GE Profile™ Series 1.7 Cu. Ft. Convection Over-the-Range Microwave Oven

PVM9179DFBB
PVM9179DFBB is rated 4.3 out of 5 by 210.
  • y_2019, m_6, d_25, h_1
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_210
  • loc_en_US, sid_PVM9179DFBB, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_ge_appliances
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 48ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

This model is no longer being manufactured

Rebates & Promotions
Rebates
Approx. Product Dimensions (WxHxD) (in.)

29 7/8 in x 16 1/4 in x 15 1/2 in

About this Product

  • Sensor cooking controls

    Sensor cooking controls

    Automatically adjusts time and power for delicious cooking results

    Play Video

Features

  • 3 ovens in 1
    Expand your cooking versatility with three ovens in one
  • Convection cooking
    Enjoy even baking without turning the pan
  • 1.7 cu. ft. capacity
    1000 Watts (IEC-705 test procedure)
  • Fast Bake
    Convection and microwave cooking combine to deliver fast oven-quality results
  • Auto Recipe Conversion
    Converts standard recipes to convection settings

More Features

GE Profile™ Series 1.7 Cu. Ft. Convection Over-the-Range Microwave Oven - PVM9179DFBB

Specs & Details

  • FEATURES
  • CAPACITY
  • APPEARANCE
  • ECONOMICAL / QUIET
  • WEIGHTS & DIMENSIONS
  • POWER / RATINGS
  • CLAIMS & CERTIFICATIONS
  • ACCESSORIES
  • WARRANTY
GE Profile™ Series 1.7 Cu. Ft. Convection Over-the-Range Microwave Oven- PVM9179DFBB

Ratings and Q&A

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Happy we bought this microwave/convection oven! The microwave/convection oven is a great addition to our kitchen! It works as advertised and is pleasing to the eye. It is easy to use and believe me it gets plenty of usage.
Date published: 2016-09-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great appliance and features Very happy with microwave especially convection features
Date published: 2016-09-27
Rated 2 out of 5 by from No real information on thisbefore we bought! We thought we were getting an upgraded GE Profile Microwave/Convection oven over the one we installed 17 years ago. Wrong! This one has a fraction of the previous microwave/convection oven's feature. Biggest problems: no way to enter accurate times for timer or cooking. Have to use the dial and go in 15 second increments! Also, it took quite sometime to figure out how to accomplish simple tasks since the directions for use were practically non-existent. We regret this choice and if I had another several hundred to spend on a different microwave/convection oven, this would go to Goodwill.
Date published: 2016-09-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Over all quallity. Microwave works well and has good features. It is not quite rugged as my previuos GE microwave bought about 15 years ago. My one complaint is that the control panal is not bright enough making it difficult to read.
Date published: 2016-09-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great features Bought this to have a second oven for mainly dinners.
Date published: 2016-09-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works great Does everything as advertised with ease and looks great
Date published: 2016-09-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great microwave. It is easier to clean than my old microwave/convection oven.
Date published: 2016-09-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the dual cooking feature. I replaced a ten year old advantium m/w with this and was afraid I would be sorry. But I love the new oven. Easier to operate, really like the racks for baking. Changes in the keypad take some getting used to, especially the timer function. Does a great job baking potatoes. Seems to cook faster than my advantium did. Only complaint: does not brown pastry well. But great price and I'm very satisfied,
Date published: 2016-09-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love our GE Profile Our GEProfile Convection/microwave looks great in our kitchen. The convection oven is great, replacing the need for a counter toaster oven plus giving us an extra oven which is much needed during the holidays. There are many wonderful features. I love the stainless steel interior!
Date published: 2016-08-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great features Just installed and looks great. easy to install ... wish the top support holes were standard for each unit ... had to redrill support holes in the wall and top support. First few tests in the microwave have been fine. Need to run the convectional feature.
Date published: 2016-07-31
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Control Pannel The control panel is very hard to see and use. It does not have very user friendly features for quick use.
Date published: 2016-07-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love the look and features Have never owned a micro/convection before. I am very pleased with the performance. Haven't used it enough for a full review but I like what I see.
Date published: 2016-07-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great features I am very happy with this unit. However, I wish the "buttons" we're in white like the GE stove.
Date published: 2016-07-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Happy I bought this when remodeling our kitchen and have been extremely satisfied with the performance and ease of use!
Date published: 2016-07-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Like having micro and convection Have used the micro, but need more experience in using the convection
Date published: 2016-07-22
Rated 2 out of 5 by from I Don't Recommend You Buy This This unit was purchased to replace a competitor's unit that stopped working. I decided I would search out a top-of-the-line replacement. The installation was straight forward. No problems there. I am quite disappointed in the operation of this product. Everything takes significantly longer compared to the previous unit. The popcorn setting is useless. Half the popcorn doesn't pop before it quits. Some of the other program settings don't work correctly either. I've used the convection oven a few times and that seems to work okay. I wish I had purchased another unit from the previous manufacturer. I cannot recommend the GE.
Date published: 2016-07-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Microwave/Convection Oven I'm extremely happy with this microwave! I particularly like the convection feature. It will be extremely useful for those several times a year when I wish I had two ovens! It cooks evenly and the convection allows for quicker cook times. It is easy to keep clean, both in and out. Does not require any fancy cleaning products-just hot water and a soft towel to dry. My only complaint would be that it is somewhat difficult to see the controls. I would have liked the printing on them to be a little bolder. That's why I didn't give it an excellent rating. I'd give it a very good + but that wasn't an option. It works excellently, tho. I have recommended it to my friends.
Date published: 2016-07-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Just got it, still learning First, two things I didn't notice prior to purchase: (1) No numeric keypad. This means, for example, that to set a 45-minute timer, you have to twist the controller knob a lot to increment one minute at a time to 45. My last unit had numbers. This also applies to microwave cooking times. Defrosting some rolls that I like takes 20 seconds. On this unit, your only choices are increments of 15 seconds. At 15 seconds, the roll is still cold. At 30 seconds, it's overheated. (2) No delayed start. I like to set up my breakfast to cook after a delay. That way it's ready and hot when I finish my morning exercise routine. No way to set a delay on this oven. ----- I've played with the convection and fast bake settings as well as microwave. I think I will like having those options. The tuna steak I cooked from frozen came out very well using Fast Bake. There's a status line on the display with some text that's supposed to provide guidance. Except, it's at the bottom of the display, and at 5' 7", the bottom of the text is cut off from my eye level. Still legible, but a goof-up that shouldn't exist on a product at this price point. I also didn't realize that switching modes means putting the rack in (for anything other than plain microwave) and taking it out for pure microwave cooking. That may turn out to be a nuisance.
Date published: 2016-07-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it ! Still learning all the features and loving it. Only thing I don't like so far is that when setting the time for the microwave, you're limited to 15 sec intervals. Example, you can't set it to cook for 20 secs. Other than that, I like it very much.
Date published: 2016-06-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great 2nd oven Bought this ty use as a second oven and use it more now than my range. Doesn't heat up the whole house.
Date published: 2016-06-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from R Very pleased with purchase. GE Profile microwave works as advertised.
Date published: 2016-06-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easy to use Easy to use. Combo cooking is a little slower to cook than I expected, it's about the same as the conventional oven for cooking times. Everything is working great, happy with it. SS interior is easy to clean.
Date published: 2016-06-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to use Always trusted GE for quality ,appearance,was of use
Date published: 2016-06-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Ok for now Just installed a few weeks ago. Getting used to the micro - but the panel is very hard to see - not happy with that.
Date published: 2016-05-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the flexibility of the product Had to learn how to cook in convection oven, and also how to use fast bake. Once I got the hang of this, my husband loves for me to cook all the time.
Date published: 2016-05-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good features This is our third over-the-counter microwave from GE. The first one was installed 1980 and lasted 23 years and was still working fine. We replaced it with the second because of the convection oven feature. It lasted 13 years and the microwave failed. This one appears to be a good unit, but the text on the keyboard is hard to read in low light conditions. Would be good to have an illuminated pad.
Date published: 2016-04-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from can't see the writing on the panel Not happy withe the lighting on the panel...it makes it difficult to read
Date published: 2016-04-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice features, neat smooth lines. We stuck with GE because of several more home trouble free GE appliances.
Date published: 2016-04-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love your product! I just began using my new microwave/convection oven. I already enjoy the features.
Date published: 2016-04-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from So far so good Everything working as advertised-happy so far- hope it lasts a long time. Installed in my RV.
Date published: 2016-04-14
  • y_2019, m_6, d_25, h_1
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_210
  • loc_en_US, sid_PVM9179DFBB, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_ge_appliances
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 47ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT