GE Profile™ 1.7 Cu. Ft. Convection Over-the-Range Microwave Oven

PVM9179EKES
PVM9179EKES is rated 4.1 out of 5 by 865.
  • y_2019, m_8, d_20, h_5
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.13
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_865
  • loc_en_US, sid_PVM9179EKES, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_ge_appliances
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 58ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
Rebates & Promotions
Rebates
Available Colors
Approx. Product Dimensions (WxHxD) (in.)

29 7/8 in x 16 1/2 in x 15 1/2 in

About this Product

  • Charcoal filter replacement for microwaves with grille and filter door

    Charcoal filter replacement for microwaves with grille and filter door

    Easily install your new charcoal odor filter

    Play Video

  • Sensor cooking controls

    Sensor cooking controls

    Automatically adjusts time and power for delicious cooking results

  • Chef Connect

    Chef Connect

    Three options with a single touch. For instant convenience, choose when to automatically sync clocks and the range elements with the microwave's surface light and vent

    Play Video

  • Easy clean enamel interior with steam clean

    Easy clean enamel interior with steam clean

    Makes cleaning spills and splatters a snap

Features

  • 1.7 cu. ft. capacity
    950 Watts (IEC-705 test procedure)
  • Fast Cook
    Convection and microwave cooking combine to deliver fast oven-quality results
  • LED cooktop lighting
    Brighten the kitchen while saving on energy and maintenance costs
  • Convection rack
    Achieve golden-brown results with a specially designed rack that allows air to circulate around foods for even heat distribution during convection cooking
  • Upfront charcoal filter with indicator light
    Light indicates when odor-removing charcoal filter needs to be replaced

More Features

GE Profile™ 1.7 Cu. Ft. Convection Over-the-Range Microwave Oven - PVM9179EKES

Specs & Details

  • FEATURES
  • CAPACITY
  • APPEARANCE
  • ECONOMICAL / QUIET
  • WEIGHTS & DIMENSIONS
  • POWER / RATINGS
  • CLAIMS & CERTIFICATIONS
  • ACCESSORIES
  • WARRANTY
GE Profile™ 1.7 Cu. Ft. Convection Over-the-Range Microwave Oven- PVM9179EKES

Ratings and Q&A

Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love it! So far this product is awesome! My dbl oven range had yet to be installed properly and I needed a oven to cook in. I used the Convection bake on my microwave and it worked perfectly. The only drawback I've found is having to constantly wipe finger prints off of the front. But I now have three ovens. Yea me!
Date published: 2019-08-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So far love it, but instructions are lacking We just received ours. Ordered from Costco. Does not have any instructions on how to use convection.
Date published: 2019-08-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great microwave oven We have a GE profile Space-maker XL1800..were very very pleased with this Microwave for 14 years ...but yesterday..no more...it stopped..and we would love to repair it but seems nobody can!,,:0( So, would like to buy another one similar! Which one should we buy? Thanks
Date published: 2019-08-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love Convection Features Love that the Microwave has a Convection Oven Feature
Date published: 2019-08-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent product I've had a version of this appliance since 1999. It's been a wonderful appliance! I've even made a complete Thanksgiving dinner I. It several times. I would purchase it over and over again. In 10 years, I wore our my first one and purchased the same one again!
Date published: 2019-08-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love Convection feature I have not had the product for long, but do like all the features so far.
Date published: 2019-07-31
Rated 4 out of 5 by from 2nd time around good product. 2nd one we have bought. only microwave/convection oven that would fit in the space.we have
Date published: 2019-07-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Working so far I had to replace a 15-year-old GE microwave oven and decided to get the same brand because it has lasted so long. I wish there wasn’t so much plastic but otherwise it’s fine.
Date published: 2019-07-29
Rated 3 out of 5 by from poor quality control This is our third GE Profile Series. The first two lasted about 5 years each without a service call until the end of 5 years. This one purchased in March of this year quit working (no power) and then the power would come for a short period of time with out us touching it. The service man said a electrical connection was stuck between to connection posts instead of on one. The turn table turns with a jerking motion and he has ordered a replacement motor. The microwave has been working fine since he repair it. we are waiting for the replacement motor at this time
Date published: 2019-07-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great microwave There has been a bit of a learning curve, but once I found how the add 30 sec worked, it's been easy. I've also used the convection oven feature. That is still new to me, but it was super easy and came out great and in short time.
Date published: 2019-07-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome We like that you can use it like a convection oven.
Date published: 2019-07-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to use We love our new microwave. The convection oven is awesome We are so glad we bought this one!
Date published: 2019-07-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent quality With a galley style kitchen, My opinions were very few. However with the GE Dual Range I’m able to cook everything. Cakes, Stakes and even Crapes on the Precision gas top. This Range and oven will do it all.
Date published: 2019-07-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Hard to use! We loved our old GE microwave, so much so, that we didn't even look around when it broke. We ordered the same microwave. Wow! GE changed the basic operations and it now takes more actions to put the timer on and start to cook. The normal key pad is no longer there. It is replaced with a dial which allows only 15 second increments in cooking time. Seems like it's more effort.
Date published: 2019-07-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the design and ease of use. The convection feature is handy to have when two ovens are needed. The button wheel control is easy to use.
Date published: 2019-07-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The best Microwave/ Convection We sold our home and it had a GE Microwave/ Convection oven that we loved, but it went with the house. We bought this one and we are really happy with it. GE has made it even better than our older unit. We use it all the time for baking and roasting and for microwave jobs too. It works great and is easy to install with the instructions GE provides. Sorry I can't give it more stars than 5 because I would.
Date published: 2019-07-09
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Will not work on Convection Bake or Roast Will not work on Convection Bake or Roast. Detest the black interior. Need two racks not the round one that is useless.
Date published: 2019-07-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Pleasantly surprised! I purchased this combination microwave and convection oven wary of a few differences that were new to me. I very quickly learned all the new features and are happy with all of them. It’s very easy to use and does a great job.
Date published: 2019-07-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it in our remodeled kitchen! After just a week we're loving our new oven. Still learning convection cooking!
Date published: 2019-07-07
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Disappointed I had a GE Advantium for 11 years and loved it. Used the convection often so when we needed to replace it we went back to GE. I was disappointed with the lack of selection that included convection. This one is OK but I'm finding I must cook recipes much longer in both microwave and convection modes. I was also unhappy that to get the full users manual I must print it out myself (64 pages). I really expected a better product for the price. I hope it lasts.
Date published: 2019-07-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to clean and operate This unit replaced our unit similar brand and model we had good usage of it
Date published: 2019-07-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Zapper Easy to use, looks great! This is one we have had before and loved it!
Date published: 2019-07-01
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Disappointing durability The microwave is in a cabin that is infrequently used, yet the door handle has already broken after 2 years.  The microwave cannot be used without the handle.  Handles are on backorder, and I am assuming that is because this is a common problem.  On a separate note, the user interface is too complicated.
Date published: 2019-06-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice Unit nice microwave. fit on the same mounting bracket as my old GE Profile microwave. a one comment, I don't like the way it vents out the top, but not many options there. I am sure I have not used it to its fullest potential yet. I have not tried the baking option.
Date published: 2019-06-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Everything I ever wanted in a convection/microwave It is the best thing since electric refrigerators, sliced bread and the invention of forks. I always wanted an over the stove micro and oven, now I have it. We use it daily. Very rarely use the oven on the stove now. My 19 year old grandson really, really likes it. He used it every day, also.
Date published: 2019-06-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good but could use minor improvements Microwave and Convection functions work well. Minor annoyances include light in oven is not bright enough to properly illuminate the interior and signal at end of programmed cooking is not very loud and can be missed.
Date published: 2019-06-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very Good It is an improvement over the older models. It does take some learning and experimentation to use some of teh new features.
Date published: 2019-06-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to use It’s a great product. I recommend he to everyone. They are always good quality.
Date published: 2019-06-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from FANTASTIC! Very user-friendly. Looks great. Perfect for any cooking task. FANTASTIC!
Date published: 2019-06-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from So far so good We replaced a 20-year-old white GE Profile microwave, which was still working perfectly well, with this one merely because we've replaced all our white appliances with stainless steel ones and wanted a microwave with convection. So far we like this one okay, but don't like the knob for selecting time and power - it's awkward and seems like a 30 year step backward - and setting the cook time, power, etc. isn't intuitive. I don't like that the lowest time setting is 15 seconds - I really do heat things for less than that. I do like the convection oven feature and we've used it successfully a few times; being empty nesters we wanted to be able to bake sometimes without heating up a huge oven and so far this oven has achieved that. This one is also a little quieter than the old one. We're hoping this one is as reliable as the one we just replaced.
Date published: 2019-06-18
  • y_2019, m_8, d_20, h_5
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.13
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_865
  • loc_en_US, sid_PVM9179EKES, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_ge_appliances
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 42ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT