GE Profile™ Series 1.7 Cu. Ft. Convection Over-the-Range Microwave Oven

PVM9179DFWW
PVM9179DFWW is rated 4.4 out of 5 by 192.
  • y_2019, m_8, d_20, h_13
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.13
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_192
  • loc_en_US, sid_PVM9179DFWW, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_ge_appliances
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 101ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

This model is no longer being manufactured

Rebates & Promotions
Rebates
Approx. Product Dimensions (WxHxD) (in.)

29 7/8 in x 16 1/4 in x 15 1/2 in

About this Product

  • Sensor cooking controls

    Sensor cooking controls

    Automatically adjusts time and power for delicious cooking results

    Play Video

Features

  • 3 ovens in 1
    Expand your cooking versatility with three ovens in one
  • Convection cooking
    Enjoy even baking without turning the pan
  • 1.7 cu. ft. capacity
    1000 Watts (IEC-705 test procedure)
  • Fast Bake
    Convection and microwave cooking combine to deliver fast oven-quality results
  • Auto Recipe Conversion
    Converts standard recipes to convection settings

More Features

GE Profile™ Series 1.7 Cu. Ft. Convection Over-the-Range Microwave Oven - PVM9179DFWW

Specs & Details

  • FEATURES
  • CAPACITY
  • APPEARANCE
  • ECONOMICAL / QUIET
  • WEIGHTS & DIMENSIONS
  • POWER / RATINGS
  • CLAIMS & CERTIFICATIONS
  • ACCESSORIES
  • WARRANTY
GE Profile™ Series 1.7 Cu. Ft. Convection Over-the-Range Microwave Oven- PVM9179DFWW

Ratings and Q&A

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to Use I bought this a month ago and it has made it so quick to make meals, deserts. It is mounted in the same place over the range as my old microwave. Meals cook, bake quicker in this higher wattage oven. To my surprise when you bake a pie for example, the crust comes out golden brown due to the convention heating. Frozen vegetables taste so much better due to the high wattage, they are cooked thoroughly in less time. Most of your convenient frozen dishes now call for 1100 watt ovens and this model definitely has it.
Date published: 2016-09-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great oven! I purchased this oven to replace a oven that had died a slow death! And also to take the place of a convection oven that I loved, but sat on the counter. To replace "1" for "2", in a small kitchen is great. The GE oven is wonderful. Works perfect, cleans easy and looks wonderful!
Date published: 2016-09-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from More options and features than my other microwave I like the flexability of using as additional convection oven or microwave. Looks good and performs very well.
Date published: 2016-09-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easy to use. Would have liked less than 15 second 15 second cooking time. Baking is a great feature
Date published: 2016-08-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Profile combo microwave Works well as a microwave and convection oven. The dual setting realy speeds up the cooking and re-heating process. The cooking instructions should be expanded into more types of foods, otherwise it is a matter of trial and error for items that you can not find in the instructions.
Date published: 2016-07-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from OTC microwave/convection oven Great machine, rarely use our large oven anymore. Just wish it had a keypad rather than a knob.
Date published: 2016-07-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Reliable & simple operation We own three of these ovens at different locations. All are easy to operate & have been very reliable the past year or so.
Date published: 2016-07-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from works reliably well Convection oven is a little difficult. But we are still experimenting.
Date published: 2016-07-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent product We bought this microwave/convection oven to replace our 20 year-old GE Profile unit because the exhaust fan on the old one had become too loud. The fan system on the new model is much, much better, and on low speed, you can hardly hear it running. All the electronics, of course, are greatly improved, so we are very satisfied.
Date published: 2016-07-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from GE Microwave/Convection Oven Just got my new GE Microwave Convection Oven and am very excited to get to using it. We have had GE Profile before and have been very happy with their products.
Date published: 2016-07-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Satisfied Just had this microwave installed to replace my 19 year old profile. So far I am satisfied. I prefer the number key pad, but there are many new features and better venting that I like very much. It fit into my space, but the screws didn't align by small amounts which required extra holes in my cabinet. I hope this is as good as my former microwave.
Date published: 2016-06-30
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Nice looking but confusing We have had this for 6 months now. It works great, if you can figure out all the cooking commands. Instructions are vague and hard to remember. We are still getting out the book to set the dial. I do love the conventional method as additional oven. Overall we are pleased. Just hard to learn.
Date published: 2016-06-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love my Convection Microphone This is replacing the one I had for many years. Love it. Just wish that the Almond Bisque Color was still available...had to get white.
Date published: 2016-06-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love all the additional Features I bought this about a month and half ago, and love it. Little daunting for visitors, but easy to teach how to use. All the features are easily learned and utilized. Come with a quick access card to put up near the Microwave.
Date published: 2016-06-16
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Very disappointed This was suppose to be a microwave, and instead it is a combination convection/microwave. I wanted a microwave since I already have 2 other ovens that are convection. I wanted something to melt butter, chocolate, cream cheese, do water for tea, steam veggies, warm pizza or soup, etc. The instructions are not helpful.
Date published: 2016-06-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Sticking with the best! I bought this one to replace my last GE Profile Convection that lasted 10 yrs. I feel got my money's worth so I had no problem replacing it. Just wish they had put a owners manuel in the factory sealed box.
Date published: 2016-06-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from No manual!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! It would be great if it came with an instruction manual.
Date published: 2016-05-31
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Only lasted three years While I love my convection/microwave combo and we used all the features, it only lasted three years. We felt it is a little pricey to only last that long! But, we bought the same one again because of the space and time it would take to install something new, this time we bought the extended warranty for five years with full replacement, so we know it will last at least that long or we get a new one!!
Date published: 2016-05-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice convection microwave I have never had a convection oven before, so I am still learning how to use this oven to its full potential. I love the clean look and it's easy to use. I love the dial.
Date published: 2016-05-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from The answer to our prayers We were in need of replacing our stove. The original one we had had two ovens in it: one large one on top, and the smaller one on the bottom. When we went to buy another one, we found that for some reason, the companies were only making the double ovens with the larger oven on the bottom and smaller one on top. This is a very difficult way to have them placed, as I am a tall woman, and if I were to make a large turkey, picking it up from the bottom oven would be nearly impossible for fear of hurting myself from picking the turkey up from, basically, the floor! Our salesman was quite smart; he suggested we purchase the combination microwave/convection to install above a regular oven. This gave us the additional option of being able to cook in a second oven/microwave if the first one was full. What a smart man! We purchased both, and it was a brilliant answer to a problem that was looming! Thank you to Chris at PC Richards in Newington, CT! And thank you GE for making great appliances! Laurie & Marshal Press
Date published: 2016-04-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Ssimon Family bought this 5 months ago. Awesome welcoming gift.
Date published: 2016-04-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is the third one I have purchased. First one lasted 13 + years, second one was 6 yrs and 4 months. The GE company sold and installed one for less than the retail price because it should have lasted at least twice as long as the first one.
Date published: 2016-04-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great microwave! After much research I am very pleased with my microwave.
Date published: 2016-04-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Qualtiy Product Excellent installation instructions and the unit performs flawlessly. Another quality product from GE!!!
Date published: 2016-03-27
Rated 3 out of 5 by from 3ed one the same model that I've bought These ovens only seem to last about 4 years, however several people use it through out the day. Buying the same one allows easy replacement as that feature has not changed. I miss the rice cook auto setting that the oven had at one point, but love the spin dial feature, and use the convection feature on a regular basis.
Date published: 2016-03-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from So far, so good Was easy to install. Has a lot of features without getting over complicated. The vent screens & filter do not fit very well. Light could be brighter.
Date published: 2016-03-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it I'm so happy with my combo microwave and convection oven !!!
Date published: 2016-03-17
Rated 3 out of 5 by from 2ND GE MIRCOWAVE We replaced our old GE microwave with the newer model. First GE did not last 5 years. The motherboard blew just shy of 5 years. We did not have the extended warranty. Replaced motherboard and blew AGAIN 4 months later and $250.00 leaner. After much research and supposedly this GE model was top of the line with great reviews, we purchased it again. Our new one was Installed damaged and was replaced a month later. So far no issues...we did buy the extended warranty and was told by saler that for a convention microwave, it is a must!
Date published: 2016-03-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great It...Our last GE Profile was used since 2000 This product has great quality & features. This is actually a replacement of the SAME model (GE Profile Microwave Oven) that was installed when our home was new in 2000. This is a great item with even more features than the old model.
Date published: 2016-03-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best conventional/microwave oven ever My kids love it, because they like to bake fries and nuggets instead of fry it. they also love to bake cakes, cookies and banana bread. I had the previous model and work great, my wife love it too.
Date published: 2016-03-06
  • y_2019, m_8, d_20, h_13
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.13
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_192
  • loc_en_US, sid_PVM9179DFWW, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_ge_appliances
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 62ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT