD) (in.)

29 3/4 in x 2 3/16 in x 21 7/8 in

Cutout Dimensions (WxD) (in.)

28-7/8 x 20-5/8

About this Product

  • Fit Guarantee

    Fit Guarantee

    Replacing a similar cooktop from GE Appliances or another brand? GE cooktops are guaranteed for an exact fit or GE Appliances will pay up to $100 toward modifications. See offer criteria and details

    Play Video

  • Four radiant cooking elements

    Four radiant cooking elements

    Cook foods quickly and evenly on this sleek, glass surface

  • Downdraft exhaust

    Downdraft exhaust

    Powerful exhaust system effectively pulls smoke and steam out of the kitchen

  • Knob controls with black glass surface

    Knob controls with black glass surface

    Achieve a modern look with the convenience of knob controls

Features

  • 9"/6" Power Boil element
    Use different pan sizes on this single, 3,000-watt flexible element that produces rapid powerful heat
  • Bridge Element
    Combines cooking elements into one cooking area
  • Control lock capability
    Protects against unintended activation
  • Hot surface indicator lights
    Know when elements are too hot to touch with a quick glance
  • Cooktop "On" indicator light
    A light lets you know when an element is active

More Features

GE Profile™ 30" Downdraft Electric Cooktop - PP9830DJBB

Specs & Details

  • FEATURES
  • APPEARANCE
  • WEIGHTS & DIMENSIONS
  • POWER / RATINGS
  • CLAIMS & CERTIFICATIONS
  • WARRANTY
GE Profile™ 30" Downdraft Electric Cooktop- PP9830DJBB

Ratings and Q&A

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Profile downdraft stove Love the new stove. Very clean lines, heats rapidly and is easy to clean. Looks great in the granite island
Date published: 2019-07-22
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Remove knobs The cooktop itself is good, but I wish you would remove the knobs, You can’t cook anything on it without spatter getting in around the knobs. Then each time you use it the cleanup takes forever. Some of the knobs are really hard to remove. Touch knobs would be a great enhancement, so that the entire surface to clean is flat. Also, we started with the model that had the stainless steel trim at the top and bottom. We went through re-ordering three times trying to find one that didn’t have the trim bars flush on one end of the cooktop and with the other end sticking out about 1/4” beyond the cooktop. The edge is sharp and was going to cut you when you tried to clean it. Very poor quality control on the assembly of the trim bars, that were made with too much allowance on the length anyway.
Date published: 2019-06-29
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Was happy with it BUT Had it a year and a half and now one of the burners doesn't work Not at all. I expect appliances to last longer than this! Now I will have to pay to get it repaired if it can be!
Date published: 2019-06-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Energy efficient! Went from cooktop with burners to this amazing cooktop..love it! Hardly anytime to clean and cooks evenly!
Date published: 2019-06-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Looks great I love this stove. The smooth top is so easy to clean. The burners come in different sizes so they fit every pot or pan. The two left burners can become one long burner. I love this feature.
Date published: 2019-06-26
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Cleaning This was my first experience with radiant heat and I am not a fan. The numbers around the dials are hard to read. It is hard to it clean. Requires to much maintenance
Date published: 2019-06-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it!! Love the style and ease of use. Concerned that it might get difficult to clean.)
Date published: 2019-06-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Control Knobs Difficult to Read Clean and sleek look, looks great. This is a replacement. The control knobs are very difficult to read. The surface needs to be cleaned immediately after use to prevent food built up or staining. The Red Indicator light is a good feature. It stays on until the burner is cooled. Not sure why, but I hear a clicking sound once the burner has been turned off and is cooling down.
Date published: 2019-06-20
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Hard to read settings Work fine, but the numbers on the dials are very faint and hard to read.
Date published: 2019-05-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works great. I love the cooktop, but the one problem I have is when something burns on it, it is difficult to get it clean again.
Date published: 2019-05-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Sleek look I like the smooth surface (no outer edges) so all pans sit flush no matter how large. The "hot" indicator light is a good safety feature after the burners have been turned off. The three speed downdraft fan is nicer than just on/off. The only negative so fare are that the numbers are a little difficult to read.
Date published: 2019-05-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to clean and use! This is the first smooth surface cooktop I've owned. I was a little skeptical; however, I love it! It is easy to use and clean up is simple! My husband installed it with no problem. Looking forward to years to cooking!
Date published: 2019-05-28
Rated 3 out of 5 by from control numbers are very hard to read The settings are so faint that you can barely read them. Should have been written in white paint. Also the control knobs are too close together, very hard to clean in between. Exhaust fan is kind of weak.
Date published: 2019-05-21
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Good when functioning but glass crack It function well when it was working. But glass cracked after 2 years and unusable now and no longer under warranty. The repair quote from GE repair was $1000 for just the glass top part and without labor....
Date published: 2019-05-16
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Great but hard to keep clean The stove does cook well on very low heat but the cleanup is HORRIBLE. The only thing that doesn’t smear the food or grease around and remove it is the special cream you have to use. It’s very hard to clean. Everything you put on it causes marks and a mess.
Date published: 2019-05-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great features. Beautiful design. I love the indicator lights. Good price.
Date published: 2019-05-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good reviews So far the cook top has performed well. Had good reviews.
Date published: 2019-05-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just Works! This is our second GE Profile Cooktop. Yes, we purchased the same model because it exactly fit the opening in our island, but the first one gave great service for many years. The "Control Lock" is a new feature our first unit didn't have. It sounds an alarm and prevents the burners from turning on when engaged. Nice to have with the grandkids around.
Date published: 2019-05-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great tradition continued We needed to replace the prior generation of this unit when it had cracked. It was so old that the glass could not be replaced. We were very used to this unit, so we sought to replace with the same one. The latest generation came on time, in great shape, and installed without a hitch. We've liked this cook top model since we bought the house last year.
Date published: 2019-05-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great stove top with great features. I love the feature of having a middle burner in between the two circle burners making it one long complete burner
Date published: 2019-05-01
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Poor dial markings The cooktop is very strong and one generally only needs the lower dial settings for most use. However it is almost impossible to see the dial markings as they are very faint on the black background. Whomever decided to decrease the contrast never consulted anyone over 60.
Date published: 2019-04-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love it, except... It is difficult to read the numbers to let you know what setting it I should on.
Date published: 2019-03-17
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Worse GE product This new range is nothing like what GE had in the past. Like GE shares, quality of product has gone down considerably in recent years. For me, exhaust fan switch got broken within 8 months of service. Waiting for tech to come and repair for last 3 weeks. Unable to cook at home other than boiling water. Cooktop glass got lots of scratches with minimal cooking. Consumer service is awful. I won't recommend any one this product.
Date published: 2019-03-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fit perfect. Works great Love the cooktops style and performances but it is hard to keep clean.
Date published: 2019-03-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Center buttons; enjoy using. Great cooktop. Got new pots and pans to use. Replaced 1980’s Jenn-air. Used contractor to install. Exhaust fan required some additional fabrication to fit. Easy to clean. Lots of instructions about care.
Date published: 2019-02-28
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Works Great, Needs to easier to Clean!! The cooktop definitely works as you would expect it too. That part has been just fine. We installed it ourselves, which was also fine. It replaced another downdraft cooktop, so that made it easier. The big issue is that I don't ever want to use it because you can't clean it!! Everytime the least little thing falls on it or splashes on it, you have to take out the cleaner and the pad to clean it. If you only did this once a week, you would never be able to keep it nice looking, it would look horrible. We also NEVER fry anything, boiling pasta water that splashes, creates a mess :(
Date published: 2019-02-28
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Very disappointed.for the price I paid. The surface got tarnish very easily, possibly the first week. then it was slightly melted for a little spot and so hard to clean. Customer service is bad. It took them months to get back to me because it is "only cosmetic" according to them. So I can wait and I m waiting out of my patience. Forget it. Never buy again. Not worthy of the money!!!
Date published: 2019-02-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Looks great! We replaced our 20-year-old cooktop with this new one and we love it - the features are wonderful and it looks sharp - no complaints so far!
Date published: 2019-02-17
Rated 1 out of 5 by from ***Buyer beware*** I bought all GE cafe appliances brand new 2 years ago, and have had nothing but problems including the stovetop. The heating element went bad after 1 year leaving half of the stove unusable. Several months later, the entire glass top on the unusable side cracked. I can’t explain how the glass cracked because that side was never used or items ever placed on top of it. I called GE for a replacement glass but the part alone is $923! Wow. Looks like all you can expect from new appliances is a few years of operation then your buying new again.
Date published: 2019-02-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Quality seems very good for the time I’ve had the. It works great and we like the innovative features added, e.g. melting butter and increased cooking area on demand.
Date published: 2019-02-05
  • y_2019, m_8, d_23, h_2
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.13
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_324
  • loc_en_US, sid_PP9830DJBB, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_ge_appliances
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 51ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
GE Profile™ 30" Downdraft Electric Cooktop - PP9830DJBB

Product Support & Service

Schedule Service

Our online tools are here 24 hours a day to help you arrange the service you need.

Contact Us

We’re happy to help answer your questions.