GE Profile™ 1.7 Cu. Ft. Convection Over-the-Range Microwave Oven

PVM9179EKES
PVM9179EKES is rated 4.1 out of 5 by 982.
  • y_2019, m_12, d_14, h_24
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_982
  • loc_en_US, sid_PVM9179EKES, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_ge_appliances
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 54ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
Rebates & Promotions
Rebates
Available Colors
Approx. Product Dimensions (WxHxD) (in.)

29 7/8 in x 16 1/2 in x 15 1/2 in

About this Product

  • Charcoal filter replacement for microwaves with grille and filter door

    Charcoal filter replacement for microwaves with grille and filter door

    Easily install your new charcoal odor filter

    Play Video

  • Sensor cooking controls

    Sensor cooking controls

    Automatically adjusts time and power for delicious cooking results

  • Chef Connect

    Chef Connect

    Three options with a single touch. For instant convenience, choose when to automatically sync clocks and the range elements with the microwave's surface light and vent

    Play Video

  • Easy clean enamel interior with steam clean

    Easy clean enamel interior with steam clean

    Makes cleaning spills and splatters a snap

Features

  • 1.7 cu. ft. capacity
    950 Watts (IEC-705 test procedure)
  • Fast Cook
    Convection and microwave cooking combine to deliver fast oven-quality results
  • LED cooktop lighting
    Brighten the kitchen while saving on energy and maintenance costs
  • Convection rack
    Achieve golden-brown results with a specially designed rack that allows air to circulate around foods for even heat distribution during convection cooking
  • Upfront charcoal filter with indicator light
    Light indicates when odor-removing charcoal filter needs to be replaced

More Features

GE Profile™ 1.7 Cu. Ft. Convection Over-the-Range Microwave Oven - PVM9179EKES

Specs & Details

  • FEATURES
  • CAPACITY
  • APPEARANCE
  • ECONOMICAL / QUIET
  • WEIGHTS & DIMENSIONS
  • POWER / RATINGS
  • CLAIMS & CERTIFICATIONS
  • ACCESSORIES
  • WARRANTY
GE Profile™ 1.7 Cu. Ft. Convection Over-the-Range Microwave Oven- PVM9179EKES

Ratings and Q&A

Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not an Advatium We had an Advantium before this one and thought it would be comparable but that isn’t fair. The browning feature and preset food options is what I miss the most but this door is a lot easier to open. Everything else is good so far
Date published: 2019-12-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from easy to use features very pleased with product, and ease of feature use
Date published: 2019-12-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Smart look This device is easy to learn how to operate. It does exactly what is expected of high quality microwave/convection oven. The installers took less than 30 minutes to remove the old one and install this one.
Date published: 2019-12-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great to have microwave and small convection oven Combining 2 appliances in one makes the unit more versatile. It’s great for normal microwaving and baking small batches of muffins and the like. Why heat up a large oven when this will do nicely! Can’t wait to try it out. Only criticism is the control panel print is impossible to see in low lighting. Brighter letters are needed.
Date published: 2019-11-28
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Brand new Microwave did not work Tried our brand new microwave to heat up some soup and it did not work. The fan and LED time output were operating but the microwave device was defective.
Date published: 2019-11-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from sensor zap the sensor control for microwave reheating works good, saves time; the added convection feature is great for small dishes too!
Date published: 2019-11-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Microwave This is the best microwave I have ever owned. It is efficient, looks great, and cooks great. I also really enjoy the convection oven feature!
Date published: 2019-11-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Reliable and elegant So many features and reliability are what makes this a great microwave. The convection oven feature is definitely a huge plus. This is easy to clean and looks good in our kitchen.
Date published: 2019-11-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very pleased! We replaced a 17 year old with this particular product after reading lots of reviews in general. It's so much quieter than my previous non-GE model which is a huge benefit. The functions it offers are very helpful, along with it's ease of use. Especially love the 3 fans speeds instead of two (for over the range)! We are very pleased with this product and would highly recommend it.
Date published: 2019-11-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from works well the controls were a little hard to figure out for us low tech. folks
Date published: 2019-11-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Simple and easy ABT installed it for us - they were polite, efficient, and very clean.
Date published: 2019-11-20
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not what we expected It doesn't have numbers to program in the amount of time. Our old GE Profile had a one touch for programing one min. This one has multiple steps required to program one min., it is time consuming, annoying, and a pain to use. No way to program time to cook except in 15 min. increments. Also the power is much less so we are having to adjust the time for everything we cook. Another pain. We thought we were ordering another GE Profile, the same as the one we had enjoyed for many years. Very disappointing to find that it is no longer a quality, well thought out microwave. Wish it were easy to return it!
Date published: 2019-11-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the oven Love the look and quality. We needed a second oven and that was our main reason for purchase.
Date published: 2019-11-20
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Poorly made. The convection heat keeps breaking GE appliance would not honor a previous repair warranty on their "certified refurbished" appliance. GE appliances and GE customer service suck
Date published: 2019-11-20
Rated 2 out of 5 by from It worked really well until it stopped. It’s only just 5 years old and the microwave function has broken. For a machine as expensive as this one, I think 5 years is a shockingly short life.
Date published: 2019-11-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from New vs Old We tried to replace with a like for numerous reasons typically like "same" for setting, modes, controls etc. Had for ",old" to learn new technology. Getting close to duplicate new vs old was a strong factor in the decision process. With the exception of power level we selected the closest to the original.
Date published: 2019-11-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from feature rich! great, feature rich convection oven and microwave! cooks evenly. some of the setting sequences are a little complex but just takes getting used to.
Date published: 2019-11-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from best microwave reverse manufactured This product is GREAT If you need a extra convection oven during Hoidays this microwave has the problem solved. If you want to cook faster this microwave can microwave and convention oven at the same time. You can microwave 2 items at the same time with rack and glass turntable.
Date published: 2019-11-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the features Great options, works fast. I like be the turn knob for the time set.
Date published: 2019-11-18
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Profile should be better Bought a whole GE profile suite, have had it for a short time & my biggest disappointment is the microwave (PVM9179skss) control panel. This panel should be backlit! It is very hard to see/read (except for the clock, which beams almost like a nightlight). Whoever designed this panel really blew it, I can’t believe the contrast on the buttons is so bad & it’s not backlit. The convenience of having a microwave is diminished by the poor design of the control pad.
Date published: 2019-11-18
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Documentation The documtation that came with is product is totally inadequate
Date published: 2019-11-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it! Haven’t used it for long since we just moved into our new home, but so far, I love it. I’ve had the profile convection microwave in the past is why I selected it again.
Date published: 2019-11-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from fits perfect Haven't used the convection oven yet but the microwave part of it is great!
Date published: 2019-11-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Solid machine Great microwave. Very sparse manual. Some features in manual do not apply to my model ie no options on reheat.
Date published: 2019-11-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great features I love this microwave. It has so many options and is quite digitalized. Very easy to use.
Date published: 2019-11-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Best Microwave had a previous model which I loved. Microwave and convection. This one is updated and performs as wlel.
Date published: 2019-11-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So Quiet! Replaced our micro/convection oven in our Motorhome with this GE Profile. Works like a dream! So much quieter than our old one. The convection feature is wonderful!
Date published: 2019-11-13
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Broken handle and now fan won't stop We purchase this microwave just over 3 year ago. The handle broke last week and the replacement was at a ridiculous cost. It has been having the issue with the internal exhaust fan not stopping and light staying on for about a year. It has been just running for a bit and then stopping. Now it won't stop at all and the light stays on. I have to unplug it to get it to stop. The microwave itself still seems to work fine, it is the internal fan and light. It should not be having these problem after 3 years. It was not a low end appliance so it should last longer.
Date published: 2019-11-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Close to my previous GE Profile Micro/Convection Cooks pretty close to my previous over-the-range microwave/convection. I worry about the nob that I use to select cooking times....feels pretty flimsy so I'll be surprised if it doesn't break right after the warranty expires. Only had it about a month but so far so good. Not sure what that funky round metal rack is for. Nothing in manual online about what it's used for. Maybe rotating a chicken or roast for even roasting? Another thing is that the manual doesn't say whether to leave the glass tray in when using the convection. I called....it's supposed to stay in when using the convection. Over all I like it. As everyone else has said the control panel should have had a background light and the light inside the over should be brighter. But my old one was the same and I lived with it for 15 years. Would be nice to have though.
Date published: 2019-11-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to use! I love the sleek new design and the option to have a convection oven. The layout is great, plenty of room inside.
Date published: 2019-11-12
  • y_2019, m_12, d_14, h_24
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_982
  • loc_en_US, sid_PVM9179EKES, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_ge_appliances
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 41ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT